We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expect fast food style dining quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pomodoro E Basilico

Pomodoro E Basilico
12 Guildhall Street, Lincoln, England
01522 511811
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 366 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Expect fast food style dining quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went to Pomodoro E Basilico today, looking for somewhere for a quick family lunch and attracted by the surprising value of 3.95 per person. We didn't order from that menu, because when you sit down and look at the menu, there is just one option at that price per day. The interior is contemporary - aiming for upmarket. The service is good. But despite the interior, and the good service, the food was disappointing. Nothing Italian about it, only in name. If your'e not a foodie, then the price is right. Not for those who are looking for quality italian food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    63
    24
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Worst Italian Food I've ever tasted. Its fine when you want something cheap and you are very hungry. Don't expect much taste and quality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Watch out for "bargains"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were attracted by the "lunch time special" (£3.95 for a main) but the fact they wrote "margarita" pizza instead of margherita should be already be a warning that of Italian, such a place, had only the sign.

At the entrance we were quite welcome and greeted by a waitress who let us sit to a nice table. The ambient is nice and well presented, nothing to complain.

We asked the waiter what was on the lunchtime menu and we were told that the available options were the margherita pizza and mushroom risotto so we went for both.

after a minute the waiter let us know that the mushroom risotto wasn't available but the special of the day was penne all'arrabbiata (that according to the Italian tradition they allegedly try to respect is purely vegetarian) . We asked confirmation whether that was vegetarian but the "masterchef" who designed the menus decided to put some pepperoni in it so we decided for 2 margherita pizza.

What a disgrace! The alleged "stone baked pizza made with only local ingredients" was nothing else but a well round frozen discount pizza! Slightly burnt and chunky. Not the stone-baked pizza we were expecting at all! (generally the lunch discounts are a sort of compromise between restaurants and customers for good prices for food... not in this case!)

This is the worst restaurant ever! misleading and certainly not worth any money! we left as soon as finished.

For that money get a better pizza to Aldi and you're sure will spend less and don't feel ripped off!
It might be better deal if you get one of the other dishes but I won't be taking the chance or approach that restaurant even with a 2 metres pole.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalville, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Back on form”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We used to visit Pomodoro regularly but on the last couple of visits both the food and the service were quite poor. So we hadn't been there for a couple of months when just after Christmas we decided to give it another try at lunchtime. I'm pleased to say that it was back to its best. It's never going to be an authentic Italian restaurant but the pasta and pizza dishes that we had were of very good quality. Service was excellent from a team of young staff who were unfailingly polite, helpful and smiling despite the restaurant being packed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Always do a nice lunch here. Service good, food good and nice setting. Value for money. Best to book for dinner though as its busy on a weekend

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro E Basilico also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Pomodoro E Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pomodoro E Basilico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.