We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value for money in a city packed with restaurants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thailand Number One

Thailand Number One
80-81 Bailgate, Lincoln, England
01522-537000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 383 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Aylesford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Superb value for money in a city packed with restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable. My wife and I popped in during Monday lunch hour. The large mirrors were disconcerting as the place appeared much larger. I bit into something in the spicy soup and my mouth caught fire. I couldn't believe the chilli would cause so much pain. The food though was excellent as was the staff. A couple of cold beers. All in all, very good value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    88
    46
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fantastic as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Me and my husband visited there on Saturday night for my birthday. It was beautiful. The restaurant was busy but our table was ready even though we were early. We got served promptly and didn't have long to wait. One of our main dishes had scallops in and we were both surprised about the amount you got. Usually we have found in the past you only get a couple in other restaurants. It was a fantastic meal and we would recommend it to anyone who likes full flavoured food restaurants but there was loads in this espionage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“mis-selling menu. be careful if you have allergies/dietary requests”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Long story short, when ordering from the vegetarian options available be warned that some of the dishes contain fish sauce.
this is information is not present on the menu and the waiter didn't look concerned at all that "a little of fish sauce" was used in the preparation of the food.
I am not sure about the other options available and the dishes they claim to be GM free or nuts free. We left the restaurant soon after finding out this naive approach to food and I personally don't feel like going back to the restaurant at least until i'm pretty sure they take dietary needs with the due seriousness and professionalism.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Closing time?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are regular clients of Thai Number 1 in Nottingham and the food and customer service are excellent. With this in mind we decided to eat at the Lincoln branch on a recent visit there. We checked the website to locate the restaurant and check the opening hours and arrived at the restaurant at 2pm.
We were greeted with the information that as they close at 2.30pm we could only have a main course. The 2 course set lunch would not be available. This was unexpected as this has never been a problem in Nottingham. We did not feel welcome and left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

As it always is, another lovely meal with excellent service. The food, wine and ambiance were all lovely

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thailand Number One also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Thailand Number One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thailand Number One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.