We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cheap but busy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moon & Pea

The Moon & Pea
64 Lark Lane | Sefton Park, Liverpool L17 8UU, England (Sefton Park)
0151 727 3403
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 1,123 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sefton Park
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cosy cheap but busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had breakfast at the moon and pea and were exceptionally surprised at the determination of customers to wait for a seat in a very cosy, busy cafe style restaurant. The food was excellent quality and value, highly recommended. The downside was the fact that the waiting customers crowded those already seated, it was so busy in such a small space you could barely hear each other and they don't accept cards. Looking forward to visiting again, but a little conscious of it being crowded and may not be able to get a table.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    88
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you don't love it here, then you are tired of eating!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous food

Salt n Pepper chicken burger was delicious yet I had envy when my mums chicken Caeser salad came!

Really delicious and really reasonable, only chubby gripe is that I'd like a couple more chips with the burger please!

The staff here are magnifico!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We live in the area and frequently visit the moon and pea, the service and food are both excellent. We highly recommend a visit, as all of our friends that we have taken love it too. p.s the cheesecake is wonderful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Went as a group with 2 young kids in the early afternoon, the staff were really friendly and accommodating. Great food in a chilled out and fun atmosphere. We go here as a couple in the evening quite a lot, really enjoy the acoustic nights

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went last weekend with some friends. Having heard good things about the place we were looking forward to have lunch there. The place is nice and cosy and it was busy but that's about it. The service was very slow and not friendly at all but the worst thing was the food. I had never had such a bad burger, stale bread and tasteless meat. One our friends had the sea bass which he liked, but none of the rest liked the burgers. Overall I don't see why people like it and I don't think we will come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moon & Pea also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Moon & Pea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moon & Pea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.