We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Central location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Liverpool to your Saves list
Novotel Liverpool
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
leyland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Central location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Liverpool is in much better condition than we left it 30 odd years ago as students! What a great city centre with this hotel being fairly typical of the standard of this regeneration.
Rooms, whilst not huge, are well designed with loudspeakers in the bathroom, separate loo's, MP3 connection, nice comfy beds and lovely showers etc.
Staff were attentive, friendly and efficient and the Q Car park next door was £9.50 for 24 hours which wasn't too bad for a city centre.
Really good central location for town and Albert dock.
Too many hens and stags for my liking but everyone well humoured. Funny seeing girls staggering back at 3.30 in the morning carrying the high heels and wearing the hotels complimentary bedroom slippers! Great idea!
Didn't eat here but restaurant looked pretty good. Will definitely go back here if we can find a deal. Six of us stayed in two rooms but would be great to go back to the missus' home town and do the tourist bit.
Well done Novotel. A quality winning formula.

Room Tip: Get one facing on to Hanover Street rather than the internal courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear chris1957

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and your kind words. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you saw the improvement that Liverpool has undergone in the last years. Please keep an eye on our website for our offers, we usually have a good summer and winteroffer that you can take advantage off. We look forward to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    595
    186
    44
    32
See reviews for
393
462
84
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Ive stayed here a few times, whilst on business in Liverpool, recently and have only positive things to say. The check is friendly, welcoming and efficient, the rooms are clean and spacious (and not too hot) the food is good and room service arrives on time. Its in a great location with a handy tesco express virtually next door. Unfortunately I didnt get to use the pool etc - but I will, one of these days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear jackste

Thank you so much for writing a review and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stays with us! I hope you do get a chance to use the pool next time you are staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

STAYED FOR 10 NIGHTS FOR MY DAUGHTERS GRADUATION 10 minutes walk to everywhere .the staff were realy friendly and helpful .the food is good both at breakfast and in the restaurant .the room was spotless and the bed comfortable.they have wifi free downstairs but it is charged in the rooms .the pool steam room were great .we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return soon .

Room Tip: the view from the 11 floor is magic right across to the mersey
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Gill E

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and your kind words, it is very much appreciated! I am happy to hear that you had a good time and we look forward to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights whilst attending the Usher concert,

The location is central, about 10 minutes walk from Liverpool One \ Local nightlife, and approx 10-15 minutes walk from the Train station.

Facilities within the hotel are very good, the pool although small is very well looked after and a nice temperature, The gym is basic but has the weights that you need for a good tone up session

The only down part was that the fire alarm went off at 3:30am one morning but that was more down to drunken guests then any Hotel error,

Overall would recommend and stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Ryan Y

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience of the fire alarm going off but I am glad to hear it was a false alarm. We hope to welcome you back again to Novotel Liverpool Centre. Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night whilst visiting the docks and Anfield Stadium. It is a perfect location, just a 10 minute walk to the docks and a 15 minutes drive to the football stadium. There was a slight problem on check-in, but the receptionist was very pleasant and rectified the problem for us. We were eventually allocated out 2 interconnecting rooms, which were spacious, clean and ideal for a family of 2 adults and 2 children. My children used the swimming pool (it was too cold for me!!), and there is also a small gym. We ate at a lovely French bistro down the road, on our return back to the hotel, my husband and I would have liked a nice floater liquor coffee to finish off our evening, however not one of the bar/ restaurant staff knew how to make one? This was a little disappointing, so we made do with an instant coffee in our room (loss of income for the hotel!). Breakfast was fine (although I believe the bacon was pre-cooked and re-heated - not so good!!), and the mushrooms, beans and scrambled egg were all just luke warm. I would probably go with the cold buffet option next time which looked lovely. We would definately stay at The Novotel Liverpool again for a short stay. One final point, you park your car in the public car park very close by (safe car park), obtain a discount voucher from the reception, the cost is then £9.50 for 24hrs. Hope we can have our 'floater coffees' next time we visit!!!

Room Tip: Their interconnecting rooms are perfect for families, look for their special family offers also, gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Helen S

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed Liverpool and all it has to offer. I am sorry there was some confusion with your reservation but I am pleased to hear it was solved at your satisfaction. With regards to the floater coffee I have to be honest to tell you I also never heard of it but when I googled it, it seems that it is another word for Irish Coffee and of course we know how to make this. I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy your floater but next time just ask for an Irish Coffee and I am sure you will be served one! Our buffet breakfast is an extended hot and cold buffet breakfast which is sold as one package. We look forward to welcome you back! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is very luxurious, we stayed in an executive suite for one night and found the experience wonderful. It is located next door to the Liverpool One so everything is within easy walking distance. The staff were helpful and pleasant and the room was very clean and spacious with a very large comfy bed and double shower. At £220 a night it is maybe a little expensive and i would have liked the car park to be free but i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Alex S

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards,
Maurice Abel, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Address: 40 Hanover St / Gradwell Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.