We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night out in Liverpool with overnight stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn City Centre Liverpool

Save Saved
You added Days Inn City Centre Liverpool to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 12 more sites!
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 99 hotels in Liverpool
Stockport
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great night out in Liverpool with overnight stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed here on a "Living Social" deal booked by the wife (at a very good price) The deal included 2 drinks,2 12" Pizzas and 1 nights B+B in the hotel.The Hotel is very close to everything Liverpool has to offer,which is quite a lot in fact and most of it in walking distance.It is also right next to James St underground station so we decided to go by train.It costs £9 to park overnight and a fair amount of boozing was planned so the train was the best option.The Hotel is kept very clean and simple..it has a restaurant serving a limited menu of bar snacks it also stays open till 3am at weekends.Sadly the heating was not working in our room and it was bitterly cold and my wife complained several times.We spoke to others in the hotel who had the same problem and there is no individual radiators/heaters in the actual rooms its just a digital thermostat and ours was showing an error code...To the hotels credit they moved us to another part of the building but we had to persist with the complaining before they offered.It was a fault affecting one whole side of the hotel that could not be easily sorted it seems.We did some shopping had a drink then came back for our pizza/drink.The Pizzas were nice and very filling and the bar area is quite pleasant and the barman a very friendly lad.We then went out for the night which we spent in some of the great bars on nearby Mathew St where the famous Cavern Club is situated.As it was the last weekend before Christmas the streets were packed with revellers and mounted policemen giving it a kind of "end of a football match"feel with a bit of tension in the air.There was lot of high profile policing going on really but aside from one arrest they made there was more of an air of high spirits rather than any violence and we did not feel threatened.We had a great night and it was good to know the hotel was just a 10 minute walk away..The bed was very comfortable in the hotel.Next morning we got up for breakfast which is served up till 11am at weekends and after a night of Christmas cheer who wants to be up at dawn for breakfast so full marks for that.The breakfast was very good with a huge choice on offer from the full English fry up to healthy fruit/yoghurt cereal options arranged buffet style...We checked out at 11am and they allowed us to leave our luggage in the hotel while we braved the lashing rain to do some shopping...I would highly recommend Days Hotel but only as a place to rest overnight not for a special occasion based around the actual hotel,but I think the place is geared for that really.Any staff we encountered were very friendly and efficient.I would return here as its so well placed for the shopping,nightlife and culture.If the Living Social offer appears again I would definitely suggest taking it up...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear sbilts

Thank you very much for your review all feedback and comments are a great help to the hotel and is its very much appreciated.

We are very happy your stay was enjoyable the living social offer is a great deal! I apologise for the heating this was a problem we were having at that time and hope we dealt with it as quickly as possible.

Once again thank you and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    535
    391
    87
    20
    5
See reviews for
144
392
62
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

great location close to the shopping and the waterfront, very clean room and very friendly staff, all round good value and would deffo use again. Parking is a little confusing and away from the hotel but was not a big issue, Would recommend getting your breakfast from St Johns Market in the little café's as it is a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear tyuknyukmtyukmtyuiy

Thank you very much for review your great comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to rest of our team.

Once again thank you and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Michelle Franklin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Nice service, clean rooms with a nice bathroom, friendly staff. Wifi works nicely. Didn't spend much time in the room/hotel, so there isn't much more to tell.

Compared to the rooms, the hallway is hideous. But who cares...

Very good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Jo TennB,

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our stay in Liverpool. It is always a pleasure to hear positive guest reviews.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have stayed here a few times and find it conveniently located for all there is to offer within the city center and Albert Docks area, including Liverpool 1. We usually take the train to James Street station which is directly beneath the hotel. Walk out of the station, turn right and within a few yards your at reception. This time we took the car (Xmas shopping!!), the hotel has a concessionary rate of £9 per 24hr within the Liverpool 1 parking complex, about a five minute walk which is no problem. We have never eaten at the hotel therefore cannot comment on that aspect but we have always found the reception staff to be friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Request a room to the rear of the hotel away from James Street side, less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Fiafo,

We are always glad to hear from a regular guest and thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your Christmas break and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

very central location, everything on your doorstep. Best of all were the staff on reception. Very helpful. I would definitely return to this hotel and reccomend it to family and friends. only down side you couldnt open the windows


  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Penelope P,

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel. It is very useful for helping improve our service. Unfortunately the hotel windows don't open due to the building being previously used by the Ministry of Defence. All our rooms have air conditioning which can have the temperature adjusted to suit individual preferences to try and improve this situation. Our reception team were very happy to hear your review and pride ourselves on good customer service. We are very glad to hear you would reccomend our hotel.

Best wishes, Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first stop on a months holiday. The Days Inn was excellent. It was in a great location. Restaurants, shops, the whrfe district and the other sites were within easy walking distance. The hotel was very comfortable. The beds were excellent and the breakfast as well. My friend has a food allergy which was catered for without any fuss. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Trish1953229,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on our hotel. We are glad to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay and we try to cater to everyone's needs while they are staying with us. We hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable.

Best wishes, Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night midweek in December. Got a fantastic deal, only €46 for the room for the duration of our stay! We were not disappointed. Rooms were perfect. Food tasted great. There is no denying though the best thing about Days Inn is it's location right in the heart of Liverpool! With all the highstreet shops just a stones throw up the street. Would definitely stay in Days Inn again during our next visit to Liverpool (which we're hoping will be very soon).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet M, Front Office Manager at Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Gráinne F,

We have passed on your wonderful comments to the staff, especially the restaurant and housekeeping teams, who were very happy to hear your review. Liverpool One is great for shopping and we are very lucky to be so close. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the new year.

Best wishes, Amy Johnston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn City Centre Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn City Centre Liverpool

Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool Hotel
Days Inn City Centre Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Address: James Street, Liverpool L2 7PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#11 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn City Centre Liverpool 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Days Inn City Centre Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn City Centre Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.