We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th birthday celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bronze Pig

The Bronze Pig
6 West Parade, Lincoln LN1 1JT, England
01522 524817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 366 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“60th birthday celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have just celebrated my 60th birthday at the Bronze Pig with 30 members of my family and friends. We had a wonderful and memorable evening. The food was first class, beautifully prepared and presented by Eamonn. Pompeo and Rebecca were attentive to our every need and the whole evening went very smoothly. All of my guests commented on the amazing food and the attractiveness of the venue. Thank you to all of you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We would like to thank you for selecting The Bronze Pig to celebrate your birthday with your family and friends. Your kind co-operation made our job a pleasure, and we are pleased that all went according to plan. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    21
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lincoln's best kept secret, an exquisite professional and friendly restaurant where first class service is matched by perfectly prepared and presented food. The dining experience offered by The Bronze Pig is second to none, a relaxed informal style where the table is yours for the night, no hurrying,sit back and relax. Absolutely brilliant, thanks to everyone for making my birthday so special.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Bronze Pig to celebrate your birthday. We are glad we managed to make your day a "special day" and really pleased that you think The Bronze Pig is "Simply the Best".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful welcome followed by fantastic food in this friendly bijou restaurant. Service was efficient and discrete. Quirky surroundings affording privacy to each table. A definite positive addition to the gastronomy of Lincoln. I am looking forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We thank you for dining in our restaurant and finding it to be "exquisite". Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dull”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

No entertainment whatsoever, there were a lot of middle class snobs and no conversation outside the rolling spiel of wine, which as a wine importer, my wife and I found to be inconsistent and overpriced.

Portions were pretentiously small, which is a shame, as this business seemed to offer such premise.

This is the second time we have stayed in Lincoln and I would recommend Gabby's off the High Street, avoid anything with Pig in it, unless you want to have what it says on the tin!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
It is always regretful when a customer's expectations are not met. We are however somewhat confused by your comments. We offer intimate fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere which we believe is what we deliver. There is light classical background music and we don't really understand what sort of entertainment you expected in a restaurant. Although we do talk to our diners we also are fully aware that diners come to enjoy good food and service while having at the same time some privacy which we are careful not to spoil. Hence our decision to allow generous spacing between tables.
We also fail to understand your comments about being "inconsistent" with our wine import.
We welcome all customers to our restaurant and are very careful not to judge diners in any way. We regret that we could not meet your expectations, but feel that we need to stay true to our objectives. We are however glad that you have found a restaurant that meets with your requirements when you visit our lovely city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Lincoln...by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We decided to go to The Bronze Pig for my dad's birthday after hearing all the brilliant reviews.

The first class customer service started before we even got to the restaurant - we received a call to say we had been "picked out of a hat" for a lift to and from the restaurant. At 7pm a £60K Lexus arrived and took us for our meal - this is something none of us had ever experienced before.

After we arrived and ordered our food the waiter/co-owner made an effort to explain where the wine was from and the different flavours. He also made a point of saying we had the table for the night and that we didn't have to rush.

The food was absolutely stunning- not only did it look delicious, it tasted it too! The presentation was imaculate and the flavours were matched brilliantly. Not one of us found anything to complain about with the food, and we can be tough customers!

This was probably the best restaurant experience I have ever had - from the transport picking us up and taking us home, to the exquisit wine and food and the lovely atmosphere.

I will definitley be visiting again and would recommend this restaurant very highly!!

Thank you for a great night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are glad you had a 'great night'. In conjunction with Lexus in Lincoln, we offer the service you so eloquently described, once per night to a customer. We believe it adds to the dining experience and we are pleased that you appreciated it. Thank you for sharing your experience with us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bronze Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.