We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mayfield Guest House to your Saves list
Mayfield Guest House
213 Yarborough Road, Lincoln LN1 3NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“a warm welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for one night only. The house is in need of a little T.L.C. but the owners were friendly and helpful..Our room was at the front of the building with a great view, it was quite large and had 2 easy chairs and a coffee table too. The bathroom seemed as if it had been recently refurbished. Both were clean and tidy. Parking onsite was a bonus and it was an easy walk into the old centre of Lincoln.
There was a reasonable selection for breakfast and the bacon was perfect, some fresh fruit would have been welcome but for the price you couldn't complain.
We would certainly go back here again when visiting Lincoln. Larger bath towels would have been nice.

Room Tip: Front rooms have some road noise but we managed to sleep ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
manchester United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Wary of choosing a guest house as opposed to hotel.However we need not have worried
Owners could not have been more helpful. Yes parking is tight . Other reviews remarked on views,however the room we had was at rear and although didn't have a view was clean to a degree I have not seen surpassed and spacious. Breakfast first class.
Have no fear of recommending this guest house to anyone.
Could not fault in any way. Would happily stay anytime

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island View
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Guest house free car park is tight for 3 cars, on a slope! Our double room at the front of the house had a beautiful view; a little old fashioned like the rest of the house, but in keeping with its age and came complete with squeaky floorboards! The shower room had been built within the room itself and was adequate. Towels were too small. The breakfast was good and made to order. The owners are very friendly and helpful as were some of the guests who seemed to be regulars. We were 10 to 15 minutes walk from the historic part of Lincoln. It's okay for a one night stopover, but I think it was pricey enough for what you got.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

The car park at the guest house is a challenge! On saying that we had a wonderful stay.We were lucky to be able to check in earlier as my husband works nights and needed a sleep.We were well received and shown to a beautiful room overlooking the valley towards the west.The room was spacious,a little old fashioned but gorgeous.We were offered a jug of fresh milk as well to go with the good quality tea tray and biscuits.The shower room was big and well decorated.there was some handwash a small bar of soap and a small bottle of shampoo.The towels were good quality,but small.The breakfast was excellant and plenty of it.The couple who run the Mayfield are very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay.We were a 15 minute slow stroll to the castle and cathedral and the old area of town.Be aware if you have some mobility issues there is an ultra steep hill to the shopping area of lincoln,but it's worth it when you get there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby, england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Service was excellent, we was made very welcome.A good breakfast too. Room was spacious and warm and a lovely view in room 3 Location was spot on close to the cathedral about 15 min walk. I would reccomend it for a budget break.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed here for one night whilst attending our friend's wedding at the nearby Charlotte Hotel, next to the Castle. It was ideally situated within 5 - 10 minutes walk of the town centre. We had a twin room which consisted of a double and single. The rooms were chintzy but perfectly comfortable and well furnished. The bonus was freeview on the TV which kept my husband happy as he could check Sky Sports News! I think the bathrooms have been refurbished in recent years as although small, they were spotlessly clean with a nice corner shower. The breakfast the next day was welcome after our late wedding and the full English breakfast was delicious. Jan & David, the owners, were very hospitable throughout our stay with directions, breakfast chats and manoeuvring out of the car park. I would highly recommend this B&B if you are visiting Lincoln.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
croydon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2006

At £50 per room per night this was a good value Guest House.
Our room was warm and quite spacious, the best thing being the west facing view we had from the window.
The owners were welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were filling and freshly cooked to order.
It is quite conveniently located - only a 5-10 minute walk to the castle and cathedral, and not much longer to go down to the shopping area. The only slight disadvantage was the limited parking area - if the guest house was full, cars would need to slot in behind one another.
We would recommend this guest house to anyone on holiday or business in central Lincoln.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room with a west facing view.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Guest House

Address: 213 Yarborough Road, Lincoln LN1 3NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfield Guest House is a spacious Victorian house offering spacious en suite bedrooms with breakfast in a smoke-free environment.Free parking is available in our car park reached from Mill Road at the rear of the house. From here you may walk across the hilltop to the Cathedral, Castle and the restaurants in the Old City centre in 10-15 minutes.Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the house. Full English breakfast is included in the price and we will do our best to cater for any special dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mayfield Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.