We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An intimate setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Puschka

Puschka
16 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 2TE, England (Central Liverpool)
0151 7088698
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 1,157 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: $29 - $54
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Central Liverpool
Description: Puschka opened in an old Georgian town house at 16 Rodney Street on the edge of Liverpool's Georgian quarter in 2001 and is one of only a handful of independent restaurants in the city. “With its cosy cushions and wonderful food & service, this funky bohemian restaurant is the kind of place that you do not want to leave”. The Guardian: 'Best Places to Eat in England'.
Codsall, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An intimate setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A small an intimate area but with a quiet and informal atmosphere. The food is of excellent quality and not expensively priced. We were not rushed and the waitress was happy to give us a pause between courses when we asked. A memorable evening one of the highlights of our visit to Liverpool.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    88
    41
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful food, intimate setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Don't be put off by the interior (looks slightly cafe like). Every course was exceptionally well cooked and tasted fantastic, great wine, and the cucumber water was most refreshing. Very friendly and helpful staff, what a lovely evening we had. Look forward to returning for another visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Scatter cushion delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The walls are pink, there are scatter cushions lazily cast around the bench seats and they are playing a slowed down smooth FM version of Britney Spears Toxic, which is way better then the original. It all feels right. For starter I have the Bury Black Pudding 'Bubble & Squeak, beautifully presented and tasty my partner has Baked Goats Cheese which again is well presented, fresh slices of warm soda bread collected in a small bread tin. Our mains are the beef, chestnut, mushroom & Guinness cobbler with root veg mash, again delicious and well presented. Desert for me is dark chocolate truffle moose with orange ice cream, every mouth full is a sheer delight, I'm physically removing thin layers of silver from the desert spoon, my partner has the steamed ginger pudding which again is delicious.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Having read good reviews online we decided to give Puschka a go.
Great food from the well priced early bird menu and the atmosphere was just right in the small restaurant. Would definitely visit again!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service - early bird menu a bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here on a Thurs eve. Came early (530pm) to try their early bird menu - 3 courses and a glass of wine for £19.90.

Loved the choices so had three gorgeous courses - the chocolate mousse and orange ice cream was to die for, the Hake main perfectly cooked.
Very good house white and red, and reasonable price per glass if you carry on drinking :)

My husband enjoyed the Cains raisin ale.

Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puschka also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Puschka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puschka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.