We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If heaven had a place to eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elena's Kitchen

Elena's Kitchen
63 West Parade | Corner of South Parade, Lincoln ln11ql, England
+44 1522 567271
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 363 Restaurants in Lincoln
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: British, Pizza & Pasta, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Small coffee bar/trattoria, specialising in fresh home cooked food - from breakfasts to lunches and afternoon tea. Eat in or takeaway, seating for 12. The best Lavazza coffee, hot chocolate and tea or herbal teas. Now open Friday evening for Pizza and Tiramisu all made fresh by Elena.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If heaven had a place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Every positive review you may read about Elena's is true.......and then some! My first experience of Elena's was a month or so ago when I called ahead to check opening times - I spoke to Elena (who was absolutely lovely of course) and also enquired about tiramisu, as it's a favourite of mine, not only does Elena make her own but she made a note of the date we'd be visiting and promised to make some for that day. Bear in mind this was a purely speculative call that resulted in a level of service and attention you seldom find these days.
We ate at Elena's this morning and it was joyous, just joyous. Elena and Franco are so welcoming, warm, friendly and genuine - nothing false or contrived just wonderful, good old-fashioned hospitality! The breakfast buns are fantastic and plenty of filling and even at 9.30am; there was such a vibrant and welcoming atmosphere. Regular or not; everybody is made to feel special at Elena's!
Here's the thing - at Elena's you truly feel that your experience and enjoyment are of paramount importance and that Elena and Franco's passion for their food, service and customers' is far more important than any profit margin. Their pride and passion for what they do is there to see, taste and savour in all they do. It may sound trite but I feel my wife summed it up - "you enter a customer and leave as a friend"......and how true!
And for the record - the tiramisu was like confectionery heroin and was just sublime!
Thank you so much Elena and Franco!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francoandelena, Owner at Elena's Kitchen, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
we were so pleased you came to see us and thankyou for your wonderful comments, we love that everyone feels at home in our 'Kitchen' and would just like to say it makes all our work worthwhile and we thank you all for your comments.
We'd just like to say to anyone who is reading that we shall be closed the first two weeks of September for our annual holidays and look forward to seeing you soon. ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    3
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I've visited a few times now, for various meals and each one has been superb. I've had lasagne, which was amazing, a lovely salad in the middle of summer and then there's Pizza Night on fridays - delicious, home made pizzas. What more could you ask for?
Everyone is always so friendly! It's also worth mentioning that for anyone with special diets this is a very accommodating place to visit as everything is cooked fresh for you. No wonder Elena's seems to have such a local fan following. :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Favoloso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We went for Friday pizza night on a friends recommendation. The venue is very small but the welcome so warm and service so excellent that the atmosphere is great. Undoubtedly the best pizza, freshly made and full of flavour. Thank you all, it was a wonderful evening and I look forward to returning.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a real Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Tucked away from the city centre. Elena's kitchen is a world away from Lincoln. Our prebooked party arrived pretty early but we were given a warm Italian welcome. The most friendliest service we have received in a long time. The café is very small and has quite an intimate feel about it, like you are in someone's home. Alcohol isn't served but you can bring your own wine/beer and so on and soft drinks are served. Nothing was too much trouble and was able to accommodate dietary needs and tastes. One fussy eater had cottage pie made for her. The rest of us had olives to start, pizza, since it was their pizza night (they do takeaways as well). Tasty, homemade pizza cooked to perfection. One from our party, shamfully couldn't finish his pizza and was given a doggy bag to take home. Again, no trouble. And Finally, rich cake to follow.They took the time to chat with us despite being very busy in the kitchen. Also, very reasonable priced when it came to paying the bill.

A huge thank you for giving us a wonderful time. Will definitely come back for more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Exceptionally well made food served by genuinely nice people. A different type of dining experience but we would love to return.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elena's Kitchen also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Elena's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elena's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.