We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck -” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Damon's

Damon's
999 Doddington Rd, Lincoln LN61XX, England
1522-887722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #198 of 383 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yuck -”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

With so many lovely places to eat in Lincoln why eat in this dump - expensive, service less than standard & food ! Not good - people spend your money on decent quailty food/ meal - cooked by people who can cook there are plenty of places out there just avoid this one !

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    170
    154
    121
    138
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Always love Damon's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We are regular customers at Damon's even though we live far away but to drive here for a nice meal with excellent service is really worth it. Been there last time on my sister-in-law's birthday with 19 family members. The restaurant was packed and had to wait for a while even though we booked in advance but it didn't deter us. Waiting at the bar with half price cocktails/drinks and free chicken wings... what could you ask for more!! When we were seated, the waiter took order professionally and correctly when served one by one for 19 people without mistakes!! That's why we always love Damon's.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nothing like it in Lincoln, great for a treat as slightly too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I like Damon's, whether its tacky or not, it serves good food what ever you order, that is always hot and unlike restaurants close by are not microwaved dishes made earlier! I think the main reason I go back time after time is the food. Yes the decor is slightly dated and yes it is probably over priced but then there is nothing else like this within or around the city so that's what I'd expect. They do offer cheaper meals and discounts. The staff, well yes I agree they can sometime be disinterested usually it is the staff that seat you that have this attitude, the waiting staff are usually very helpful and pleasant. I would say to anyone to give Damons a try, clearly it is like Marmite, you either love it or hate it!
TIPS: Food to try - the coleslaw, the ribs and the onion loaf, OR if its a real treat the lobster! Go on your birthday but take ID-this way you get your meal free, look at the website for deals for children. Also OAP's get 25% off(again take ID)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navenby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yuk.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Decor from c1983. Bits of... something stuck to the laminated menu. Hugely expensive, almost inedible, MSG-loaded, deep fried gloop.

The evening was only partially saved by the efforts of our waiter, Ashley, who service was 1st class.

Save yourself some money by tipping 10 quid worth of Iceland party food into a deep fat fryer.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“American”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Typical american style restaurant. Food excellent particularly the ribs. Service wonderful. Good offers for birthdays, early evening and senior citizens

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Damon's also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Damon's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damon's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.