We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very nice, and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

recently came back from a 4 day break in Liverpool, one of our favourite cities. This wasn't our first choice hotel, but as it was the Chinese new year, and Liverpool were playing home, a lot of hotels were fully booked.
On arrival we were allocated a room by the friendly receptionist on the 4th floor, lovely and clean, twin beds, large bathroom, and plenty of room for hanging clothes and bag storeage. Lovely views over the Albert dock, looking up toward the Liver Building. In the morning, Pick up your free newspaper, then breakfast buffet style, with plenty of choice, fruit juices, cereals, etc, also hot food, tasty sausages, beans and scrambled eggs, toast and as much coffee and tea as you wish.
On the morning of our departure we were able to store our bags safely at reception for a few hours while we had a last look around this great city.
We'll return to liverpool again this year, and make this hotel one of our first choice selections.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you will now be making us one of your hotels of choice when you are visiting our wonderful city. Thank you for taking the time to post your feeedback, we do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    334
    125
    24
    20
See reviews for
147
307
40
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a nice hotel, in good 15 min walk from The ONE shopping centre. the reception is located on the second floor as was our double room. The room was clean and bright, a little dated in decor but had really creaky floor boards. we were staying for the two nights but it was a lovely base with breakfast included.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. All feedback is important to us so thank you for taking the time to post your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on 12th Feb and booked this hotel without knowing Liverpool at all. What a great surprise! Fab location, really stunning hotel with very friendly & helpful staff. My room (206) was over looking the Albert Dock providing a lovely view. Breakfast was good too! Probably the best Holiday Inn I have stayed in & I've stayed in just a few as I travel a lot with work across the country. Well done HI!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, as you travel a lot you will be very aware of what makes a great hotel and also how important customer feedback is. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend whilst celebrating my birthday. The hotel is easy to find as its right next to the Beatles Story Museum in Albert Dock. The hotel was within very short walking distance to restaurants/bars/shops and I couldn’t have asked for a better location to stay at. We stayed on the 3rd floor and our bedroom had a spectacular view of the Albert Dock, the bedroom was spacious and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom included a shower and toilet, but had to make sure the seat was down before flushing the toilet as it would always make a splash. Breakfast was included in our stay. This included a variety of cereals, croissants, a toaster that would burn your toast and cooked breakfast - sausage, scrambled eggs and baked beans. The lift was one of few things that got on my nerves, it was always so slow and it would probably work out quicker taking the stairs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Good to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday visit to Liverpool, thank you for taking the time to post your comments, all feedback is improtant to us and there are certainly a oouple of items from your post that we can work on improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed for just 1 night but what a great hotel and what a great location. Part of one of the renovate warehouses around the Albert Dock, brilliantly converted room with a great view over the Albert docks and onto the Liver building. Reception staff extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgable. Clean, modern fittings and a great shower. Well definitely stay here again when next in Liverpool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Pleased to hear that you will be returning to the hote. We always aim to deliver the highest levels of customer service, the team always appreciate positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while on business. Massive rooms bed was a bit soft. Bathroom was ok. Only real moan is plug socks are far from the bed so your phone on the charger will b on the other side of the room. Breakfast was fair and included in the price. Cold croissants hmmm but worthwhile overall. Nice view in the evening and morning. I would recommend it. Conveniently located though car park outside is quite expensive approx £10 to park till 9 am till the morning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our three sons in February (rooms were 214 and 215). It couldn't have been nicer. This is a really, really good base for a visit to Liverpool. Our rooms both had tons of character and beautiful views over the dock. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, which was important to me as one of my sons was poorly and I ended up spending more time than i had planned in the hotel. There are lots of great bars and reataurants within a 2 minute walk. As check out was not til 11am departure day wasn't rushed. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the dock
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments - I hope your son is getting better now. It is never easy when someone is ill when staying in a hotel so I'm pleaesd to hear that my team made this as comfortable as possible for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.