We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Printwork Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Printwork Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Printwork Hotel
13 Renshaw Street, Liverpool L1 2SA, England (Formerly The Renshaw Hotel) (Central Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 63 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Liversedge
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Senior married couple.
Booked through late rooms (£48 per night per room), although the Hotel had similar rates for late booking.
Stopped 24/10/12, going to a show.
Excellent modern room, courteous staff. Hotel has own secure parking at rear. Ring them for details.
Very close to Liverpool one and all amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the street. We were in 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    44
    16
    10
    15
See reviews for
14
47
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed with my partner, 3 year old and few weeks old baby. We knew they had no cot facility when we booked but they said we'd be fine to take our own. They moved us to a room on the first floor when we arrived so we'd only have to carry the pram up one flight of stairs without us even asking.

Had a triple room which was great and modern and very spacious. Stayed for two nights mid week and had no complaints. No breakfast available mid week but plenty of places to grab breakfast nearby.

Must mention the very, very helpful staff. I don't know her name but the cleaning lady was lovely, remembered my daughters name and would talk to her each morning. Also very helpful by helping her down the stairs while I was carrying bags.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

hot room so they got us a fan. Nothing was too much trouble, v friendly and v Liverpool in their approach to customer service. I like that they kept smiling and being generally lovely- the last manager at the bar. Made a very relaxed atmosphere for drinking. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed for 1 night (saturday) as we were going the Empire theatre which is a 5 minute walk away.
first impressions were good, the lady on reception very polite and welcoming.
Our room was 206 (level 2) no lift but not too far to go, so that wasn't a problem.
On entry into the room we thought its not bad but soon noticed a few problems, 1, no heating (aircon unit not heating the room even though i selected a high temperature) then found the portable electric heater under the desk. not really what you'd expect for £120 a night.
2, damp patches on walls and ceilings. 3, mould around the shower enclosure. 4, small blood stain on carpet. 5, only about 75% of the lighting fixtures work.
Apart from those issues the bed was comfortable, room pretty clean and tv worked.
however at 3:00am the neighbouring guests arrived and basically argued, shouted and slammed doors till about 6:00am. phoned reception and he did investigate and have a word with them on a number of occasions however they didn't really cease. told reception on check out but they didn't seem that concerned or apologetic.
anyway £120 is far too overpriced and we would not stop here at that price again. half that then maybe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Printwork from 5-7 October for a concert in the Echo.
Hotel is brilliantly located within a 10-15 minute walking distance of Liverpool One and the Dock.
Initially booked a "double/twin" room specifying that we wanted a double after being told to by the third party site. Arrived around 8.30 standing for approx 10 minutes for the receptionist to stop talking. Restaurant was deserted and hotel quiet. Checked in with hardly a word spoken by the receptionist, not told about breakfast, anything.
Room was two VERY small single beds (I am 5ft 2 and my legs met the end of the bed) but tastefully decorated apart from the large leak patch on the bay window. The TV in the room was very poor: the reception was very poor.
Informed the night manager apart the room problem who said he didn't know what to do and would refer it to the powers-that-be in the mornin. Unfortunately this didn't happen but since we were leaving early Sunday there was no point.
Coming back from shopping on Saturday one of the entrances to the hotel was unavailable. We had to walk through the (empty) restaurant and decided to get a drink. Waitress took 10 mins to serve us and then wandered off to fix a room. I deducted from this that the hotel was obviously short staffed and the remaining staff were struggling to keep up.
We also noticed that there was a LOT of laundry piled up in a corner behind the main stairs. There was no (to my knowledge) lift access.
Despite advertised there was no Internet access either.
We had an early flight on the Sunday morning and when we arrived down the stairs we noticed a large bottle of vodka and coke sitting on the receptionists area. Not sure if it was his, but he was very unhelpful at checkout and showed NO customer service whatsoever. I know that this is a "Boutique 24 hr hotel" but I would like to think some customer service would be present at any time of checking in or out.
The outside of the hotel was very dirty looking obviously being occupied by the passing drunks and needed power washing and brushing.
Very disappointed overall but with a bit of luck/help it could be a great business/weekend package hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The place itself isn't from the outside the most glamourous, however once you enter your room it's beautiful.
Very sheek, and had an almost boutique like feel, however, the beds were the absolute pits. You could actually feel the springs rubbing into your ribs. Highly uncomfortable, only thing we could think of doing was sleeping on top of the douvet as a light layer between us and the bed springs.

if the hotel improved its beds I would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Booked this hotel as a last minute deal for a night out with my boyfriend, we paid £43 on the day which for that price the hotel was fine, but if we'd have paid full price I would not be happy! The room is very modern and the decor was nice, until you looked closer, blood stains on the carpet, no remote for the air con which no one could help with, and few lights worked! Without the air con the room was very hot so we had to sleep with the window open which can be a little noisy (not good with a hangover) but if you get the hotel on a late deal then it's a pretty good deal :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Printwork Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Printwork Hotel

Address: 13 Renshaw Street, Liverpool L1 2SA, England (Formerly The Renshaw Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your The Printwork Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Printwork Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.