We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Luxurious, Comfortable & Romantic!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Liverpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool
Save
You added L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool to your Saves list
William Jessop Way, Liverpool L3 1EJA, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, Luxurious, Comfortable & Romantic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

I am quite disgusted by some of the comments beneath about the scaffolding on the building; they might as well have said their trip was a disaster because of the building work. Let me say this don’t judge something until you try it. Say you were getting work done on your house, imagine how you would feel if your family said am not visiting them look at their house, just because some work is taking place to improve and make better the building people judge or complain.

Myself and my boyfriend have stayed in the Merchant Quarter at three different occasions for numerous amounts of nights. Firstly we stayed with our family at one of the top apartments on the top floor for New Year. This was outstanding by far never experienced anything quite amazing; top floor balcony view of all the fireworks over Liverpool and the view of Liverpool lit up, could take your breath away. The apartment slept up to 8 and even included a pool table....you wouldn’t get that in your hotel room would you? The second time was for Valentine’s Day with my boyfriend, the staff made it not only so clean and welcoming but it was romantic with petals, balloons and wine all complimentary, made it the most perfect weekend which just added the icing to the cake you could say. Then recently in August we stayed for our birthday weekend, this was the only time the scaffolding had been there when we had stayed. This didn’t change our view at all, as soon as your in your apartment you forget about it, looking at the magnificent view of Liverpool and amazing money worth apartment you have, which is so relaxing and cheaper than a hotel. There’s no uncomforting rush, like you had to be at breakfast by a certain time or the cleaners were coming to clean the room, just take it at your own leisure and experience the comfort of a kitchen, bedroom, living room, bathroom and balcony plus much more including a DVD player and sky TV, which was all money value if not better and cheaper than a hotel. One night we went out for a meal and drinks in town with friends while another we had the comfort of watching a DVD and cooking food in the kitchen with no interruption or family friends or neighbours being noisy or disturbing your alone time. You can even have a late check out to enjoy a nice lie in on your last day.

In all, it is always a pleasure to stay at the Merchant Quarter and I would highly recommend this to anyone. Whether you’re looking for romantic weekend away, friends away, business or just some quiet time the L3 living staff make sure your stay is complete. Please try this for yourselves and don’t be put off by the building work.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    21
    17
    18
See reviews for
24
41
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed in the merchants quarter apartments with a few friends last weekend. Although at first sight we were a bit worried with the obviouse works going on, it had no effect on the weekend. L3 staff were great, location was perfect and the apartment itself top notch. Me and the lads will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

I stayed in the Merchant Quarters recently when going out on a stag do in Liverpool and would definitely reccomend them.

The location is great - its really near the centre of town yet still easy to get to by car.

The apartment istelf was spotlessly clean, had a modern finish and excellent facilities including wi-fi and Sky TV.

All i can say is that i wish I could stay here every Friday night!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at L3 Living - The Merchants quarters on Sat 4th September. We went as a group of 5 friends, really looking forward to staying in this apartment as we had read the rave reviews and looked at the pictures on their site..... How disappointed we were.!!
On our arrival we were shown to our apartment by a young girl... firstly the smell hit us , musty, damp, stale ..
The rooms were a decent enough size and seemed at first well equipped...
Before the young girl left the room she told us that the sofa bed that was in the living area was functional, although was jammed and wouldn't go back to its original position...the mattress and legs were stuck out of the front of the sofa, the cushions had been placed on top as if in the hope it wouldn't be noticed ..
When the young girl left the room we raced to the windows to open them for some fresh air .... Where were the windows..?? None..!! No air conditioning, no air vents ... Now we know why the bad smells. As we had no balcony and no windows the subject came up , that if there was to be a fire at some point outside our apartment, what would we have done , hypothetical I know but never say never.!!
There were two portable fans in the apartment that unfortunately didn't really help with our lack of fresh air.
Forget fresh air lets have a cuppa and relax before we hit the sights of Liverpool.... Now with a lovely dining table all set for dinner you'd think the kitchen would contain a tea spoon..the room was booked for 5 people and only had cutlery for 4...
All this may sound quite trivial but at the end of the day you don't expect this from an establishment that charges these prices.
This said .... the apartment was quite clean, beds were very comfy , bed linen and towels immaculate, lots of hot water and a great shower. We understand that the work to the outside of the building required scaffolding and nothing could be done about that , but it didn't obscure our views and yes some slight confusion regarding parking but again that was easily sorted..
We would not return to these apartments until the renovation work had been completed and the ventilation problems were sorted

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed there as a group for one night and so glad it was'nt for more nights. There's building work going on all around the building which really is'nt what you want to see as you arrive or when you look out of your window, scaffolding etc. The information given on the website looked very fetching until we arrived then it was a whole different story. Inside the actual room there was no air con, no windows or balcony all we had was two fans which after a while don't do anything really, it was an absolute nightmare to get comfortable & sleeping was impossible, it was humid with the air being so dry the rooms had some kind of smell as we entered. Id say the apartment we was staying in was unsafe regarding fire regulations.. if there would have been a fire around the lift area being on the tenth floor there would have been no way at all could we either get out of the building or could anyone have got into us. We booked for 5 people then noticed there was only enough cutlery n plates for 4 which obviously made the situation not very easy. There was 2 bedrooms with a double bed in each, in the living quarters there was a bed settee which was for the 5th person in our group to sleep on... when we arrived in the room the host told us that the bed settee had jammed and was unable to be folded away properly meaning there was only 4 people able then to sit down to relax, but her words were 'it was ok to open up as a bed still'.. well what kind of service was that... it was'nt our job to have to start struggling to unjam the settee I really don't think.. Its definitely not somewhere we would plan to stay again and neither would we recommend it to anyone either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We booked this accommodation, because they had a special offer on.... If we had paid the full cost of this accommodation I would have been rather cross and not just disappointed!... There is a lot of building work going on.. with scaffolding all around the building... very noisy.... not at all pleasant. We had paid for two night car parking £30 ! Then when we arrived we were told there was NO parking and we had to park in a car park opposite... we were told the £30 would be reimbursed.. I had to chase that up three weeks later.... The Free WiFi did not work at all, there wasn’t a problem with my laptop as it worked perfectly in a nearby Hotel !! The Merchant Quarters Not a good choice really. Although staff did try to be helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights - we got a great deal from Travelzoo, it worked out approx £35.00 per night. We arrived at Lime Street Station, taxi was £6 to apartments. Yes, there was building works going on as the last reviewer describes, but none of the works effected our stay (and we were expecting there to be a reason for the very cheap rate). The apartment was very comfortable, clean and modern with a fully equiped kitchen with washing machine. There was plenty of room for the 2 of us. It was rather warm in the bedroom as no windows, but we were provided with a fan which did the trick, and kept us cool when in bed. Plenty of storage in bedroom. We were given a river view, with a balcony - and there was a workmans lift being used to work at the top of the building, unfortunately it rained for most of our stay so workmen were hardly on site - only saw it go by our apartment 2 or 3 times for entire stay. The location is ideal, 5 minute walk to Albert Dock and 10 mins to the town centre.

We were very pleased with the apartments and the price we paid was very good. We were even given a bottle of wine on arrival. And our apartment did have a hairdryer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool

Address: William Jessop Way, Liverpool L3 1EJA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Liverpool
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
l3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.