We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely stay here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn City Centre Liverpool

Save Saved
You added Days Inn City Centre Liverpool to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
1 review
“Definitely stay here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival at this hotel. Firstly, it's location right next to James st station meant we hardly had to brave the snow before we were through the door and were greeted by friendly staff. Booking in was easy and quick. We took the lift to the fourth floor and found our room to be bright, airy and very clean. Beds were a little too soft for me and the pillows lumpy but for a overnight stay it was ok. Ice machine was handy though! We had pizza in the restaurant as part of our deal and it was delicious! Ryan our waiter was helpful, polite and friendly! After dinner we went dancing on Matthew st, just a few minutes walk away. The hotel was quiet during the night so easy to switch off and relax after our dancing. Breakfast was the second surprise! We were expecting a continental style breakfast but as we got nearer to the restaurant we could smell bacon! It was excellent. All freshly prepared and lots to choose from. After breakfast we checked out and left our luggage in the hotel's luggage store and headed into the city for a day of shopping. We collected our luggage, jumped on the train and headed home feeling like we'd had a proper break away!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dea a_france72,

We are very pleased to hear you would stay again and thank you for taking the time to recommend us. We have passed on your comments to the staff, including Ryan who was glad you enjoyed your stay. We have taken on your comments about the bedding and will look into the issue to improve in the future. We do our best to ensure high standards are met in all areas of the hotel and that guests feel welcome. We will hopefully see you again.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    598
    440
    99
    21
    10
See reviews for
164
432
72
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The rooms of the hotel are very clean and tidy. They always come into the room to clean and to change the towel. The price is very good if we compare with the services offered. I wanted the fridge in the room but it was not. It could be great to have one, especially if you have only breakfast during the morning at the hotel. Many shops near the hotel, supermarkets and much more. The hotel is in 1 minute far from the city center. All the rest is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Salways G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Ensuring our guest are pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and get the best value for their stay are important to us and we're are glad you enjoyed our stay. Any ideas about improving our hotel are very welcome and we will take your idea abut fridges into consideration for the future.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and yet again a first class stay. The staff are friendly rooms clean and food good. We stayed this time on a offer which was excellent value for money. I will definitely consider this hotel next time I visit the city

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear AngieLancaster,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all comments and the time guests take to write a review on our hotel. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you once again and we look forward to your 3rd visit.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I spent there two nights in November and I was completely satisfied with my choice: the staff was very helpful and kind, the room I was given was very big, well furnished and I could even make a cup of tea or coffee, since the room has tea-coffee making facilities. The position is, in my opinion, perfect: the hotel is next to James Street Station, and it takes ten minutes to reach the city center or the Albert Dock area. In conclusion, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Giulia C,

It's great news to hear you would recommend us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the facilites we provided. A stay in England wouldn't be complete with having a good cup of tea!

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the 11-14th of jan. I booked with otel.com and found the website really good value. I opted to get a taxi from the airport which took around 25 mins and cost £16. You can get a bus but we wanted to just there.
Hotel.
It is situated in an amazing location with everything being right on your doorstep. We were given the option to have a late check out till 3pm which we took it cost £20.
There is also tesco right around the corner and ice machine on every floor. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Room.
We had a room on the second floor it was bright, spacious, extremely clean and well decorated. There is a fab shower, as well as a iron board and hair dryer in room. The free wifi is fast and a great bonus as some hotels wifi can be very slow.
Breaskfast.
It was as good as all the other reviews said fresh and plenty of it totally set us up for our days if sightseeing.
Things to do.
Lots and lots with this hotel you literally are close to everything. Albert dock to right when you come out the door, the caven 5 mins (in heels) to the left. There is shops and shops and more shops. Its really easy to get everywhere as street signs on each corner tell you which direction and how many minutes!!
Overall we will definitely be going back to liverpool and booking the days inn, it was such an excellent hotel. So a big thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear nightsawayinhotels,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on our hotel. We love to hear feedback from guests as its helps us improve our hotel, especially when it's good reviews! If you'd like to visit us again, remember you can get the best deals for the hotel when you book directly. We are lucky to have such a great location which is close to many attractions and we try to provide all the facilities guests might need during their stay. We passed on your comments to all the staff and they were glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Liverpool. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

As part of a two week venture through the UK and Iceland, I found myself with three days to spend in Liverpool. Having never visited the city before - and therefore with no "favorite" hotel in town - I spent some time researching my options before booking my lodging. I found that the Days Inn was easily 15-25% less expensive than nearly every other hotel located in the same geneal area of the city. With this in mind, I made my reservation.

The competitive pricing has made the hotel very popular to travellers; the reception area is a picture of controlled chaos, with a crowd of guests coming and going at all hours of day and night. The reception lobby is very small, and the lack of furniture is obviously designed to keep visitors from milling about. The staff here works very hard to keep the foot traffic moving. Things become more civilized when you receive your key card - it not only allows entry to your room, but also allows the user to operate the elevator and open the door to the stairwell.

The rooms themselves are very spacious. My room featured an oversized king bed with plenty of pillows and clean bedding; the nights in Liverpool were easily the most satisfying, sleepwise, of any stopover on my vacation. The room was also located on the same floor as the hotel's lounge/restaurant. The bar features a number of beers and several drink specials; the restaurant's menu combines standard English pub grub and burgers with Indian and Italian main courses. The restaurant features pizza delivery to guest rooms on a 24/7 basis, and is also home to a standard Englis breakfast buffet with enough brown sauce to cover it all.

The real draw of the Days Inn, however, is its location; within a 5-10 minute walk (in different directions) are many of Liverpool's major sites, including the museums, shops and piers of Albert Dock; the world famous Caver Club on Matthew Street; and the Liverpool One shopping area. The hotel is situated next door to the James Street Station, Liverpool's hub for rail traffic to Wales and other UK points to the west and southwest. Lime Street Station, the city's largest rail station, is a short (five or six pounds) cab ride away.

Unfortunately, as with any property located in a busy downtown area, external noise could be an issue for some travellers. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is populated by many nightspots, and James Street is congested with traffic until the early morning hours; my room was located on the first floor, and noise from the street and surrounding clubs could be heard in my room late at night. As I was also out late during my stay, this was barely a nuisance. Of more concern was the lack of a shower option in my bathroom; to bathe, one had to run a bath. As I would much rather shower than sit in a bath, I found this disconcerting. In light of the other positives of this particular hotel, it's an inconvenience I can live with.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear denverc30

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review we appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve the daily running of our hotel. All comment’s are taking and discussed between management to see if we can make any improvements.

Once again thank you for your informative review and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed early January midweek for three nights and was a little pricey for midweek. Hotel is in a great location, very central, few minutes walk from shops,restaurants. Hotel is clean and modern and a good size. When we first went into our room, the heating was not working, we rang reception and they said the general manager would have a look, we went out for the night and when we came back, reception told us to move rooms so we packed up our things and move to the third floor. Thankfully the heating was working. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on food but we did visit the bar and there was no atmosphere, no one in bar, we ended up bringing the drinks back to our room and having them there. Would recommend if your looking for somewhere to stay for a few nights. We were over for the game in Anfield so hotel suited us fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Featherl

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel we take all comments into consideration and are grateful with all feedback.

I would like to apologise for the heating, and again thank you. We look forward to you return visit.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn City Centre Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn City Centre Liverpool

Address: James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn City Centre Liverpool 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Days Inn City Centre Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.