We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erie and unusual - Defo worth a visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antony Gormley's Another Place

Antony Gormley's Another Place
Crosby Beach Merseyside, Liverpool, England (Central Liverpool)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 93 Attractions in Liverpool
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Time your visit to this outdoor attraction during low tide. Crosby Beach to the north of the city hosts 100 iron figures cast from the artists' own bodies then erected over a three-kilometer area. Anthony Gormley's simple yet remarkable installation is especially rewarding at sunset.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Erie and unusual - Defo worth a visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I'd completely forgotten about this installation until I noticed a Postcard in the Tate gallery in Liverpool and released it must be near by! A quick google revealed it wasn't far out of Liverpool. Going by car it only took us about 20mins from the Albert Docks. We parked in the car park near the Leisure Centre. It was freezing cold so the beach was pretty deserted apart from the erie figures! lots of great photo ops from photography fans. Really interesting to see the effect the sea and weather has had on some of the metal structures over the years.
Looks like the figures go on for a long way but as it was so cold we didn't venture the full length . Luckily the leisure centre has toilets you can use.
Not sure how easy it would be by public transport!
Probably not for those who don't get modern art or art installations.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    230
    40
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Second visit, still there and still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It can be quite an awesome visit but really, I think the weather made me as cold as the iron men so it was a quick trot down to the beach and the first statue with the obligatory silly photo with naked iron man, a brave walk halfway towards the next one and then the briskest walk ever off the beach and back to the car. To be fair, there was snow on the beach with the powdery snow being whipped up in the wind which was quite magical.

Yes, it was worth just that quick visit. Maybe if it was not that cold then a walk along the beach would be good - the sand was firm and dry as it was about 4 hours after high tide.

We parked at Crosby Leisure Centre, Mariners Road, L23 6SX and that is the closest I have managed to park by the beach with access to the statues. The view to the left, on the beach, was very industrial and windfarms out to the right but I know you can keep on walking northwood for clearer views of the sea.

It is a free outing and worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Places of interest.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Numerous iron men on a large beach with two wind farms as backdrops. Can't say I was impressed. There was a certain irony, with carbon neutral wind energy in the back ground and the massive carbon footprint of several hundred tonnes of cast iron in the foreground, which were serving no practical purpose, other than to reflect the artist's ego.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to seek out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're visiting Liverpool, its worth the short drive out of town to visit this place. The artist who made the "Angel of the North" has set out this (now permanent) installation on Crosby Beach. It comprises of dozens of lifesize iron male nudes, all looking out to sea, dotted sporadically along 2km of beachline. Some are almost totally engulfed by water at high tide, others are always accessible. Every one has been been weathered by the salty air, and corroded in different ways - some completely covered in barnacles!

I recommend visiting this place out of season, or as the sun is going down when the beach is quiet, as the figures give this place an eery calmness. Great photo opportunities as well.

Even if "art" is not your thing, and you've never set foot in a gallery, you'll appreciate this. Its art for everyone. Loved it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

After two days of rain, the skies cleared and we set off for Crosby. Found a nearby car park easily enough and a five minute walk to the beach. The tide was on is way in which added to the mood, Anthony Gormley's figures, passing container ships and wind farm in the distance made for a memorable scene.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antony Gormley's Another Place also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Antony Gormley's Another Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antony Gormley's Another Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.