We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but pre-authorisation spoils experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great but pre-authorisation spoils experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Great staff with nice, clean, if a little minimalist, furnishings. Very pleased overall and will return. Central location makes a convenient base. Parking could be better and for that reason we came by train. The station is only a ten minute walk. Our only real complaint is the pre-authorisation charge. From our stay, it took four days for the funds to be made available in our account again. Potentially this means well over double the charge for a stay, albeit temporarily. If on a tight budget, this could ruin a break. Apart from that (which we are seeing as with other chains, too), as we said, really pleased.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    272
    75
    28
    23
See reviews for
109
418
20
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice clean functional hotel, parking isn't the best but there are nearby multi-storey car parks just a short walk away. Must admit though that I left my phone charger and Stephanie was a superstar getting it located for me - so thanks for that great service........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fab rooms spacious, clean, modern, staff very attentive and friendly. Make sure you ask for a view of the water or you will get a view of a car park. Parking not great get there early it was full when we arrived at 3pm and we had to park in a car park next door so a little walk but ok if you don't have much luggage. Breakfast gorgeous and fresh plenty to choose from, and the bar on the top floor is well worth a visit for a cocktail before you go out. Loved the cookies on arrival they where lovely and warm and very tasty with a coffee in your room. Great flat screen tv in room and the bathroom is a good size too, we had a king room the bed was massive!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Only did one night stay but was very impressed with the staff and the hotel. The service was relaxed and friendly and the hotel facilities were very good. The only down side was that there is very little parking and it is hard to find.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Enjoyable stay, hotel well situated in central Lincoln close to everything. Immaculately kept and friendly staff. Would highly recommend. Only down side is that Hotel does not provide free parking and Lincoln Car parks can be expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were in Lincoln for a weekend break and stayed at the the Double Tree. Check in was friendly and efficient, the receptionist showed us places to visit in Lincoln. And also enrolled us into the Hilton Honours Programme, one of the benefits of this was that we got complimentary late checkout, meaning we could check out at 1pm instead of 11am, a benefit defiantly worth having.

We had booked two rooms, and had been allocated rooms on separate floors. The receptionist checked with us to see if this was OK, and I said I’d prefer them on the same floor, this was not a problem and we were given two rooms on the first floor.

My room was 102 which is a suite. The suites comprise of a lounge with adjoining bedroom. The lounge was quite sparsely furnished with a Sofa, Coffee Table and table for the TV. A pair of easy chairs in addition to the sofa would have been nice, for when you have visitors. A fridge, iPod Dock and work desk in the lounge would also have been nice.

The main feature of the lounge was the floor to ceiling windows that lead out onto the balcony and gave views of the marina. Sitting with your feet up on the sofa reading, and watching people ‘messing about on the river’ was a lovely way to spend a morning.

You can’t lock or unlock the balcony doors yourself, the keys are kept at reception and you have ring down to ask someone to come up and un/lock the balcony doors for you. I never had to wait very long for someone to come up, though perhaps changing the locks on the doors to ones that guests can lock and unlock themselves would be a good idea.

The bathroom on room 102 was massive, with both a double shower cubicle and a separate bath tub. I didn’t have a bath, but the shower was nice and hot with plenty of pressure.

The bed was firm with plenty of pillows, and lead to a very good nights sleep. The bedroom had a large work desk with lamp and plenty of electrical sockets, plus ethernet socket for wired internet access. Really these would have been better in the lounge, as this was a suite. The hotel also has complimentary Wi-fi which was very much appreciated. You could pay for a faster connection, but for general web browsing and accessing E:Mails the free connection was fine.

By the bed there were controls for the lighting in the room, along with power sockets. There was also a clock radio, MP3 player but instructions on how to use it would have been nice. There was plenty of space on the bedside tables, along with plenty of storage.

For breakfast I ordered porridge, Tea and Orange juice in my room. The breakfast order was delivered on time, and was nice and hot. The lady who brought my breakfast tray had also added jar of honey to go with the porridge which was a nice touch. I also ordered two more meals from room service, again these were both nice and hot and I didn’t have to wait long for them to arrive. On the Saturday night, I ordered at 8pm and was warned it could take unto 45 minutes for my order to arrive, it arrived in less than this time.

The downside of the DoubleTree is the parking, we paid £3 which allowed us to park from 3pm until 12pm the next day, which was very fair, the downside is that this car park closes at 7pm, so whilst you could get your car out of the car park after 7 you would not be able to get it back in again. Fortunately there are plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, so whilst it was annoying it didn’t spoil our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stopped in this hotel for one night with my husband when the Christmas markets were on. The hotel is situated on the wharf with a number of restaurants nearby. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival with advice on where to dine in the evening. The hotel was a short walk from the centre of the city where the markets were situated- we walked up the steep hill which is a challenge in twelfth, but some lovely little boutiques on each side of it.
The room was lovely, clean and spacious. Breakfast was also good with lots to choose from. We had our evening meal on the boat that is just across from the hotel. Really lovely and fantastic if you are a fan of seafood.
I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel if we ever visit Lincoln again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.