We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral View Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cathedral View Guest House to your Saves list
Cathedral View Guest House
6 Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Gem........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. We were given the warmest of welcomes by Helen (who turned out to be the housekeeper)We were shown to our room and made to feel instantly at home, Helen was very knowlegable about the area and suggested various restaurants which turned out to be a real help as there were so many to choose from. (I recommend Ginos!) After a night out and good sleep in a lovely comfy bed with lovely linen we went for breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room and were cooked a fine breakfast by Paul, the owner who was very friendly and attentive. The room was spotlessly clean and we were delighted after our first day out to come back to find our room made back up with clean towels, drinks replenished, bin emptied and bed as neat as a new pin! On our second morning Helen cooked breakfast and I have to say it was even better than the first day! Poached eggs were perfect. In all this was the best place we ever stayed and Helen if you ever want a job"Up north" just give us a call! I didnt like to say at the time but we are in the same industry and hope we can emulate your very high standards!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
124
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saxmundham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location; wonderful breakfast; good sized room; friendly staff; free parking in courtyard. Highly recommended - and if you need traffic directions and other advice, Paul is the man!

Jean and John

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Paul was the perfect host. Nice and friendly. When we arrived late afternoon he greeted us at our car and showed us to out room taking us on a tour of the guest house so we new where breakfast was served and the front door. He made us feel welcome and at home straight away. The weather was awful but our room was always lovely and warm. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We wanted a weekend in Lincoln (having never visited) and turned to Trip Advisor for a suggestion where to stay. Cathedral View was perfect - great location, friendly staff, clean, comfortable room, good breakfast and somewhere to park. What more could you ask? Will definitely stay here again should we return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Leamington Spa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Super location at the top of the hill, a very helpful host, and great breakfasts. As others have commented, the car park is tight, but fine for a reasonable size car, and given the location so close to the cathedral, a great asset. We left our car there for 4 days, and used the excellent circular bus service to get around Lincoln (free with pensioner bus passes!). The best place for a Cathedral inspired visit to Lincoln.

Room Tip: Ask for a Cathedral View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently spent a few days in Lincoln and stayed at the Cathedral View Guest House. It is a really lovely comfortable guest house. We spent 3 nights there and everything about the Guest House is excellent.The host Paul is friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts we enjoyed were just the best. The lovely room was perfect and the bathroom is so luxurious ..........

We will definitely stay here again.........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, UK.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you're planning to see the Cathedral - it's just across the road (the bells don't sound between 23:00 and 07:00).
If you're planning to visit the Castle - it's just down the road.
If you're looking for the best (non-chain) restaurants and pubs in Lincoln - they're just along the road.
If you wish to stay in a spotlessly clean guest house with plenty of character - you're already there.
If you wish to eat a fantastic breakfast - it's just down the stairs.
If you wish to meet the friendly, helpful owners and staff - they're just down the stairs, too.
If you wish to book a room - be quick, this guest house is understandably very popular!

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cathedral View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathedral View Guest House

Address: 6 Eastgate, Lincoln LN2 1QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cathedral View Guest House is a 12th-century grade 2 listed building in the heart of the Bailgate in the Cathedral Quarter, recently renovated to the highest standard just a stone's throw from the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cathedral View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral View Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.