We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergoing repair and a revamp, currently disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lincoln Castle

Lincoln Castle
Castle Hill, Lincoln, England
01522 511068
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 26 Attractions in Lincoln
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built by William I, this medieval fortress houses one of the only four surviving Magna Carta signed by King John.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Undergoing repair and a revamp, currently disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Unfortunately, I was quite disappointed with our visit to Lincoln Castle. It's undergoing significant repair work to nearly half of the walls and internal buildings, so much was out of bounds. The Castle is home to one of four remaining copies of the Magna Carta, which is on display in a building in the grounds and is due to be moved to a new, custom built site within the Castle in 2015. Hopefully, much of the restoration work will be complete by then and I'd like to return to see it. As it is at the moment, it's half an attraction. The views are spectacular from the Castle walls, but there's not much else in there. Walking tours are available, I dare say that the guides will be very knowledgable of the site and area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    220
    119
    41
    26
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I wished I had more time to spend here, maybe attend a festival in the gardens! Some very interesting history and displays. Loved the prayer room for prisoners! Staff were very friendly!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lincoln Castle and grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A magnificent castle built in the later reign of William the Conqueror and for over 900 years was used as a court and prison. Today it is still used as the Crown Court. Loads of history to be found here, the cells where prisoners were kept, the chapel with its coffin like pews, where prisoners were not allowed to see each other. The Castle grounds are used for Christmas markets, weddings and musical events.

For me the best part of the Castle was actually seeing the Magana Carta , one of the four surviving originals sealed by King John in 1215 on display, the corner stone of todays democracy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed the Maga Carta display and the prison cells. Although well maintained, I thought the walk around the top of the castle mediocre compared to other views from castles we have visited. Apart from that, there was really nothing else to the castle.

I should point out, we did not take the guided tour. Thought the entry fee expensive for what was available.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Historic and pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lovely grounds within the castle walls, set in lovely uphill Lincoln. The prison and chapel are an eye-opener; and Magna Carta is worth seeing, just wish the setting was a little easier on the eye.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincoln Castle also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincoln Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincoln Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.