We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Palace to your Saves list
The Old Palace
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Minster Yard, Lincoln LN2 1PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Old Palace on the 4th December with some friends.
All the staff were brilliant, especially Kate on reception, Hannah in the restaurant and an unseen chef who produced a fantastic gastronomic meal, breakfast was also superb.
Room appeared a little expensive for what it was, but the service, beautiful old building, excellent location and stunning views of Lincoln more than made up for this.
As I am an early riser, the bells didn't bother me and I actually think they added to the charm of this lovely old building.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    97
    46
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
235
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St Giles, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The Old Palace is situated next to the Cathedral at the top of the hill in the old part of the City. All the staff are exceptionally friendly, polite and welcoming giving you the feeling that you are a special guest and they are there to help you rather than that they are just doing their job. The food was delicious and nicely presented and there was a good selection on the menu. The room was clean and a good size and we were able to enjoy the views over the city. There was adequate parking in the hotel grounds. It was a bit expensive but all the hotel prices seemed to be inflated during the Christmas market period and all in all, a wonderful stay and we will certainly go there again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. The room was on the small side but had great views of Lincoln and the Cathedral. Breakfast was delicious. However the Cathedral bells started ringing at 7am on Saturday morning and 8am on Sunday morning. So beware if you are looking for a lie in. If not you certainly will not need to bring an alarm clock!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

For the second time this year we have visited The Old Palace .... and again what a treat it was. as we were visiting Lincoln during the Christmas market period we had to follow certain arrival and departure information as the centre of Lincoln is a traffic free area during the day. The instructions sent by the hotel were easy to follow.

I asked if we could leave our car in the car park early on the day of arrival to avoid the que and being escorted through the pedestrian area later in the day....not only was this fine but because our room had not been occupied the night before we were able to check in before 9am at no extra charge...how generous was this?

We stayed in Room 1 "The Blue Room" as we had before. this is a large room, well decorated and very clean. My only warning would be that if you are not so agile the shower is over the bath and may be tricky to get into....the shower had a good supply of hot water and as with the bedroom the bathroom is spotless with good quality towels and dressing gowns.

We had dinner in the dining room ......the larger of the two dining rooms. the choice and quality of food was very good with friendly but efficient service. Breakfast was also taken in the large dining room .....previously I have had it in the smaller downstairs breakfast room. Choice at breakfast is good, part self service with hot drinks and hot food brought to order.

All in all a lovely stay, reception staff doing more than necessary to help and make our stay a pleasant one.. As we left we booked again for the same weekend and room next year...think that says it all!

Room Tip: I have not stayed in a standard room, room 1 is a more expensive room so cannot comment on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We celebrated my granddaughters christening in one of the Old Palace function rooms. Organising functions definitely isn't their strong point. Over the months leading up to this special day my wife and daughter worked hard with The Old Palace management to get things just right. Things started to go wrong the week prior to the event when The Old Palace queried the price which they had already agreed to and we're rude to my son in-law when he pointed this out. Then came the day and it became a catalog of disasters from beginning to end like getting the entry drinks wrong at the beginning, not supply food items for the buffet as agreed then knocking something up instead that nobody ate because it was awful etc, etc, etc. My son in-law has raised the issue with The Old Palace management team and they have offered a £100 refund on an approximate cost of £600-£700 not very good for the disappointment experienced after all the hard work trying to get things right. My advice is don't use The Old Palace for any kind of personal function, you're likely to be let down and disappointed on your special day. The serving staff were first class this was a management and organisational issue.

Room Tip: The Old Palace for any kind of personal function, you're likely to be let down and disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPManagement, Manager at The Old Palace, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Mr Ziegler,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your unsatisfactory visit to The Old Palace.
I apologise that you feel this way about your event and it saddens me that you felt the need to put a review on trip advisor. Prior to your review, the management team have been in contact with your son-in-law to discuss your issues and he was very happy with the refund we offered him.

I can assure you that your event was very important to us from first contact in August until the day itself in November and I believe that we were extremely accommodating to your needs in the run up, and on the day itself.

To help your son stay within their budget, we waivered some of the costs, and we agreed to a bespoke menu which included us ordering in specific items for your event, and following recipes that you provided for us.

When it was brought to the team’s attention that you were unhappy with the amount of food provided, the staff immediately rectified this by providing extra food for you, I’ve also been informed that you were given jugs of juice at no extra charge on the day.

The Old Palace strives to maintain excellent customer service and I am disappointed to learn that on this occasion, you feel we have failed. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you’ve experienced at the hotel.

Thank you again for telling me about your experience at The Old Palace. It is only through bringing such comments to our attention that we are able to continue to improve the service we offer to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

An amazing place. The entrance is really worth the journey. It gets an unusual feeling of "Old England" that you will unlikely find in other Manor type of boutique hotels. Rooms are quite nice and well furnished/decorated although a bit small. Breakfast was good even though the room was almost full when we arrived and guests that arrived a bit later had to sit in another area. It is very conveniently located, just next to the cathedral and the old medieval hill.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

stunning location, at a good price. we spent one night at the old palace and stayed in the lodge, an old church. the room was excellent with good on suite, clean and ample size, has it's own car park. good access directly on to steep hill, turn right for cathedral, bail gate and castle, turn left for city centre, be warned the name steep hill is fitting. loads of places to eat and drink both ways, but higher end places in bail gate, nice individual shops as well. browns pie shop is a must for your evening meal, but you do need to book. the view and access to the cathedral is great, a visit is a must, the building is stunning as is the stained glass windows. breakfast was good, with a buffet and loads of choices for the cooked side of things. staff are polite and helpful, car parking by the main building could be an issue, as it gets full, but there are other car parks, would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Palace

Address: Minster Yard, Lincoln LN2 1PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Old Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.