We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last visit!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Modern Indian Cuisine

The Modern Indian Cuisine
370 High Street, Lincoln ln5 7ru, England
01522 534202
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 366 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First and last visit!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Saturday evening, I was not sure on entering as the waitress was coming out of door for a cigarette! Nice welcome, seated straight away, drinks served but downhill from there! Starters eventually served, then we somehow were lost. Maybe too many takeaway orders as only 1 other table eating and 1 other couple came in. Waited far too long, waitress gave 2 seperate apologies. Long wait, food acceptable and over priced. Won't go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is the best Indian restaurant in Lincoln by far. When eating in, the atmosphere within the restaurant is great, it's always spotlessly clean & the staff are smart & polite.

As for the food, you can tell it's nice & fresh with the meat being very succulent.

I ordered on Valentines night and wasn't disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Curry House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

A large group of us went last month and all 15 of us were very impressed. We didn't order starters so can only comment on the mains and service. Both of which were very good. My curry was fantastic (although can't remember the name of it) and came quickly and well cooked. For a big group, service was very good and none of us were waiting for food or drink.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sound traditional curry house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

A short walk over the tracks from central Lincoln. Not as modern as I had feared... essentially a good old-fashioned curry house with an interesting menu. Some unique dishes, but as always I stuck to the tried and tested dishes of chicken tikka something, saag paneer, etc. The starter, Prawn puri or equivalent, was very good; the lager cold and refreshing, and the service just right. I was there on a cold midweek evening with few others.

Tasty and filling. I recommend, although this is the only curry house I've been to in Lincoln so can't compare to the others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Really nice, if in the backend of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Fancying something spicy on a Sunday evening we spotted the reviews on TripAdvisor. Having been a bit puzzled at the mix of reviews poor reviews I'm pleased to say our experience was great. As is typical with many Indian restaurants, it is located in a less pleasant part of Lincoln south of the railway station and near the Roxy Wetherspoon. That said, it was easy to get to as we had a 15 minute walk from our hotel on Brayford Wharf. We hadn't booked, which was fine as it was about 25-30%. The staff were good, the decor very modern and the food was excellent. I had a King Prawn Chatt (puree) and a spicy chicken curry (name escapes me). I would go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Modern Indian Cuisine also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Modern Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Modern Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.