We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat feast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lincolnshire Red Ale House & Kitchen

Lincolnshire Red Ale House & Kitchen
3 Newland, Lincoln LN1 1UX, England
01522 522 164
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 350 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lincolnshire Red is a new steakhouse in Lincoln city centre. We only work with local produce and proud to support local farmers across Lincolnshire.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meat feast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

First time at this resturant for us and initial impressions were very good on arriving. A quick drink service (would have loved to sample the real ales but I was driving!) and then seated at our table we could have a look at the straight-forward menu. Starters were varied and interesting; the duck eggs and chorizo were very tasty! For mains, three of us went for sirloin, one burger and one rib-eye. On their arrival we were all very happy! Cooked absolutely perfectly, the steaks were of excellent quality and tasted superb. The included sides were generous and unfortunately there was no room for desert. The bill was not cheap but in the UK to eat steak of that quality you've got to be prepared to pay a fair price for it, I think the price at Lincolnshire Red is more than fair. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive.
Overall, a quality resturant experience and I really look forward to going back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    50
    31
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great service and tasty steak!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Steak was cooked well. Only let down was the chips, which when mentioned to the waiter said that they were changing them soon as so many people disliked them. The looked burnt, would have been nice if they were crispy all the way through but were soggy in the middle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

came here a couple of months ago and was wowed by the place and so it helped us to decide on Lincoln for another 2 day break we went both nights as we had so much of a good night we were there till closing both nights stuffing ourselves with the food and being slightly loud on the wine, they do have such a great selection and we indulged, The steaks are fresh and cooked perfectly and we did leave a good tip, sadly we had to come home for work but we will be going back, food and service that good with the warm welcome what more can we want. thank you to Mark and the staff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

i`ve just had a meal in lincolnshire Red steakhouse, over priced! we were served burnt chips with our meal. chief refused to change them! the rib-eye steak wasn`t a rib-eye! the rump steak wasn`t the quality specified! have had a better meal in the pride of lincoln in comparison of the price! NOT VALUE FOR MONEY. THIS IS LINCOLN NOT LONDON!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

A table of 6 of went last night for a birthday. I have been before as a couple on a lunchtime and was very impressed with the gammon and trimmings. The interior is decorated to high standard. there was No issue with slow service on the first visit. However last night it took 1 hour for us to be served our main meal (we didn't have a starter). No member of staff came to apologise for the duration of the hour for the slow service. Will be reluctant to visit again as a large group.

When the food finally arrived it was delicious, although my beetroot risotto was slightly bland.

Overall the speed of the service must improve if they want customers to keep coming back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lincolnshire Red Ale House & Kitchen also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincolnshire Red Ale House & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lincolnshire Red Ale House & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.