We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean, Convenient but needs more Beacon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
Europa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean, Convenient but needs more Beacon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Liverpool last weekend, Friday to Sunday.
First impressions ware quite good, Clean,tidy and well maintained. It got a lot better from there, The walk around the Old docks was very nice, lots of things to see and only a short walk from the center of Liverpool. the staff ware very friendly and quite helpful.
being an old warehouse the layout of the hotel is a little cumbersome, with open spaces leading into narrow spaces, not relay a complaint,more an observation.
The breakfast was quite nice, with a large option of cereals, fruit, cakes and breakfast meets. all very good. But here is the one criticism, No Beacon. My wife says I need to loose some weight, So maybe You ware doing Me a favor, but I like My Beacon.
I will be back, had a very good time, I would recommend it it everyone I know, 2 thumbs up :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    330
    123
    24
    20
See reviews for
145
302
39
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Second stay here good sized rooms with great views over albert dock, standard hi express. Big thank you to Gary the night porter he was very helpfull he is a great examaple of how hotel staff should be. Will defiently stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Great to hear that you have returned to the hotel for a second visit. Your comments reagarding Gary have been passed on to him & I know he will be pleased with your comments so thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

polite and friendly staff, nothing to much trouble.
large clean rooms,well furnished.comfortable bed.
great view of albert dock.
only negative is the entrance area but this is because of the building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our entrance is slightly unusual, primarily because we are a Grade I listed building and the hotel has been designed around the original features. For those travellers reading this reveiw that have not visited the hotel before, hotel reception is on the second floor but is clearly signposted from the entrance on the ground floor.
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Good value for late booking. Great location and fantastic room. Car parking off site was good value with discount through Holiday Inn Express. Bed was very comfortable and very spacious room. Well positioned for Albert Dock, Echo Area and all Liverpool waterfront attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us - it is always great to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be passed onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good location but with no private parking, public open air parking across the road but quite expensive.
Rooms very nice and clean with large bed which is very comfortable.
Breakfast is ok but choice limited and quality of food i feel is below average for this type of hotel.
Main complaint is that there is a night club below and its very noisy and spoils a good nights sleep. One of our party had to request to change rooms as she could not stick the noise.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 314 or 315
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is vital to us that we receive feedback so we can make further improvements within the hotel.
We do have two options available for car parking, one is the pay on Albert Dock which I think is the parking you are refering to, the other option is the multi storey car park at the Echo Arena which with our discount voucher is £7.50 per 24 hours.
In terms of noise we don't usually have a problem with noise from the restaurant downstairs, however I believe the member of your group you mention was moved to a room over looking Albert Dock which was quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

How do I begin? A must recommendation to all coming to Liverpool. The hotel is located at the beautiful Albert Dock and our rooms facing the main dock River Mersey simply breathtaking. The staffs were friendly and helpful especially the speedy contact on our lost luggage accidentally left behind. Special compliments to Ms Helen Roberts, who went an extra mile to courier the luggage to our hotel in London.and we received the next following day. Kudos to Holiday Inn for having staff like Helen. In general, the roooms were great and breakfast was simply marvellous. Holiday is just walking distance to Liverpool One, City Centre, Museum and restaurants. Its was an awesome experience especially the Beatles and Liverpool Stadium tours were unforgetable. We will definitely return to Liverpool and stay at Holiday Inn Express again. Cheers and Happy New Year!

Room Tip: All rooms facing the Albert Dock river and its great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is always great to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What can I say?

A definite recommendation to all coming to Merseyside.

Hotel location is as described in most websites, especially as per reviews on tripadvisor. The rooms had the most spectacular views, be it facing the main Albert Dock circumference or the ones facing River Mersey. Staff(s) were all helpful throughout, from the storage of luggage, check-in, tips on our way around city centre and most importantly the quick response to our lost luggage left behind at the hotel. Service staff, Helen was quick to courier out our left-luggage within one working day as we were back in London (leaving in three days). So kudos to that!

Overall, a wonderful experience. Close proximity to museums, Liverpool ONE and city centre. Will come and visit again if given a chance to. :)

Room Tip: From experience, any room(s) facing the Albert Dock interior or Mersey River is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that your bag arrived in London before your departure. Hope you had a safe journey home & had some great memories of Liverpool to take with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.