We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is it a five star or guest house ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte House to your Saves list
Charlotte House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Is it a five star or guest house ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Having booked a superior suite and reserved a secure parking space, we arrived to find a young lady on her own behind the bar, who was also the receptionist. The secure parking area is very limited and she knew nothing of the reservation.

The room is plush and the bed was fantastic. Best nights sleep in a long time. The hotel is nicely situated for the Castle and restaurants in the Bail Gate area. There were no staff on site except the young lady, who was to-ing and fro-ing from the bar to the reception office. A little annoying when you have to chase around the building for service. At 11 pm she goes and all doors are locked, so no service at all !!

Is it a five star or very expensive guest house?

Room Tip: I suspect all rooms are good and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, Reception Managment Team at Charlotte House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was overall positive and that your suite was comfortable and to your liking.

We do have limited car parking available outside of the hotel and in the adjacent public car park; however, we are unable to reserve spaces as it does work on a first come first served basis. This is stated in our booking confirmation which is why the lady on reception may have been confused with regards to your reserved space. Requests for parking are always welcome and we do try our utmost to fit as many cars in as possible on any given evening.

Charlotte House is a bespoke experience surrounded by 8 acres of landscaped gardens, allowing guests to relax and unwind in the Cathedral Quarter of Lincoln. With 14 unique bedrooms we offer luxury accommodation with an individual twist. Due to the small amount of bedrooms we offer, 24 hour reception is considered unwarranted, however, we do provide all guests with an out of hours telephone number which is contactable in the event of an emergency and after reception closes at 11pm. The team members at Charlotte House are multi-trained to undertake duties in all areas which does include reception and the lounge bar. I am pleased that the member of staff in question assisted you in a professional, helpful manner, however, I will investigate as to why she may have been on her own at that point, as we do usually have at least 2 members of staff available at all times.

Thank you again for your review and we do hope that should you return to Lincoln you will come and stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    60
    28
    25
    23
See reviews for
40
126
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My daughter and I hadn't booked, but the lovely lady at reception found us a room. It was a junior suite, with its own little hall and separate lounge. The lounge had comfortable leather chairs and sofa and a large TV. The bedroom also had a TV and the beds were comfortable.

Other reviewers have complained about the noise from weddings. There was a wedding on both nights we stayed but the music stopped at 11:30 and even before that it was barely noticeable. Maybe we were lucky, as we were on the top floor.

The staff at reception couldn't have been more helpful. The first young lady carried my bags up the 2 flights of stairs, and the one later that day arranged to add sheets to our beds as the duvets were far too hot for the sticky night.

The hotel is very close to the historic part of town, right under the castle walls. It doesn't have a restaurant, and the bar was closed to guests because of the weddings, but the staff looked up restaurants for us when we wanted to find particular cuisine, and gave us clear directions.

There is lots of parking, but it costs 5 pound per day as the car park is a public one.

Room Tip: Room 14 is quiet, even if there are weddings being held at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, Reception Managment Team at Charlotte House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was a positive one and that our staff left a welcoming impression. Providing first class customer service is of paramount importance at Charlotte House as we feel that providing a friendly, warm welcome and goodbye, ensures guests leave us feeling relaxed and enthusiastic about their stay.

We agree that our location is superb, being surrounded by some fantastic independent bars and restaurants means our guests never have to go far to sample some delicious food and beverages. We are also lucky to be located so close to the Castle and the Cathedral, just a few minutes’ walk and guests can soak up the history and culture of Lincoln.

Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards
Sian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was our second visit to the Charlotte House, and we have enjoyed our stay on both occasions.
Really nicely furnished suites, big comfortable beds, clean bathrooms with big showers.
The cooked breakfast was all local produce, perfectly cooked and not too greasy.
There was a function on downstairs, but our room was on the top floor and we did not hear any noise.
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B, Reception Managment Team at Charlotte House, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is lovely to hear that your second stay was a positive as the first, and that you would return to Charlotte House should you visit Lincoln again.

Repeat guests like yourselves are our greatest achievement and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards
Sian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a nice room and friendly people, but we stayed two nights midweek and there were weddings both days. This meant that the restaurant and bar were shut, and the noise of the weddings - loud music and clearing up afterwards kept us awake til gone midnight. Not really value for money in the circumstances. I would suggest you do not stay if there is a wedding booked for any of your nights and you are not part of the wedding party.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerch, Head Receptionist at Charlotte House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I am sorry you where disappointed with some aspects of your stay.
We are a venue that does many functions, but wherever possible we do inform guests that there is a function on during their stay. If the event has exclusive use then this does mean the bar is not available for other guests. We do not offer restaurant facilities here at the House even when we do not have a function, as we are lucky enough to be in an area which has many good quality bars and restaurants with in walking distance.
Once again thank you for taking the time, we do appreciate all feed back that we receive.

Kindest Regards

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lagos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I am sorry to say that this hotel was a total disappointment.The only positive side was the friendly reception ladies.
The hotel is adverised as a Boutique Hotel which it most cerainly is not.The first thing you notice is the unpleasant smell on the bedroom floors.The furnishing are a mixture of heavy dark wood and black synthetic leather furniture.There were plant pots in various places that no one has watered for long time.
It was apparent that there is no direct management interest,I was told the manageress was only there Monday to Thursday. it seems that the Hotel are mainly concerned with their public rooms for wedding receptions.
My wife and I were booked for two nights too long.We will not recommend this hotel

Room Tip: No recomendation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerch, Head Receptionist at Charlotte House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

I was very sad and surprised to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
Its unfortunate that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion and I must apologise for this.
We have investigated the smell and this has now been dealt with.
I think the furniture is down to personal taste and I am sorry you did not like it.
The plants in question where in an area which was difficult to reachand have now been disposed of, are other plants in reception and around the ground floor, I am happy to say are thriving.
I am not sure where the information regarding the Manageress has come from but I can assure you that a member of management is always available on request and that our Manageress is here most weekends.
I would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, it is through such comments that we can try and maintain the standards to which are guests have come to expect.
Once again I am sorry you where disappointed with your stay.

Kindest Regards

Sue Newall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for one night and were greeted by the very friendly and welcoming owner. The let us park for the day (even though you have to pay for parking at the hotel!) while we explored and returned to check in later in the afternoon. The room was nice, but for the money we paid, it should have been better. It's the little attention to detail which lets it down. Things like: There were only two rooms used in the hotel, but we were put next to each other so when you opened the window, you could see and hear both rooms. The untidy and plain throw over the bed (the white sheets look better). To see the TV you need to unplug and move the coffee and tea machine. The breakfast was nice, but because the plates were so hot it overcooked the eggs and made it a bit unpleasant and not worth the extra £20 each for it. There's a very odd smell in the hotel which some reviews have already mentioned.

We found the staff very friendly and helpful. This could be a fantastic hotel, but we found it's the little things that make the stay just OK.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite. Avoid weddings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerch, Head Receptionist at Charlotte House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am really sorry for the disappointment you experienced with your recent stay with us.
I am a little confused as to what happened so I would like to take the opportunity in speaking with you directly, especially with regards to breakfast I am aware of only a charge of £9.50 per person being made for breakfast, so I would like to ascertain as to why you where charge £20 per person.
As I am unsure as to when you stayed or in which room, could I ask that you contact us directly.
Kindest Regards

Sue
Head Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Runton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Charlotte House for one night on 29th May 2013. I can't believe that the review from another guest was for the same night. it was booked as a surprise for me, to include a suite.....my partner had had an email from the hotel after he'd booked it, saying that there was a wedding on that night and so we wouldn't be able to have dinner there. Fine, as we were going to eat out anyway. When we checked in (which was early, and they were helpful about that), they explained that as there was a wedding going on, our suite would be the noisiest in the whole hotel, as it was right over "the music", and they apologised, and offered us the choice of either putting up with the noise until 11.30 pm that night, or moving to an ordinary double.......They also said that they don't do dinner either, which seemed odd after the email we'd had. Anyway, we chose the ordinary double, after looking at both rooms, as the suite would obviously be unbearably noisy. It was also obvious that the double would still be noisy, as there was only a hallway between us and the wedding reception, but that seemed slightly better. The room was fine - there are five stars painted on the outside wall of the hotel, so that was a nice decorative touch:-) They obviously only charged us for the double, not the suite, and threw in free parking and breakfast, but reading other reviews, that seems to be fairly common..... There was also a strange smell in the public areas of the hotel, but it was raining very hard, and I think it could be a local problem? We slept very well eventually, but the noise was terrible until the music stopped......breakfast was fine, including very nice fresh berries. Basically, why on earth didn't they just block the suite booking in the first place? They must have known that they had a wedding booked for some time beforehand - I think our booking was made about two - three weeks ago, and my partner was very disappointed that it wasn't anything like as nice as he had planned.....not his fault at all! But they have loads of weddings - I think there were three more on the next three days- and so it is a very common problem. Fine if you are part of the wedding and/or like loud music when you are trying to sleep, or even just talk to each other in the bedroom......

Room Tip: Check what else is going on at the hotel that night.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managerch, Head Receptionist at Charlotte House, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion, as we have explained to you directly.

Regards

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Address: The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. Surrounded by 8 acres of landscaped gardens, the lawn complex also houses the Sir Joseph Banks tropical conservatory with its extensive collection of exotic plants and water features, and John Dawber gardens. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there’s something to suit everyone’s taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.