We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but could have been so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice, but could have been so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, quick check in, room clean, no mini bar. View :(. Brick wall of next door holiday inn. Nice, but soul-less in our view.
Love lincoln, will stay again. Overall - ok break, but would upgrade room

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry that you felt that the hotel was a little souless, we do have a more modern style which can sometimes feel that way, but in general our customers love our design and simplicity.

We do have a small number of rooms that pose us challenges with regards to buildings being next door, this is due to the tightness of the site on the footprint we have. I am pleased however this has not put you off and you would return to us again when you are in lincoln.

Regards

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    235
    67
    25
    19
See reviews for
94
360
16
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the double tree on Friday, and being my first time in Lincoln I didn't quite know what to expect. The first thing you notice is the location which is fantastic, right by the waterfront and when walking through the doors you enter into the reception area which was really airy and light. The welcoming was fantastic, we got a warm cookie each upon arrival and then headed up to our rooms. The room was really spacious and everything was spotless and well presented, it definitely felt like a Hilton with little touches like the 'sweet dreams' pillow on the bed. Without us knowing, it was actually the hotels one year anniversary and there was a 1920's themed party going on in the electric bar on the top floor. Great atmosphere with super views. After a goods night sleep, we again headed up to the top floor for breakfast - the sun was out and again to note the views were super and you could see the cathedral at the top of the hill.
Just wanted to mention that Stacy, in reception, was amazing and made our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

A very nice, very new hotel. Rooms were very nice and clean with a high standard of fittings. Breakfast was well presented and very tasty. Staff warm and friendly. Slight downside was the air-con, which even when switched off made a low pitched whine, this was quite annoying when trying to get to sleep. Spoke to reception about it and despite saying it would be looked at, it wasn't. Car parking is also a bit tight with only about 30 spaces. Although to be fair this is made clear on the website at time of booking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my partner for a belated birthday and valentines break. We were given warm cookies on arrival which were lovely. We parked in Lucy tower multi storey car park which was cheaper than the hotel's car park. The hotel was clean and with excellent staff. Our room was very modern and was cleaned each day. We had two lovely breakfasts at the hotel lots of choice and excellent views of the cathedral from the restaurant. We also enjoyed lovely cocktails from the rooftop bar. Lincoln itself was ok with lots of good places to eat close by. If we were in the area again I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
high wycombe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Arriving at the hotel we were welcomed, with a warm cookie and a very helpful receiptionist. I was not happy about the overnight fee of £10 Parking, it states on their website a possiblity, well its not possible its definate!!!! so be ware. they should have it clearly marked £10 for parking and limited parking spaces. Breakfast was included, the staff were very helpful, plus, i had a twin room with my daughter who was taking an audition at uni the next day, to be woken up at 4 oclock in the morning by the next door neighbour in which we had a connecting door, so the noise travelled, after an hour i had to phone the night porter, to tell them to shut up, this was done very promptly as he came up and rapped on their door. The hotel is on the quay, so when you drive there, be aware that you have to go to the bottom of the street and turn right down the pedestrian street, so becareful of people walking along. They do say no access for cars and motorbikes on the sign at the end of street, but you have to ignore this to get to the hotel. This should be made clear, as i had to phone the receptionist of how to get to them. The quay has lots of places to eat and a 10 screen cinema and town a short walk away. Ideal for anyone wanting access to the uni. All in all not a bad hotel, staff all very friendly, the hotel was clean and had a secure lift, as you had to swipe your room card to use it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my Partner for a romantic Valentines retreat and could not have been more pleased. The staff were very friendly and the room we stayed in was lovely, a good view of the cathedral from our balcony and we spent the evening overlooking the Brayford from the bar on the top floor! Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a large selection of food to choose from, hot and cold, with fresh juice, tea and coffee being served. Check out was a breeze thanks to friendly reception worker Jade Clark who was only too pleased to point out places of interest around Lincoln for the day ahead. Jade was exceptionally accommodating and on her performance alone I would recommend the hotel to anyone. An excellent time was had!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

the hotel has a great location, good sized rooms and bed.. lovely breakfast, although far to overpriced for what it was, as we only got a small portion! and when you ask for a full english you expect alot more. we was late by 5 minutes out of our room, which we got charged 250.00, as we was late.. which i think is absolutely horrendous!
although the rooms are good, we will never return again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Just to make it absolutely clear - we only charge late check out fees when guests are late checking out of there rooms. The fee for this is £25.00 NOT £250.00 as you have stated.

We do not charge these fees for being late by 5 minutes, 50 minutes is another issue.

Philip Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Address: Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.