We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special and maybe overrated !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Nadler Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Nadler Liverpool to your Saves list
The Nadler Liverpool
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29 Seel Street, Liverpool L1 4AU, England (Formerly base2stay Liverpool)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% discount
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nothing Special and maybe overrated !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the base 2stay, Liverpool in July 2011 after reading the reviews in Trip Advisor. It is located 5-10 minutes walk from city center but the street is not very nice. The hotel looks like it was built in an old warehouse. The reception is modern and the staff friendly. We booked a deluxe room which was in the attic. It was a good size room and the bathroom was very nice. There were no windows that opened although there was a sky light. The A/C was poor and only works when the key is in the room, so it was hot in the room when we arrived. There was no view from the room and it has no restaurant. Having traveled extensively around the world and staying in all kinds of hotels without a view or restaurant I can only give it 3 stars.The room had a fridge, microwave, cutlery and dishes, hair blower and free coffee. Internet is also offered. I have stayed in LIverpool at other hotels that offer more for less money.,

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b2smanager, Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear FreeSpirit62,

RopeWalks, where we are located, is one of the city centre’s historic areas, similar to Shoreditch in London or New York’s The Meatpacking district. Part of its attraction is its Bohemian atmosphere, but this won’t suit everyone. Our building dates from the mid 1850’s and the 4th floor beams were salvaged from 19th century ships and were preserved at the request of Liverpool’s Conservation Department. Our website gallery provides photos of these rooms, many of which have great views, as other reviewers have commented. I hope our website explains our no bar/no restaurant concept clearly and that the mini-kitchen and discounts to many of the city’s best restaurants provide interesting options. We place great importance on environmental considerations, so the a/c and electrics in all our rooms are controlled by the key card. However the cooling should have got the room to a comfortable temperature quite rapidly so we apologise if you were inconvenienced. With free Wi-Fi, free Nespresso in our lounge and all the free goodies on our HDTVs, we believe we offer value in an original way, but accept that we won’t be what everyone is looking for. The great thing about Liverpool today is that the city now has a wide variety of hotels to suit all tastes so please visit Liverpool again!

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,511
    419
    85
    21
    6
See reviews for
250
801
176
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Very clean hotel with modern rooms. Staff helpful and courteous. Approx 10 minute walk to Philharmonic Hall (albeit uphill). Although no restaurant on site, there is a breakfast delivery service which is reasonably priced, very quick, and quite tasty. Restaurants in the neighborhood offer good selection of various cuisines. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fira, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We liked this hotel; it is very well placed for the things visitors want to see/do in Liverpool; easy walk from Lime St Stn; and to museums/galleries/cathedrals; plenty of good eateries close by, and very near new shopping centres.
very well equipped rooms, beautiful views from the 4th floor rooms, but beware your head if you're tall - those beams!
Bit of a drawback that they don't do their own breakfast, but there are lots of options for getting it sent in.
A few gripes: very poor quality loo paper, no tissues, and no glasses in the bathroom.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Close to the city center. Friendly staff. We stayed in three different rooms and all had the same quality. For looking over the city go to the 5th floor. View from the rooms on the side of the hotel is less. We will come back.

Room Tip: If you are used to making your own coffee take a Coffee filter with you. Or use the one in the lobb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

great place, could not fault the hotel, stayed with 5 of my friends friday to sunday, great location right in the city centre and not far from the train station, rooms very clean and a good size. also like to thank peter and john on reception who where a great help to us finding our way around.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at Base2Stay whilst we were in Liverpool attending my son's graduation from Liverpool University. Liverpool is a fantastic city and Base2Stay was superb with one exception - lack of fresh air! Is there no way windows can be opened? The air con was too noisy to leave on all night and there was no alternative to reduce the air temperature or ciculate the air in the room. Everything else - excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b2smanager, Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Pink Teal,

Thanks for your great review and we hope your son’s graduation was memorable. First of all, please let me reassure you regarding fresh air - whilst the a/c system cools or heats the air, fresh air is ducted directly into the rooms from outside, regardless of whether the a/c is on or not, so this ensures the rooms has a constant flow of fresh air. Nevertheless, we are sorry that you missed being able to open windows. Like many hotels with a/c and double glazing, our windows are not openable. In our case, it’s not our choice but that of the planners, who made this a condition for granting our planning consent. I am sorry you found the a/c noisy – I will ask our maintenance team to look at the unit – as one of the latest hotel systems, it shouldn’t disturb guests. Even though your son has now graduated, we hope you will still come back to visit us in Liverpool!

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here for four nights while checking out Liverpool. I picked this place due to the reviews it already had on trip advisor and I wasn't disappointed!
The hotel feels very modern on the inside, small things like using RFID door locks instead of swipe cards you find at most hotels still. I particularly liked the projected art work that greeted you near the lifts. The rooms were quite generous in size and included a small kitchen sink and bench built into one of the cupboards. The street the hotel was in was very local to the main shopping areas and even albert dock is only a few mins walk away. We did find that the area felt a little unsafe at night, we didn't have any issues but it just had that feel with the type of people hanging around in the streets.
Overall though I highly recommend this hotel and will be looking to stay there again when I am back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b2smanager, Manager at The Nadler Liverpool, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear Krepeth,

We’re very pleased you liked our hotel, and noticed many of the small things that can make such a difference. Regarding you comment about the night time environment, we are in the heart of the RopeWalks, Liverpool’s Bohemian design and entertainment quarter, so you sometimes get more people around at night than in the daytime! Liverpuddlians are a very vibrant and friendly crowd, and the city just has its Purple Flag award renewed by the Association of City Centre Managers – Purple Flags are to city centre entertainment areas what Blue Flags are to beaches. That means being well managed and offering value, a wide range of attractions, and a safe and inclusive environment. So we look forward to welcoming you back to Liverpool!

Andrea Burton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Nadler Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nadler Liverpool

Address: 29 Seel Street, Liverpool L1 4AU, England (Formerly base2stay Liverpool)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#2 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nadler Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nadler Liverpool (formerly base2stay Liverpool) offers a unique combination of 4* comfort, design and service. All rooms offer A/C, mini-kitchens, free WiFi + free internet, music & games on HDTVs. Without a bar or restaurant, it’s ideally suited to the RopeWalks, Liverpool city centre’s vibrant design quarter. Enjoy exclusive discounts at some of Liverpool’s best bars and restaurants, with which this boutique hotel is surrounded and 30 minutes of free local & national calls per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Nadler Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base2stay Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nadler Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.