We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much posh as shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Posh Pads at the Casartelli

Save Saved
You added Posh Pads at the Casartelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posh Pads at the Casartelli
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16-20 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4AA, England (Formerly The Casartelli)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 hotels in Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not so much posh as shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Although the place was clean, it wasn't immaculate. The furniture was cheap ikea products that were chipped and past their best. Overall the place was pretty shabby considering the name.
It did have two bathrooms but I felt this wasn't really needed for a one bed apartment

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    71
    41
    11
    11
See reviews for
65
113
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willenhall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I booked three apartments as part of a Hen Doo weekend in Liverpool, and the apartments really set the tone of the weekend! They are classy, modern and funky, and made me look like the best Bridesmaid ever! Towels, tea & coffee, and cleaning stuff is all there ready for you, which most times is not the case when staying self catering. Our apartment had two floors which gave the feeling of staying somewhere special, and the staff were super firendly, giving us directions and advice on where to go. The location is perfect for exploring Liverpool - it is right in the middle of everything! Saying that, there were no issues with traffic noise when trying to sleep, and we didn't hear any noise from any other rooms during our stay. The decor is fresh with a big TV and all the mod-cons in the kitchen

The only negative I can find is the parking. It's right on the corner of the building and down an extremely steep ramp. Getting down was hairy but getting up was even worse. Waiting on that incline with 4 other girls in the car and a full boot while the security gates slowly opened.... I swear my life flashed before my eyes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here twice now and would not hesitate to return again - love the decor the location and the staff. We eere upgraded yo the penthouse apartment and I was amaxed by the views the beautiful layout - it seemed a shame to go out !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Planned a special Weekend away with my boyfriend on arrival it took 5 hrs for the room to be cleaned and ready. We paid for a two bedroom apartment and they locked the en suite room so we only had one bedroom. The bath only had hot water working so u had to wait ages for it to cool down, asked reception about the cold tap but they just brushed it off and never looked at it then on the final night the wall mounted tv fell off the wall narrowly missing me while I was packing, lucky my boyfriend caught it in time. The staff denied it had happened before however u can see its been plastered over before and we only got a mere apology in return!
Overall the decor of the Beatles apartment appeared dirty with lots of marks and scratches for a 5 star place and the price u pay its very disappointing and ruined the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madcat7, Owner at Posh Pads at the Casartelli, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are always concerned when a guest does not enjoy their stay with us and as a rule we welcome all constructive criticism. In this instance I have investigated the guests’ grievances and I am not at all happy with the review she posted.
She complained of waiting for 5 hours for her apartment to be made available yet our check in time is 3pm as clearly stated in our terms of conditions. Guests do not have to check out until 11am, so this 4 hour window is vital to us to ensure that the apartment is made ready for the next arrival. Clearly, if you arrive before lunch, then it is unlikely that your apartment will be ready.
This guest paid for a 1 bedroom apartment and so naturally the ensuite bedroom was locked off.
As for the other issues, faulty television & cold water tap, the guest was compensated and received a full apology from our manager. Customer care is a priority at Posh Pads and whilst I accept we were not perfect in this instance, I feel most of this lady’s complaints have little merit. If she was so unhappy, why then does she want to return ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just got back from a night here, and it was superb. Excellent top floor penthouse apartment with large outdoor balcony, two bedrooms and large kitchen dining area and living space.
Fluffy bathrobes were in the bedroom, very comfy beds and extremely well appointed and modern kitchen. Noise was not an issue for us.
Very clean throughout and we loved it.
The location is perfect for everything being a gentle 5 minute stroll to the docks and a similar distance from the restaurants and buzz around Bold Street.
We were sad to leave and will definitely be returning, its just a case of how soon we can go back!

Room Tip: Go for top floor Presidential suite - apartment 18. Its the only one on the top floor and has A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here August bank holiday weekend, in one of the pent house apartments (31) with a group of friends, who visit Liverpool quite often. This was by far the best place to stay in Liverpool! From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by friendly staff. Check in was efficient and we was Impressed with the local knowledge of the staff! The apartment was classy! Furnished to an impressively high standard, spotlessly clean and the location meant no sore feet after a night out!
Service was fantastic even the after hours security were cool! thanks to Katie the manager and everyone at posh pads for ensuring a memorable weekend....thumbs up guys! X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The name says it all fantastic location (that can not be beat)we are in the penthouse and its superb fantastic balcony superb bedrooms an kitchen omg this is the coolest apartment by far absolutely lovin it . Defo one try 5star without a doubt

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Posh Pads at the Casartelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posh Pads at the Casartelli

Address: 16-20 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4AA, England (Formerly The Casartelli)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#18 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Posh Pads at the Casartelli 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in 1760, this multi-million painstakingly detailed rebuild of one of Liverpool's most well known landmarks is now complete and offers just 31 opportunities to live in its opulent living space. Whether it is a getaway to Liverpool, a romantic weekend with a loved one, business meeting, or a home-away-from-home, The Casartelli's accommodating management team will make your stay in one of the worlds most memorable cities an experience to remember. We look forward to welcoming you to your posh pad soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Posh Pads at the Casartelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posh Pads At The Casartelli Hotel Liverpool

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Posh Pads at the Casartelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.