We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a peaceful getaway..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Liverpool to your Saves list
Novotel Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #27 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
GreenLeadersSilver level
Belper, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not a peaceful getaway..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The whole stay was a little confusing! No car park at the hotel so you are asked to use the Q park. There are 3 within 1/4 mike of each other and of course we chose the wrong one which the hotel doesn't give you any discount on, I only found this out at checkout. In all fairness the car Parker was only £15 for 24hr.

Check in again was hectic, no formal reception and not manned at first. There was also confusion about using the pool, it was suggested we go upstairs and get changed, only to be told on return to the reception that it was too busy at the moment. We managed to get there at 7.30am the next morning.

Gripes aside the hotel is very modern, good wifi with excellent clean rooms. Could have done with more power points. Lovely walk in shower and good tea & coffee.

The breakfast was very good and the checking out was a lot smoother than check in.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear bang kokram,
Thank you for your detailed review, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay.
The Q-park Hanover street is located adjacent to our hotel. The post code for future use is L1 4AF and the 24 hour rate with discount is approximately £10
Apologies for the delays on check-in, I have brought these to the attention of the reception manager to review with his rota.
We hope to welcome you back in 2014.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    551
    165
    40
    27
See reviews for
361
430
79
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Perfectly situated for the city centre. Few minutes walk to airport bus/Albert dock/shops etc. room is fine if a little tired with all the mod cons. Separate toilet to bathroom (?). Bar wouldn't be somewhere you would linger, the feel of an Internet cafe.
If a gd deal to be had, well worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear clm,
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We do have rooms with a w/c in the bathroom, please just let us know at reservation stage and we can allocate you a room.
See you in 2014.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have stayed at this location on a number of occasions and never had a poor experience. This time round my partner and I opted for the exec room and promptly found that it didn't have bath - something which was a important to my partner . The reception staff couldn't have been more accommodating , moving us immediately to another room with said bathtub . The gym facilities are great and the breakfast is quality, so overall thumbs up to Novotel Liverpool and their staff .

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Nick f,
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you chose us on your trips to Liverpool.
See you in 2014.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but pool was closed and this was the reason that we booked this hotel. We asked at reception when it would be open but no definte answer could be given for sometime.
Other than that...... Rooms were nicely furnished and we clean and comfy. The hotel bar was expensive for drinks and this is probably the reason that no one was drinking at it.
You do get discounted parking at the car park across the road and it is within walking distance of liverpool one

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear stucska,
Please accept my sincere apologies that the pool was temporally out of service during your stay. Thank you for your patience while we reopened it.
I am pleased you liked your room.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent location in Liverpool One, lovely warm welcome, excellent quality breakfast and service.
We took upgrade option to Executive Room and it was very nice. As regulars to Novotels we introduced our friends for the first time and they we're very impressed.

Stayed in Hilton L1 beginning of December, this one beats it hands down on all levels.

Looking forward to our next visit to Novotel London Waterloo in February.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear lynwilliams,
Delighted to read your review and enjoy your stay in London Waterloo in February.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Hotel is located on Hanover Street just on the edge of the shopping district, close to Central Station and within ten minutes walk from Lime Street station. The Novotel is a modern hotel, all Chrome and Glass but in a good way, I stayed there for a number of weeks whilst working in the area, rooms were large and well planned, I stayed in a number of rooms during my time there and for the most part the rooms were well maintained but I found that maintenance seemed to be a little slap dash, I reported a number of defects which were not fixed during my stay. Parking is an issue at Novotel with guests having to use an expensive car park nearby which if staying for a number of days could be quite a chunk of your spending money. Plenty of eateries nearby for those wanting a change from the hotel restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear POSA,
Thank you for sharing your review, I am pleased you enjoyed you stay.
My apologies that the defect you reported in your room was not corrected during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Address: 40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.