We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel in heart of Liverpool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Liverpool to your Saves list
Novotel Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #31 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    594
    184
    44
    32
See reviews for
392
461
84
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roving Brit
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed elsewhere but eat at the restaurant on Saturday evening. We were looking for somewhere quiet and with good food. This filled the bill in all respects. I started with the Indian selection which was very well presented and tasty but the chicken satay was rather tough. I commented on this at the time.
This was followed by a steak which was perfect!
We would recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Bryb_the_great,
Thank you for your review of our restaurant. Sorry to hear you disliked the chicken. I have passed these comments to our Head chef and also that you liked your steak.
We hope that you will look to also stay with us next time you visit Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

stayed here on our bus tour and found the hotel very good. rooms lovely, clean and spacious. food in the hotel was very good as well. we did have a problem with a red wine which we were positive was off....but eventually the waiter replaced it. other than that, everything was good. we did not get to spend much time at the hotel as our tour was full on, so did not walk anywhere. we enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Lexie D,
Thank you for your review. Very pleased your enjoyed your overall stay while on your tour of the UK.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay with my 10 year old daughter. From the time we arrived until the time we left, the whole experience was excellent & fun. Fantastic staff who are both friendly & professional. Spoke with one of the housekeeping staff named Jenny who was absolutely wonderful, giving us ideas on where to shop & things to do. Location is excellent...Bang in the centre of things!..Hotel has lovely swimming pool & gym too. We had breakfast included which was really lovely and plenty of choice for everyone. Hotel had a few kids there and it is totally welcoming to families. Bar is really nice and very comfortable. Great for a drink after a long day shopping.
I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear HolliDublin
Thank you for sharing your review. Pleased everything was positive and I will pass on your kind words to the Housekeeper Jenny and congratulate her on the service she delivered.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Clean and a central location. Staff seem friendly. However, there are nicer 4* hotels in Liverpool also in very good locations for the same price. The addition of the pool here is a good selling point. But despite being upgraded to a "business class" room, it still wasn't any nicer than a standard room in the Indigo hotel. Also at around 11am the lights would not turn on and the TV turned itself off and wouldn't turn on again? Odd? For something that feels a bit higher quality, I'd recommend the Indigo, Castle St or Heywood House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Markfeet,
Thank you for your detailed review however I was disappointed to hear of some of the hassle you encountered.
I am sorry if there was a power cut to your room however I am confident it was an isolated occurrence.
Our Executive rooms have a King size bed, Nespresso Coffee, Dressing gown and Slippers + i-pod dock. We have a selection of 5 different floor plans so we would be happy to show you these on your return.
We still hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my grandsons age 15yrs and 6 yrs the room was not ready when we arrived not a problem we left the bags in a secure locked cupboard and went to get some food and explore, when we returned we were pleased to have been given a room on the 11th floor perfect the boys were excited especially with the view of the wheel liver buildings and Ferris wheel added bonus the swimming pool can't find any fault apart from irritating tourist who all arrived just as we went to collect our bags which again was a bonus the hotel allowed us to leave them after check out as we had late train
Going back to the tourists not sure if they were American or Canadian they were like a bunch of school children they all wanted to be checked in at the same time no idea on forming a queue well done to the reception staff they did there best under the circumstances "why not take one key card and settle in your room then return for spare card I certainly would return in the future

Room Tip: We stayed on the 11th floor great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear MonroeT,
Thank you for your detailed review of your break with the Grand Children, very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Address: 40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#21 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.