We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chips in Lincoln” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elite Fish & Chip Restaurant

The Elite Fish & Chip Restaurant
Moorland Way Lincoln LN6 7JW, Lincoln, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 366 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips in Lincoln”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

As regular customers, I had to reply to some of the former reviews. What do you want ? I bet most of you can't answer that one. The place has always been spotlessly clean.The staff are and have been first class. You have to also remember that this is the first taste of work for many of them. Their attitude and work ethic restores faith in the next generation. As for the food, it never varies fom week to week. It is always cooked well and presented properly.
If you don't want to pay for quality fish and chips, go to a dodgy takeaway and eat them out of newspaper............ Remember there are people hungry in this country never mind abroad !!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    33
    19
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not acceptable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The fish & chips are okay, but having to wait for 20 minutes for sausage & chips is simply not acceptable! Sorry to have to say it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good Food,but is there a tea ration?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We've been regular customers for years and always look forward to our fish and chips with a welcome large pot of tea for two. Times must be hard at the Elite because we were brought the smallest pot of tea with only one tea bag. Even the waiter apologised, saying he didn't agree with it and there'd been complaints. Why,oh why,spoil the eating experience for the sake of boiled water and an extra teabag? To add to the insult,the single lady next to us was brought the same sized pot as we had for two.Fortunately the food tasted good and we were served by well trained and polite young staff.I'd advise other would be customers to bring their own teabags,or perhaps a flask. Come on Elite don't be so tight!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Scruffy tables, slow service, very expensive and tasteless food ( again)”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I came here 12 years ago and thought, nah, I'll not bother again as that was a waste of tuime. 12 years later i thought it may have improved. How wrong i was. We ordered 1 x plaice chips and peas, 2 x standard haddock and chips, 3 soft drinks, a child saudage and cghips and a piece of bread and butter. £36!!!!!
Fish had no taste at all, just white/grey mush. Plaice, very small but had some taste. About 6 chips each too. Was left hungry after eating but couldnt afford anyting else. The childs sdausage and chips was standard deep fried cheap sausage but had more chips than an adult meal. My peas were frozen and not garden peas, cold and un cooked. No salt on table and nearby tables salt cleears all blocked. Will never go back, rip off. Go to Bentleys by Wolsey Way - huge fresh portions and delicious

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY HIGH STANDARDS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

As regular diners at The Elite for the past 25 years, we have consistently enjoyed an excellent meal in clean and comfortable surroundings coupled with a friendly and helpful service.

We also dine regularly at The Elite in Ruskington (Sleaford Lincs) which is a more intimate establishment with all the same high standards.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elite Fish & Chip Restaurant also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Elite Fish & Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elite Fish & Chip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.