We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy with Club below” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #35 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Noisy with Club below”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Good location but with no private parking, public open air parking across the road but quite expensive.
Rooms very nice and clean with large bed which is very comfortable.
Breakfast is ok but choice limited and quality of food i feel is below average for this type of hotel.
Main complaint is that there is a night club below and its very noisy and spoils a good nights sleep. One of our party had to request to change rooms as she could not stick the noise.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 314 or 315
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is vital to us that we receive feedback so we can make further improvements within the hotel.
We do have two options available for car parking, one is the pay on Albert Dock which I think is the parking you are refering to, the other option is the multi storey car park at the Echo Arena which with our discount voucher is £7.50 per 24 hours.
In terms of noise we don't usually have a problem with noise from the restaurant downstairs, however I believe the member of your group you mention was moved to a room over looking Albert Dock which was quieter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    343
    127
    25
    21
See reviews for
152
315
40
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

How do I begin? A must recommendation to all coming to Liverpool. The hotel is located at the beautiful Albert Dock and our rooms facing the main dock River Mersey simply breathtaking. The staffs were friendly and helpful especially the speedy contact on our lost luggage accidentally left behind. Special compliments to Ms Helen Roberts, who went an extra mile to courier the luggage to our hotel in London.and we received the next following day. Kudos to Holiday Inn for having staff like Helen. In general, the roooms were great and breakfast was simply marvellous. Holiday is just walking distance to Liverpool One, City Centre, Museum and restaurants. Its was an awesome experience especially the Beatles and Liverpool Stadium tours were unforgetable. We will definitely return to Liverpool and stay at Holiday Inn Express again. Cheers and Happy New Year!

Room Tip: All rooms facing the Albert Dock river and its great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is always great to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What can I say?

A definite recommendation to all coming to Merseyside.

Hotel location is as described in most websites, especially as per reviews on tripadvisor. The rooms had the most spectacular views, be it facing the main Albert Dock circumference or the ones facing River Mersey. Staff(s) were all helpful throughout, from the storage of luggage, check-in, tips on our way around city centre and most importantly the quick response to our lost luggage left behind at the hotel. Service staff, Helen was quick to courier out our left-luggage within one working day as we were back in London (leaving in three days). So kudos to that!

Overall, a wonderful experience. Close proximity to museums, Liverpool ONE and city centre. Will come and visit again if given a chance to. :)

Room Tip: From experience, any room(s) facing the Albert Dock interior or Mersey River is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & that your bag arrived in London before your departure. Hope you had a safe journey home & had some great memories of Liverpool to take with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is very well placed near to the city centre. The reception is helpful and friendly. The room is fairly comfortable. The breakfast is average continental with scrambled eggs and sausage. The fruit juice is not fresh and of suboptimal quality. You get 25% discount in the near by car park if you ask the reception for a discount voucher at check out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we do use all comments to further improve on our quality and service standards. Breakfast is something that we have improved a lot on over the past few months and our internal quality scores are now reflecting this however I will review the juice produce we are offering with our suppliers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

In contrast to a stay at the Holiday Inn Washington UK (Already Reviewed) this place was just great, fantastic location modern clean rooms.. nice helpful staff and a great breakfast (Included at H I EXP Hotels) I think it comes down to consistency of product in the H I brand.. some are great while when they are poor!! they really are poor.. in this instance you wont go wrong and my friends from Malaysia loved the stay just as much 'as I did' to add the City of Liverpool is great a real trat with great shopping museums restaurants & night life.. well worth visiting staying at the Holiday Inn Express Albert Dock wont disappoint..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us - it is always nice to receive positive feedback and this will be passed onto the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.Great location opposite the Echo Arena within the Albert Dock and opposite Liverpool One. Nice quiet room overlooking the docks and river. Room with two double beds was nice size but sofa bed quite uncomfortable. Fine for two adults and teenager. Nice decor but a but dusty in places. Excellent value including breakfast.. mainly cold buffet with only sausage and egg as hot options... not much choice if you need gluten free. Parking was expensive and by meter needing coins which was awkward but overall good. Perfect location if going to the Echo Arena as directly opposite.Cant really complain at the price and location though. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thak you for taking the time to post your comments, the team like to receive positive comments about the levels of customer service delivered.
In terms of car parking, it sounds like you parked in the pay and display on Albert Dock which is the more expensive of the two options. The hotel does have 25% discount vouchers for the Echo Arena car park which with this discount works out at £7.50 per 24 hours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, in walking distance of the bus station, all shops and restaurants. Room was nice and clean and so was all of the hotel. I would recommend this hotel as its also good value for money. Only bad thing about this hotel was the fire alarm going off twice on New Year's Eve and being evacuated out of the building into the cold and rain. At 7.30pm and again around 12.20am. Staff were very friendly and helpful during this time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXAlbertDock, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Let me apologies for the inconvenience of the fire evacuations. As all the premises on Albert Dock are linked together we do have to evacuate if another estabilshment activates their alarm, which was the situation on New Years Eve. Whilst we understand the frustrations and inconvenience this causes it is in the interests of guest safety. Pleased to hear that the staff were helpful during this time.

Good to year that you enjoyed your recent stay in Liverpoool & thank you for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock

Address: Britannia Pavilion, Albert Dock, Liverpool L3 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has been developed within the Britannia Pavillion, Albert Dock. A group of 19th Century Grade one listed warehouses, made entirely from cast iron & red brick. The Albert Dock is now the largest group of Grade One listed buildings in the UK and as such the Express by Holiday Inn Liverpool has retained many of the original features. Today the Warehouse has been beautifully renovated and now offers 135 bedrooms, which offer choice and flexibility to business and leisure clients alike. All rooms feature Wi-Fi, modem points, direct dial telephones, power showers, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and fully interactive colour TV's showing Sky TV & Pay Movies. Our conference rooms can accommodate up to 35 delegates and also have their own unique decor. Also located in The Albert Dock are numerous quality restaurants and bars all within a minutes walk. Be sure to book a table at weekends. We are located just five minutes walk from Liverpool's vibrant town centre where you will find one of the busiest and friendliest nights out in the country. The hotel is situated opposite the New Echo Arena and BT Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock Hotel Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.