We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Save
You added The Old Bakery to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   26 - 28 Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a two day break in Lincoln on the 7th and 8th of November 2013 and we are really glad we chose The Old Bakery Resturant. The room was very comfortable and the location of the Old Bakery is truly ideal for sightseeing the City but the real attraction of the of the place is Chef Ivano and his wife Tracey de Serio and their team. We had the 5 course Italian Taster Menu with matching wines (which acually came with a couple of suprise treats). The waitresses explained each course and the wines as they served them and this was the best quality meal we have experienced. We would recommend this menu to anyone wanting to try something special. The breakfast was a traditional Lincolnshire breakfast and prepared to the same high standards. We would definitely stay at The Old Bakery Resturant with Rooms again. Thanks again to Ivano and his wife Tracey de Serio and their team. PS. although they do not have their own car parking, at this time of year we had no trouble parking on the road outside the bakery. The parking restrictions are for two hours between 8am and 6pm so if you arrive after 4pm I take this as meaning that you can park overnight as long as you move your car by 10am the next morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
10
57
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here one Saturday night but didn't eat. The room was very clean and had a lovely solid wood bed and furniture. The bed was very comfortable and we slept like logs.

The room comes complete with kettle, different teas and coffees, biscuits and bottled water. There was even a flat screen tv and hair dryer.

I could not fault the service or room or Ivano who was an excellent host.

The breakfast made by the before mentioned was excellent and one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel or B and B.

My only comment would be that you could hear other people walk and talking in the corridor but this is due to the buildings old design and wasn't a big thing.

Would definitely stay again if we returned to Lincoln as the B and B is in a great location near the castle and only 5 minute walk from the cathedral, steep hill and 10 minutes from they shops.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from an excellent trip to Lincoln. We stayed at the old bakery and was not disappointed. Room was clean and had everything needed. We also dined here and was a fantastic experience. Food was delicious and the scrambled eggs for breakfast are not to be missed. What a great place to stay and dine. Highly recommended. Friendly staff and very attentive x excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool Lancs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for the last 2 nights, the room was very nice and the bed very comfortable. Tea and coffee was supplied in the room, as well as chocolates and some very nice biscuits. I had the top room and as I've said it was very nice, the only down side was my bathroom was down one level and had to be accessed down a very steep set of stairs. It was ok for me but anybody older who maybe unsteady on their feet could easily fall. The first morning I had to leave the hotel before breakfast, however I was supplied with a choice of cereal and in the mini fridge, orange juice, croissants and a lovely bowl of mix fruit with fresh figs. This morning I went to work early but was back for breakfast, I didn't have the cooked breakfast but it looked lovely with some very nice items. I had scramble eggs on toast which was beautifully presented and as light as a feather. I would stay here again, but a lower room please.

Room Tip: ask for a lower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic restaurant. I have Coeliac disease which I often find restaurants unable to deal with and have often been made so unwell at a meal I have had to leave even before the main course has been served. However here the chefs were fantastic and I had such an amazing meal and even had 3 courses. The chef brought me out some warm homemade gluten free bread, the starter of ham hock was beautiful, the main of veil was so yummy and I had an assiette of deserts which was so unusual for me to be able to eat and it was out of this world. We have recommended it to so many people already. What a little gem. Thank you to the chefs for a wonderful meal and to the front of house staff who were really friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Decor vey nice,food exquisite and such an extensive menu. Wine list superb and staff very helpful,accommodating and helpful. Owner very sociable. Visited here for evening dining and Sunday lunch.....never been disappointed. Not the cheap end of the market but one gets what one pays for and this is quality with fresh ingredients cooked to perfection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We have just returned from an over night stay at the old bakery! It's was a Christmas gift to my hubbie ( booked through activity superstore) . The bedroom is in need of some updating, tiny portable tv that you could not really watch layerd in bed! Bed was the comfiest I have spelt in, bedding and curtains lovely! Nice to have a full size kettle to make a brew, hubbie kept banging his head as low ceiling in parts and tiny door frame into the bathroom! We never ate in the restaurant but had breakfast now that was just gorgeous hubbie thinks best he has eaten at any hotel! Quite central too, decor of restaurant looked nice but do think some tlc elsewhere would not go a miss! We paid allot more going with the activity superstore than booking direct, also only certain nights you can stay! On the whole we had a love.y time and the chef was very friendy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Address: 26 - 28 Burton Road, Lincoln LN1 3LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Bakery 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Bakery rooms which belong to the sister company of The Old Bakery Restaurant have been awarded 4 star AA and 4 star Silver Award Quality in Tourism assessment ratings. The Old Bakery was listed in the September 2007 edition of The Sunday Times Travel Magazine as one of the Top 100 Finest Places to stay in England. We also had a full page feature during March 2009 in The Independent as one of the finest restaurant establishments achieving 5 stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Hotel Lincoln

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.