We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Liverpool to your Saves list
Hilton Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Thomas Steers Way, Liverpool L1 8LW, England (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #32 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
europe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Me and my friend came to Liverpool for the first time to see a fotball match. We were exhausted after flying, and the hotel was not too far away from the airport, about 20 minutes (£15 taxi). The staff is very nice and helpful, and the check in went very fast. We arrived to our room and was met with a fantastic view over the city. The beds were amazing and the whole rom was clean and very neat looking. We had booked a two king size bed room but was met with more of a two single bed room, but we did not bother to complain since we had no problem with it. The TV had many channels and the shower was amazing. Hotel breakfast was perfect, nothing to complain about. The hotel is in the middle of the city and you can walk around all day to do your shopping. Anfield is about 20 minutes away from the hotel by car which was perfect for us. Check out went fast, hotel staff was very helpful. The price we paid felt like too little to stay in a hotel like this, hopefully the Hilton will stick to these prices. When i return to Liverpool i will also return to the Hilton hotel!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    440
    182
    85
    49
See reviews for
150
548
43
272
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

After travelling all day to be greeted by our receptionist,( from London herself). she explained areas to see around the city and because concierge were busy she helped us carry luggage to the rooms. going out of her way in any way she could she even printed off a discount voucher for a nereby eatery , and called to make sure we could get a table.she was absolutey fanastic, a total credit, throughout the stay no matter how busy she was she was always polite! she seemed to live there! on the ground floor desk and up in the lounge?? that night after dinner we sat up and had drinks in the bar on the groud floor, the bartender (Kieran) made us a special cocktail as we didnt like alot of ingredients in the other drinks on the menu, the stock was short but he went and spoke to the chefs to get some other goodies.

we had a fanastic stay all the staff seemed happy, breakfast was hot and service on time. Needed more cash to tip across the hotel, no idea how one guest found egg shell in the eggs as even i could tell they are powered eggs and when I asked why i was told its a health and safety issue,

will come again

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Our stay was fantastic, the hotel is in a great location near the Albert Dock and Liverpool One and the hotel is clean and furnished very nicely, very contemporary.

Our room was spotless and everything functioned correctly with no complaints. The views over the city were great and the bed was comfortable.

The concierge was friendly and professional and there was plenty of staff at Breakfast, which was good quality.

If I had to pick a fault, it was that the reception staff were very corporate and not friendly, but apart from this, our stay was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

This is a bit of a sad review, as I was really hoping to love this hotel. It has all the potential to be the number one hotel in the city, but is let down by a long list of silly little problems that seem to show a lack of attention to detail. None of these would be worth mentioning if they were a one-off.

We stayed for 3 nights in an Executive Suite, no 730. Liverpool FC had NOT been playing at home the night before.

We drove up to the hotel at approx 16:30. First problem, no doorman or porter. I left my husband in the car and went to check in. The receptionist greeted me as “Mrs Smith”, which is not my name. She then pretended she hadn’t said it. She then informed me the room was not ready, despite check-in being from 15:00. This was particularly distressing, as my husband had been ill with the winter sickness bug, and just wanted a lie-down somewhere quiet.

We unloaded the luggage onto a trolley, and a porter eventually appeared to wheel it into the luggage store while my husband parked the car. We were then directed to the Executive Lounge to wait until our room was cleaned. An hour later we eventually gained access to it – 2.5 hours late. No porter around again when we collected the luggage, so my husband took it to our room.

The suite was quite reasonable, a decent size and with a nice view of the park. Or the view would have been quite nice, except that the inside of the window was absolutely filthy. It was covered in hand-prints and greasy head-prints, and was quite disgusting.

I gave the windows a bit of a rub with a paper tissue, then looked for a bin to put it in.
No bin or wastebasket in the entire 4 rooms. Apparently when staying at the Hilton you throw your rubbish on the floor. I asked at Reception for a wastebin and a lady from Housekeeping came to the room immediately. She said “oh, you don’t have a bin”, then left, and that was the last we saw of her. I asked again the next day and one was eventually delivered to the room.

The focus of the living area when you walk into the suite is a large square table. Ours had footprints on it, as well as several permanent rings from cups.

The sitting room and bedroom were on different air conditioning controls. It is not full air-con, but it can be varied 3 degrees up or down from whatever the hotel have set it on as default. Unfortunately, the air-con in the bedroom was set on hot, which meant it was 22 degrees, too hot to sleep the first night (with no opening windows). Next day, we asked for someone to fix it, and someone came and pressed some buttons on the control. I did point out that at 3am that morning I had pressed ALL the buttons on the handset several times, but he insisted it just needed resetting and would now settle down. Approx 7 hours later, with still no change, we complained again. There was nothing to be done in the room – I suspect it needed a man with a hammer – but the hotel did turn the default setting down a little. It was still too hot in the bedroom, so we eventually just turned the air-con off, and left the one in the sitting area on cold and opened the doors.

We had quite a large amount of money with us, and wanted to leave it in the safe when we went out. Unfortunately, the safe wasn’t working. Called Reception, were told someone would be up in 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, Reception rang and we were told someone would be within 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, I rang again, and were told they were on their way. Waited another 30 minutes, still no-one came, so we gave up.

The last morning we were woken by someone knocking on the door (ignoring the Do Not Disturb we had on) with Room Service. This would have been fine, but we hadn’t actually ordered any room service.

A summary of other problems, in no particular order:
Coffee machine in Executive Lounge works sporadically “we’ve reported it to the manufacturers but it still doesn’t work”
We left laptop recharging in room, staff unplugged it
No tongs for ice, despite requesting on first day of arrival
One lamp didn’t work. Investigated, found bulb hadn’t been screwed in properly
Crockery mismatched – given sideplate as saucer
No breakfast card, so even if we wanted it in the room, that was tough
Maid entering without knocking
No robes or slippers in suite until we asked for them
Ordered room service once. No seasoning on food, and none provided. Even McDonalds can manage a salt sachet. Looking at other trays, this seemed standard. I am assuming tomato ketchup would have been wildly extravagant
No offer of newspaper at check-in
Had to request for the mini-bars to be unlocked, despite having left a deposit
Shower starting to smell on 2nd day, and definitely whiffy on 3rd day, of stagnant water

As I say, these were nearly all small, silly problems which would be easily fixed. The fact that the Hilton just didn’t bother to do so, even when requested, was a real disappointment. This could be a quality 4 star hotel, yet it seems to be driving itself down to 3 star.

The hotel building itself was quite nice, with a great location. The Executive Lounge was generally fairly well stocked with food and drink, though due to illness we didn’t use it much. The staff seemed very mixed, with some being extremely good and others appallingly bad.

We didn’t try the restaurant – we did try once but despite there being only a small selection of main courses, the flagship dish – Scouse – was off and was apparently going to be off for the next few days. It was unclear whether they were short of lamb, potatoes or cabbage for this, or whether the food was pre-prepared and then reheated, but we decided to eat elsewhere. There are numerous restaurants within a short walk of the hotel, so this isn’t a problem.

Parking is £9.00 if you park yourself, and though is a little awkward the first time its fine after that.

We stay in a lot of hotels, so I guess we know what to expect, but this hotel is not delivering.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

I would say that this Hilton is by far the most stylish Hilton I have ever seen!!! It does look phenomenal and I would say its more a boutique style hotel.

I initially went there for Breakfast with a business partner and was disgusted by their slow service: On several tables,there were still the plates from guest eating before their and our table wasnt served or looked after while being there for 1,5 hours.

Worser than this was that I had to find little pieces of the shells in the eggs plus one of the tomatoes was unsound.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

I booked this hotel as a surprise birthday present for my partner during the Hilton January sale. I could only afford one night but we planned a fun-filled evening around Liverpool. Unfortunately, the welcome from receptionists on arrival and when settling the bill on departure was on the aloof side.

The room was clean and the bed was amazing, I didn't want to leave it! The floor to ceiling windows ensured lots of light. I was rather surprised that the superior King-size room that we booked was the same as a standard sized room, apart from a larger bed.

I would recommend to friends but wouldn't pay the full amount for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Stayed one night to visit friends in Liverpool.

Great location right in the middle of the city centre, close to shops, bars, restaurants and all the sights.

Great room. Decent size. Clean and comfortable. Huge bed - very comfortable. Good modern, clean bathroom, although water pressure on the shower wasn't great.

Quick check-in and out. Staff we encountered were all friendly.

Big queues for the Q-Park car park that you can use for the Hilton, so just pulled up and used the valet parking service. Not cheap at £21 (+ another £9 for the overnight car parking fee), but couldn't be bothered queuing with all the people heading in for the shops.

Breakfast buffet was good, decent selection and the busy dining room was well staffed and managed (liverpool had been at home the night before, so the hotel was busy with football tourists).

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Liverpool

Address: 3 Thomas Steers Way, Liverpool L1 8LW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.