We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best cantonese restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix

Phoenix
High Street, Lincoln LN5 8BD, England
01522 527682
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 350 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
county durham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“one of the best cantonese restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

went here on sat night (14-12-13).. the place was absolutely packed, the service was fantastic, the food was even better, (4 adults) we all had the set menu £19-95 + hot n sour soup, can't go past the place, def go again next time in Lincoln.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST CANTONESE IN LINCOLN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Excellent Food and Service , Best in the Lincoln, Great Value, Been many times always Delicious, Staff very friendly, Highly Recommended

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Father Michael”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have now eaten at this restaurant on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed. We only visit Lincoln once a year - in October - and always look forward to eating here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Cantonese restaurant in Lincoln”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant on many occasions, usually on special occasions. The food is delicious and service excellent. It has an extensive menu, including set meals for two or more people. The staff are very flexible with the menus, allowing these dishes to be changed for ones of your choice. The atmosphere is great and there is also a good selection of wines, soft drinks etc.
The price soo are reasonable, considering the quality of the food. The restaurant is situated on the lower high street within walking distance of the city centre, and, street parking is available on the high street or one of the side streets. There are also nearby car parks.Booking is advisable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A group of six of us visited on a Sunday evening. I am not local to the area but this place was recommened by someone who is. We decided we would have a set menu type meal and having chosen one the waiter suggested we could do better with a different one. We explained we liked the starter on the one we had chosen and so he said if we chose the other one (which was only £1 more per had) he would do it with a the starter we wanted and also add in an extra dish on top of those shown on the menu.
The food was excellent! the service was polite and attentive. The restaurent was very clean and the decor tasteful. We all felt we had eaten well and had good value for money.
Just a couple of very small things that let it down for me. When eating at an oriental restaurant I like to use chop sticks. I am actually farely hopeless at using them but I like to try! There were no chopsticks on the table. I suspect if I had asked for them they would have brought some but when in a fairly large group of friends it is easier to just go with the flow. It was only after we finished eating one of the other ladies suggested she also likes to use chop sticks as she feels it makes her eat slower and so she enjoys it more.
It is also customary to get a finger bowl or the warm towels after a course that is designed to be eaten with fingers. We had crispy duck and spring rolls and yet no finger bowls were brought. We all used our napkins ok but sticky sauce is not easy to remove without lots of finger licking and a damp towel of finger bowl would have been useful.
Also I kind of expect mints to be brought with the bill. We never order coffee at the end of a meal as my husband does not drink it but I was actively looking for a dish of mints on the bar as we left as none had been offered. There were none.
I can't fault this place on the food. It is certainly a place to go for a good Cantonese meal but perhaps don't be as shy as I was about asking for a finger bowl or chopsticks if you want them.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phoenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.