We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bronze Pig

The Bronze Pig
6 West Parade, Lincoln LN1 1JT, England
01522 524817
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 363 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went to the Bronze Pig tonight for my 40th birthday. Have never eaten food so delicious. Service was superb and the food was the best i've ever eaten. An absolutely fantastic dining experience. Can't wait for my next visit. Thanks for making it a memorable night for everyone :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for coming to The Bronze Pig to celebrate your birthday. We are humbled by your review and that of the other diners that appreciate a relaxed dining experience, which is what we strive to achieve. We are delighted that the food "was the best I'have ever eaten" and that we managed to make your night a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    21
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful meal in lovely quaint surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was delicious and beautifully served. We are really looking forward to a return although we did feel that the portion where slightly on the small size if you are a big eater like my husband we would maybe order extra vegetables or something next time. My steak was cooked to perfection absolutely delicious i can honestly say it is the best food I have eaten in a restaurant for a long time well done wonderful concept x

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to share your experience at The Bronze Pig. The fillet is one of our most sought after dish and we are delighted that you found yours to be "cooked to perfection". Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely meal - menu was short and sweet and good selection of food. Wine was lovely - all 3 bottles! Atmosphere great, staff wonderful. A gem to find in a dearth of good restaurants in Lincoln, will certainly go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your dining experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the evening and will pass your comments to the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Yes - Lincoln is short of good restaurants - having read the latest reviews was hesitant in eating here this evening but have to say we were not disappointed! Food was excellent - service likewise. Initially we only expected to have an entree and main, however, the food was to such a high standard that we could not skip the opportunity of sampling the desert, which again did not disappoint. The portions were correct and not over facing.
Overall, we would not hesitate in returning to this restaurant and will recommend to all our friends.

Well Done to the Owner, Chef and Staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for deciding to dine at The Bronze Pig. We are glad our standards met with your approval and thank you for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall very disappointed with our experience here after reading so many positive reviews.

Most of the food was good, if not outstanding, but with the prices being charged the kitchen need to raise their game significantly. It simply is not good enough to take nearly 45 minutes to serve cold starters which are mainly already prepped and just need plating. Neither is it good enough to serve main courses in stages and leave half a table of 4 watching other plates of food go cold. Really basic stuff for a restaurant with obvious pretensions but unsurprising when the most entertaining thing was the open kitchen from which you could watch the head chef and a single other chef panic their way through service. Margins must be tight, the kitchen too small, or the rest of the brigade were off sick perhaps?

Maybe we visited on a particularly poor night, but at £8 for starters and deserts such nights shouldn't exist.

Had the food been as billed we might have been more willing to take it on the chin but only a couple of the dishes received serious praise from our party.

I've read another similar review where security tapes were reverted to in the restauranteur's response. Maybe sort out these issues and you will get even more returning custom?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the review. We regret that we did not meet with your expectations. I am however a little confused by your comment in the first paragraph : “ the food was mostly good , if not outstanding” followed by: “…only a couple of the dishes received serious praise from our party”. The average cost of a 3 course meal at The Bronze Pig is around £32.00 which is good value.
We pride ourselves in providing a fine dining experience in an intimate and unhurried atmosphere. Tables are not double booked which allows customers to occupy the table for the entire evening so that the dishes are not hurried and we ensure that each table is given a generous ‘personal space’ which restricts capacity to 22 -24 covers. We could fit another 2 to 3 tables but we choose not to in order to allow intimate dining. Where in your case we have 4 diners, 2 are served the main course and if the other 2 have a different main course, this will be served 2 minutes later as each dish is prepared and plated by our masterchef finalist. Hardly time enough for the first to go cold. We are not interested in providing a fast food experience.
We can assure you that the chef and sous chef were not panicking their way through the service. Our kitchen is open to view because we have nothing to hide.
We will remain true to our vision and welcome positive and constructive advice from well wishing customers who share our vision. Such advice is taken seriously and if it fits our objectives, it is put into action. We have no problem in attracting return custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bronze Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.