We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food miserable waiters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia Liverpool

Bella Italia Liverpool
39 Ranelagh Street, Liverpool L1 1JP, England
0151 707 2121
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #596 of 1,209 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $50 - $198
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Housed in the centre of Liverpool, close to both Lime Street station and the Clayton Square Shopping Centre, Bella Italia is favoured by many. The Bella Italia restaurant group has certainly combined all the right ingredients to create a successful brand, with branches popping up consistently all over the country. Warm, stylish yet rustic style interiors are the trademark design of Bella Italia and this Liverpool outlet stays faithful to the style. The menu features well cooked, traditional Italian recipes such as beef and pork meatballs in tomato sauce atop a bed of spaghetti or chargrilled chicken breast with roasted veg and new potatoes. Bella Italia is great for families, couples and groups of friends alike and is open from breakfast through to lunch and dinner.
Wirral
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food miserable waiters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I eat in this place quite often because its by my office. The food is always good - and that's why I keep going back. Its also very reasonable. The service is always hit and miss though and the waiters do tend to be on the miserable side, but for good Italian food you could do far worse. Décor is very dated and if they saw to that and employed waiters who could smile and had a little banter, it would be even better.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    90
    79
    73
    90
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to Bella Italia in Liverpool for an evening meal before going to the Theatre. Because the restaurant was so busy we asked about waiting times as we didnt want to miss our show. The waiter served us straight away and brought out our food with in 15 mins so we could make it on time. The meal was very tasty and enjoyable! Great quality food at reasonable prices. The restaurant often has promotional offers and deals which is also good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Work dinner out- pretty decent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Place was very busy, good sign. Service was good food arrived quickly. Food was so so, not bad but nothing special at all. I thought pretty good value for main meal really. It's nothing special at all but if your after an early tea I would probably go again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“rubbish food & very poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

arrived at the bella italia with my partner today 18/11/2012,wasn't very busy plenty of tables but the waiter didn't seem to know were to put us ,then said were would you like to sit ,we picked the nearest table which was dirty ,he said he would send somebody over to clean it ,nobody came so we asked another waiter to clean it for us,waited another 15 mins before are order was taken not by the waiter who showed us the table dont know why,then i saw him clearing away a table that had just been vacated by 2 girls who left there food & being asked by another customer to change a americano for the 2nd time which was cold,we ordered are food and 30mins later it arrived,my what a plate of uncooked pasta i recieved i sent it back with my partners pasta which was so cold it looked & felt like it was made the day before,after complaining the duty manager arrived & said sorry ,by this time we vhad wasted over 1 hour in a restaurant that was quiet now i know why,will not be going anywere near this place the food 7 service was rubbish ,not a nice experience at all,there is far better places than this so avoid this place like the plague you have been warned!!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very poor service, horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We spent my boyfriends birthday in liverpool and decided to have some proper dinner for the last day we were there. Restaurant seemed nice and was busy too which is usually a good sign. We got a small table, waitress came over and took orders. My boyfriend is diabetic so we asked for diet coke but we got regular coke. Tried to ask our waitress for changing it, but she didn't really bother about the table, she had great fun with other members of staff. When I went to the bar to get a diet coke, i was told only our waitress can get drinks from there. So i went chasing her, and asked her for diet coke (i was drinking my boyfriends coke, he was drinking my water), and she started to give out it must be diet, maybe i just don't feel the difference because of the gas in it...She eventually got us a diet coke. Food was horrible, we both had pasta, that wasn't cooked properly, big pieces stuck together remaining uncooked. Asked for the bill, our waitress didn't even bother bringing it, eventually another waiter printed it for us.On the bill there was 1 diet coke and one regular coke...Very disappointing all together, wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia Liverpool also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Bella Italia Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.