We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant

Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant
169 Burton Rd, Lincoln LN1 3LW, England
+44 1522 575207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 383 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: WINNERS OF UK'S NO1 Fish and chip restaurant 2015,Holders of the National Federation of Fish Friers Quality Award with a food hygiene rating of 5. We serve only sustainably sourced fish and are MSC Certified for our haddock. Our potatoes are Lincolnshire grown and our chips are prepared fresh every day on the premises.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had been told about this place by several people but had never tried it out myself. Wow! It puts most fish and chip shops to shame. I won't be going elsewhere in future. Go on give it a go. Five star fish and chips.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    25
    20
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fisn n chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tried many different fish and chips in Lincoln and area over the years, but this "plaice" (sorry!) is the BEST by far! We went in the restaurant and had the "special" haddock, chips, peas, bread and butter and a drink at a very reasonable price. It was absolutely delicious!. ~Batter very light and crispy, chips are perfect (it has won an award!) and neither are greasy and soggy like some fish and chips. the restaurant is very smart and lovely comfy chairs. it looks very "upmarket" for a fish and chip restaurant and spotlessly clean. ~Service excellent. they even do a loyalty card. What I also liked was the fact that you don't get the pungent smell of fish and chips frying whilst you eat which can often put me off especially if the fat has been used a few times - that smell can be nausaeting but at this restaruant you don't get any of that at all. This restaurant is Soooo good it is well worth a drive! I gurantee you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Very good, but not the best I've tasted”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Having read about Burton Road Chippy a lot over the past few months, I was really keen to give it try. I love fish and chips, but only when they are done well.
The restaurant is lovely. Modern, well laid out, bright and very clean. The waitresses are excellent, friendly and helpful and the service was really quick.
We order two haddock specials. Haddock, chips, peas, bread/butter and a drink - £17 for 2 people. Considering the price of fresh fish, we thought this was very reasonable.
Our drinks arrived quickly and the food arrived soon after that.
The chips are great and deserve their award. Hand cut and well cooked. The peas were lovely, green and fresh and served in separate pot - I like that idea.
The fish was a little disappointing. The batter is thin and crispy, but the fish was not as firm or as white as I had expected, it tasted good, but not excellent. I was really disappointed to find bones in the fish, I really expected the fish to be filleted well.
One the whole though, this is a nice restaurant, with great staff and we would certainly visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Deserve their best chips title”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Usually chip shop chips makes me quite unwell, but Burton Road's chips do not because they are so fresh, ungreasy, and most of all, tasty. When we have fish and chips, we always come here and it's always busy, but despite this, there's never a long wait. I've only had fish here, but that's because you can taste the freshness, and again, not greasy. The place is really clean and they clearly care a lot about the business, which is wonderful. The best chip shop I know hands down.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapstinium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips I've had in ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Delicious!
Haddock excellent
Absolutely remarkable
Recommended by my mother-in-law who they know personally (and is a very important person in Lincoln)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burton Road Fish and Chip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.