We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food ,Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swan Holme

The Swan Holme
Doddington Road, Lincoln, England
01522 509859
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 366 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food ,Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As visitors to the area we came across this pub and decided to give it a try , we were late to eat about 9:15 on a saturday the staff were very polite and the food we ordered arrived in no time at all and was much better than any other pub chain we have tried.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    13
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gone downhill like Jack and Jill !!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Oh dear what has happened to this once great gastro pub.....scruffy staff who dont care whether they serve you or not-condiments in dirty pots which are open to the elements all day with crusty bits stuck to it .We ordered our meals at the bar and after 15 mins went to the ladies ,on arriving back my husband informed me the starter was not available ,something which actually didnt surprise me as the table next to us had already been told that 2 of their 3 dishes were not available either.The waiter eventually came back and asked if i had picked something else which i declined .After another 15 mins my husbands mixed bread starter came which to be fair was ok.Our meals came mushroom pancake stack and chicken and stuffing ciabbata ,they were edible but nothing to shout about.We have been going here for a few years and recommended to other people which i now feel embarrased about - but it will be along time before we waste our money here again !!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better than the standard chain pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've lived in Lincoln all my life and this is the first time I have visited The Swan Holme & to put this review simply I will be back.

I visited with my Mum on a Friday evening and the place was ticking over nicely. We found a table in an area which provided full table service - always nicer in my opinion! Heather & Ryan our servers were both brilliant - very welcoming, polite and efficient!

The food was up to a good standard also. The goats cheese starter, while very simple in nature was done perfectly, and the dish well thought out. I had the calamari which was cooked well - however I personally wasn't a fan of the presentation (in a large stemmed glass). Our mains were both good - but again simple enough. I should note at this point there are more adventurous items on the menu than burgers however.

All in all a a nice relaxing night out and a fair price in my opinion, as I said to start I will go back. More of a family pub than one for a romantic dinner IMO - but worth a try for a week night dinner!

Also - nice big car park to an easy meeting place for people coming from all parts of town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I ordered the seasonal soup which happened to be Asparagus & Pea, not had that flavour before but it was surprisingly delicious and warming on a cold Winter's eve. Served with butter and fresh bread, add a drink and the whole lot came to less than a fiver! Have eaten here before at a Wedding Reception few years back and the food was as great then as it was today.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“food well below standard...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

we attended this pub and now wish we didnt....the food was well below par..we had pies ..mine was bland and fatty ..i would not eat here again or recommend to anyone...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan Holme also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lowdham, Nottinghamshire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to The Swan Holme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swan Holme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.