We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doddington Hall and Gardens

Doddington Hall and Gardens
Doddington, Lincoln LN6 4RU, England
01522 694 308
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 82 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Award-winning Elizabethan family home open to the public. Gardens, kitchen garden, farm shop, restaurant & cafe, India Jane interiors. Many great events.
England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“wonderful place and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

sculture exhibition in garden was very interesting
went to a concert in the house in the long gallery which is magnificent
farm shop very good
and food excellent

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    73
    23
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A Nice way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having lived in the area for over 20 years, I didn't really know anything about this place. We went with family who were visiting us and we quite enjoyed it. The Hall itself is OK and should have something to interest most people but I would expect that younger children could quickly become bored. The gardens are nice to stroll around if the weather is good, and the farmshop is also were a visit.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of Lincolnshire's best attarctions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are regular visitors to Doddington Hall - we always take visiting family to see one of Lincolnshire's best attractions. Ideal for all ages. The food is excellent and much of which is grown within the gradens on-site. Toilets are clean, staff friendly and the site facilitates disabled access. The organic produce and fresh fruit displays are the best anywhere we have seen in the local area. The coffee and cakes are always to our liking. I would recommend this as a "must see" on anyone's bucket list.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“On looker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

everything, the gardens, tea rooms and aspecially the staff and the family. Great day out and there is an atmosphere that you would want to keep coming back. I took friends with me who were visiting for the summer. They thought it was amazing, I told them wait till you come back at Christmas, its a wonderful time for everyone. Even if you are not buying anything. Keep up the good work!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An Elizabethan 'family home' with all the trimmings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

While not as grand as most stately homes, this is well worth the visit. Built in 1595 it remains a family home with one wing and the connecting grand halls on the two upper floors open to the public. Filled with family paintings painting by Kneller and Lely as well roomfuls of interesting ceramics and artifacts, you can roam round in your own time with knowledgeable guides stationed everywhere to answer any questions. The grounds and gardens are beautifully kept and well worth the visit on their own. At present there is a sculpture exhibition dotted round the grounds which finishes mid-September. We spent an enjoyable hour walking round the grounds (even though it was pouring with rain) and then an hour for the house. Followed by a good lunch in the restaurant and a browse in the well stocked farm-shop. Also worth a visit is the' India Jane Interiors' store located in the grounds in one of the farm buildings. Filled with up-market furnishings it is an exhibition in up-market design in its own right.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doddington Hall and Gardens also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Doddington Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doddington Hall and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.