We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Liverpool to your Saves list
Novotel Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #28 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    549
    164
    40
    27
See reviews for
359
426
78
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodelwyddan, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Central location for Liverpool attractions. Convenient, secure car parking near by.
Breakfast good value at £8+ (booked in advance) but not at the 'walk in price of £13+
Friendly and helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear JME632,
Thank you for review and I was pleased to see you found us well located and good value for money.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The location was fantastic a 5 minute walk from the train station. Uppon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who was helpful and informative.

We went up to our first room to discover the lack of cleanliness. Hairs in the sink and toothpaste stains. Coffee splashed up the wall and crumbs on the floor. After ringing reception the manager came up whom was very friendly and apologetic.

He moved us to another room- once again hairs in the shower and a bed that was apparently a queen but was more a double bed.
Getting fed up of all the agro we got moved to an executive room on top floor, but we had to pay an extra £10 for. Although it was not our fault the staff couldn't do there job properly? Not happy but was fed up of all the unnecessary moving.

Finally our room had fantastic views over the city, it was lovely and big. The bed was comfy and there was a speaker in the bathroom so could enjoy our music while taking a shower.
Also swimming pool was fantastic to finally relax in.
Would stay again definitely, if I was sure I would not occur the same problems.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Lucieturner,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and also your patience with me personally after you reported your first room had not been checked properly. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your upgrade to the Executive room that I was able to offer you at a discount for the inconvenience with the issues with your original room. I am also pleased to read you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Liverpool for the weekend with our 2 sons & partners and the welcome at the Novotel was good and the staff were great all weekend. Had a swim/steamroom and had the pool to ourselves, which was lovely. We were on the top11th floor and had good views- our son was the opposite side to us and his view was really great, overlooking the Albert Docks/wheel- it looked really great lit up at night. Bed comfy, blackout curtains and quiet. Had good sleep.
Only negatives were the breakfast a bit too pricey at £13 (could have for £9.95 if ordered the night before but we did not want to do this) and the catch on the toilet door was faulty and could not close it - reported this as we left but it did not spoil our visit. The receptionist apologised.
Enjoyed the hotel and our weekend in Liverpool.

Room Tip: great views on top floors,nice and quiet up there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Maryandrob 67,
Thank you for leaving your detailed review, I was pleased to read you had a great stay with your family.
We do some excellent rates that include breakfast should you want to take advantage of these when you next book.
Thank you letting us know about the toilet door and your patience with us at the time. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

For less than £80 per night I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Rooms were clean, with good beds, showers and tea and coffee. Breakfast was excellent but a bit pricey. The hotel has a decent gym with a small pool, which the kids loved. Excellent location, in the heart of the city centre. Car parking is next door at q parks, with guest getting a discounted rate. Would definitely return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Manwitdaplan,
Thank you for such a positive review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed all the facilities we have to offer with your family.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a stay at the novotel and it was great 5min away from everything bars shops restarutes docs Eco arena got the 86a from the air port and left us right outside the hotel 2pound each great the hotel is really modern has everything you want bar is nice pool and steam room are great only one bad thing il say is the bath and sink are in a different room to the toilet not that big a deal just takes a few more min to wash your hands all in all I'd stay here again no prob

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Bhogan 25,
Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased to hear you will stay with us again on your next visit to Liverpool.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

It wasnt as I expected especially for the price. Don't get me wrong we enjoyed our stay here but I think next time is probably stay elsewhere. We only had breakfast there and that was very nice. Unfortunately the maids didnt come to clean our room while we were out. And when we rang receotion when we got bak on the night to let them know and that we needed more condiments and some bathroom supplies. This took 2 phone calls to receive these and then at half 7 at NIGHT the maid walked in our room...couldn't speak a word of English and didn't understand 'its ok jus leave, were ok.' Not impressed. Parking here is utterly ridiculous...u have to park in the main storey carpark near the hotel, even tho u do get a discount its stil 9.50 a day!
The first thing I noticed in the room was a huge what looked like bleach stain on the carpet and then another Brown stain near the bed:\
Location is perfect tho for the city centre and Liverpool is soo close to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Danielle,
Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read you enjoyed your overall stay. I was though disappointed to read some of your additional comments.
With regard the room not being serviced on your second day, I have passed these on to the Housekeeping and Reception Manager who have investigated internally and taken the appropriate action to avoid a reoccurrence.
Thank you for reporting the chemical stain on the carpet, this is now scheduled to be replaced however I am sorry this was not completed before your arrival.
The Q-park next door has provided our guests with a secure and reliable service and our discount with them is on par with other city centre hotels. If you arrive after 4pm and leave before 9 am the next day it is under £4 if this is of help for the future.
We still hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Address: 40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.