We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Heywood House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Heywood House Hotel to your Saves list
Heywood House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was my second overnight stay in Liverpool and my first time at this particular hotel.

The check-in experience was fine, the member of staff on the reception desk was OK, not the friendliest and she left us at the check-in once we had all the keys, etc and went back to our office. It would have been nicer for the staff to wait for us to leave the reception area before going away.

Our invoice was printed on the back of another recent invoice so we could see what another person purchased from the hotel - not great from a data protection standpoint!

The room was fine and had all of the amenities, the sink tap was very difficult to use and caused a lot of splash-back..

Overall an ok experience, would not rush back there if I need another stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, We are sorry to hear you did not have the best experience whilst staying at our Hotel. We have taken all of your comments on board and will ensure this does not happen again.
When you are next in Liverpool we hope you would try us again and give us the opportunity to provide you with a more positive view of the hotel and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    201
    53
    9
    9
See reviews for
32
380
17
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We got a great deal through the hotel's website. Keep poking around their site for different packages and deals. We paid 55 pounds per night mid-week (late November) and then booked a 2 course dinner for 20 pounds per person (which was good, not great).

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The shower had the rare distinction of having a proper shower that doesn't soak the bathroom floor.

We found the staff to be incredibly friendly and helpful.

James Street station is just a minute away, and Liverpool 1 is just a couple of blocks down. We walked to everything from here: The Walker Art Gallery, the Albert Dock, Liverpool Cathedral. And despite the central location the room was quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments, We are pleased to hear you found our Hotel clean and comfortable and that the location was ideal for your needs, We appreciate your comments on our team members as this is something we aim to achieve, Keep an eye on our latest offers in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

On business in Liverpool, and had recently spent 3 weeks here. The hotel is a small, a boutique style hotel with (I believe) around 39 rooms. It is located in a very convenient location, between the Cavern shops, Liverpool One shops, and the waterfront.
The hotel is clean and pretty new, as it doesn't yet show up on Google maps street view. The staff is very friendly, and make you feel at home. If rooms are available, I will definitely consider staying here again on my next visit to Liverpool. Thank you! - Terry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments, We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in our Hotel and that you felt at home here, It was a pleasure to have you here and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with this hotel, it just didn't bowl me over. We had a Sunday night deal, so paid £89 for the room without breakfast. So that was great value for money in such a fantastic location. But I really wouldn't have wanted to pay any more. The hotel is a converted bank but I got no sense of the former grandeur of the building or of the former incarnation of the building in any way. They had simply crammed as many rooms as possible into the shell.
Maybe some of the rooms were better, but ours was dark and had only subdued lighting. Little details would have made a difference, such as a mirror next to a socket to plug the hairdryer into. There was a nice full length mirror on the door to the bathroom but the lighting was too poor to use it for make up and the bathroom mirror was set too far back. So a simple make-up/shaving mirror would have helped. One tiny shower gel for two people is stingy. A shame to skimp on tiny details like that. On the positive side, the shower was fabulous, the teamaking facility was good, and there was an iron and ironboard in the wardrobe.
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
So overall, I would recommend it if you get a good deal, but not for the full price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear you was not completely happy with your room, We will take all of your comments on board and see how we can improve, We are pleased to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful and the location was ideal for your needs. We hope to see you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Have recently stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time, and have to say for the money I can't fault it!

It's in a great location. You just walk out of the hotel and you've got pubs and restaurants. Try Restaurant Bar and Grill across the road on Brunswick. It's great food and service. The hotel is also within a close walking distance to Liverpool One, the main shopping area. It's also close to the Docks.

The rooms are lovely. Modern/contemporary, lovely bathrooms, a bit on the small side but not a problem. It's got all the usual stuff you'd expect: nice bathroom products, tea/coffee making facility, safe, ironing board etc.

The staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful, especially Laura.

Breakfast, which wasn't included in our price of £75, is offered at the adjoining bar/restaurant Noble House, which is good.

Overall, I really like this hotel, it's great value for money, and will keep going back when I visit Liverpool.

Room Tip: Try and get. Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments, We are very pleased to hear you found out Hotel modern and that it had all the facilities you need, Thank you for your comments on one of our team members we try are best to offer the best possible service and we appreciate this was noted, We look forward to seeing you at our Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Two day midweek stay on our first ever visit to Liverpool on a room-only basis. Having just spent £75-£80 per night in London for a small room with shared facilities for one, it was a treat to have such comparative luxury at a similar price for two. The central location couldn't have been better - shops, ferries and many atttractions - with free disabled parking virtually outside the front door it was much better than we were expecting. The central heating was having trouble competing with the freezing conditions, but we got an electric heater to make up. Decent internet connection and friendly staff.

Room Tip: If you have a "blue-badge", you can park for the duration of the stay on the street outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and the location was ideal for your needs, We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We booked a Sunday night stay at the Heywood House Hotel for a pre-Christmas treat based on many online reviews we had read.
The building is impressive and the decor of the rooms and communal areas is sumptious and gorgeous. It has a very grand air and slightly glamorous feel to the place.
Check in was not as smooth as I would have liked. I'm sorry to report that we did not receive the best of welcomes from an obviously stressed receptionist and even worse, we had to trudge back to the hotel 3 times before we could successfully check in. We left our luggage in the back room which was frustrating as I had an evening dress I needed to hang up.
It was after 4pm before our room was ready - I do not consider this inconvenience acceptable.
The room was delightful once we had checked in. Such lovely attention to detail. Just a minor word about the pillows which I found too thin/flat and also there was a very annoying noise which appeared to be coming from the air vent which disturbed our sleep. We had room 108 - I wouldn't recommend this room for that reason.
The hotel is in a fantastic location as other reviwers have stated - just a short walk from the shops and Matthew Street. There is also a fabulous restaurant just around the corner which I think was imaginatively called 'The Restaurant'. Five star dining without the five star prices.
All in all, a lovely hotel, do give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeywoodHH, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, We are sorry to hear that check in wasn’t as you hoped, I will forward your issues with your room to our maintenance team to prevent this in future, I am happy to hear this didn’t effect your stay with us and that the location was ideal for your needs, A handy hint if you choose to stay with us again there are always extra pillows in your wardrobe, We hope to see you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heywood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.