We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value close to the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Roscoe House to your Saves list
Roscoe House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value close to the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I've used Roscoe House many times when staying over for work and I wouldn't be able to find anywhere more convenient, reasonably priced, and of better value. If you're looking for hot and cold running waiting staff then this isn't the place for you, but if you want to be close enough to the city to enjoy it, have a comfortable, secure base, and to pay a fair price then I'm not sure you'll do better. The rooms are good, the staff are great, and Dory's is just around the corner for a bacon sandwich in the morning.

Room Tip: Best not to go for the ground floor as it can be a little noisy with people coming in the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    72
    54
    35
    40
See reviews for
38
119
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last week, and we found the staff to be lovely and light, none of this stuffed up, the room was vary clean as my wife went around with her finger yer she watches the tv shows, and there was no dust, the bed was so nice to sleep in and there was no noise, I even had the window open. so if u like a 1 night stop I say yes take it, but if u like to stay longer I say mmm they will do food for breakfast ( cont. only) but u have to have it in your room and for me that's a no no. I would like to see a more up to date paint on the walls and the windows facing to back and in the bath room working as the only way I kept window open was with a can, the glass had a crack and it bath room window needed sorting out. but I will still say it was 1 of the best night sleep I had a hotel, and ive stayed in a few.

Room Tip: any room here would be good as on a quite road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights recently in their apartments as hotel fully booked. The area looked a bit run down but the apartment was very clean and comfortable and closer to the town centre than the hotel....a 5-7 minute stroll, but off track for revellers passing so very quiet.There were 4 of us in the 2 bed apartment and as my daughter and fiancé would be out later at night than us, they gave us an extra set of keys. Staff friendly and helpful.
Couldn't fault it at all and we had a really relaxing weekend. The cost was very reasonable indeed, the ritz it aint but it was extremely homely with modern décor, comfy sofas and flat screen tv etc. Kitchen even had inbuilt fridge/freezer.
Would recommend it more highly but don't want it to be booked out when we go back. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was booked by friend so did not see any of the previous reviews until i was told where we was staying. I was apprehensive before going but once there things were better than expected. We had 2 rooms,one in the basement which wasnt that bad. Rooms were very big esspecially the upstairs room,clean and comfortable. Hotel is a large Victorian I think house with very high ceilings making the rooms much bigger. 5 minute walk to the city centre,train station with plenty of shops nearby. Breakfast is continental and needs to be ordered the night before otherwise you don't get anything and have to find a local cafe and pay out of your own money,only downside. Didn't see a bar at hotel but we didn't spend alot of time there anyway. My friend was slightly disappointed with the hotel we got as he booked with Expedia a 4 star hotel and you do not know the name of the hotel until you have paid. Although this is suppose to work out cheaper,we paid £80 per room per night? We was expecting 4 star facilities like a bar,swimming pool maybe,this was more like a 3 star b&b.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Alfiespringer,

Thank you for your Review and i am glad you here the Guest Accommodation was better than expected, Roscoe House Is an Grade 2 Listed Georgian town house, We our 4 Star Guest Accommodation as we don't have hotel facilities such as Bars or Restaurants. We pride ourselves in offering Clean,Quality accommodation in the in the center of Liverpool.
We do offer Continental breakfast but at an addition charge of £5.95 served to the room upon request the night before.
Hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Nice hotel, but very hard to find on the street, parking was far away and it was pouring with rain, as we booked in we were asked to fill in breakfast form, dont like this, also didnt like eating breakfast in our room, hotel lacked atmosphere,

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Only 52,

Thank you for taking the time to Review Roscoe House, Sorry to hear you found it hard to find us on Rodney St, unfortunately as a Listed building we have to keep in keeping with the original features of the building and street. As we our Guest Accommodation we do not have a dinning room and only can offer Continental breakfast severed to the room.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

On the off chance we booked this as a very last minute booking, it was a fantastic hotel, spacious rooms and value for money. Its central to the City about 10 minutes walk to the local amenities. Will be returning later this year and not just for one night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Pros - central location; polite welcoming staff; dog friendly; large family room

Cons - misleading promotion as actual room standard did not match "quality" images on website (empty condom wrapper down side of bed - had fun explaining that one to my 12 year old son!); window opened 1/2" only; peeling paint and very "tired" en suite & kitchen facilities

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roscoe House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roscoe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.