We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Rectory
Save
You added The Old Rectory to your Saves list
19 Newport, Lincoln LN1 3DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is our third stay, and we have found the staff very kind and helpful.
Excellent position near the cathedral, very good value for money, and the breakfast excellent.
Fully recommended unless you want up to date furnishings, dated but cosy.

Room Tip: Floorboards very creaky, prefer upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    10
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
21
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

this b&b is a throw back to sleeping at my great grandmas.. it was so cold in our room it was unbearable, curtains were freely blowing in the draughty mouldy windows,the bed felt wet it was so damp, very outdated decor, stained toilet.. and hairs in the bath plughole.. yuk..very uninviting,

however the breakfast was nice, and lincoln was a lovely place.

Room Tip: another hotel!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our third stay at the Old Rectory and once again we couldnt fault it, service was great, breakfast was fine and our room (8) was clean and cosy. If you want sterility and to be a room number then travelodge is probably more your cup of tea but we like the atmosphere at the Rectory and we have already booked again for next year. We wouldnt stay anywhere else in Lincoln.

Room Tip: room 8 is our favourite, it is right up the top of the house but it is a cosy little room. its our h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This B & B is a throw back to bygone days and reminds me of lovely childhood holidays. We have stayed many times and go back as much for it's originality in this sterile world of hospitality as it's location (5 minutes amble to the Cathedral) and great value for money.

Sure the decor is 1950's but the sausage at breakfast is to die for. The service is personal and friendly and there is plenty of parking.

It's also nice to stay somewhere that you aren't boiled alive and dehydrated by the central heating. This B & B comes from an age when you put a cardy on if you're cold and we really like that.

We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: If you want a bath or shower then make sure you specify your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This Bed and Breakfast was no more than adequate. It was clean but too old-fashioned for my taste and it does need a refurbishment as the building is very interesting and could be beautifully presented with more effort.. We were attending a christening so its location was unimportant, but if you were to stay here it really is a very convenient location in central Lincoln. The rooms are very large in proportion, but the bathroom was very dated and was missing a shower which these days I feel is unexceptable. My mothers room did have one, so I used hers. The staff were very friendly and helpful and took time to talk to us and if it were not for them I would have been very disappointed overall. Towells were good but too small, and the usual toiletries provided consisted of just one bar of soap which was not acceptable. The price was reasonable especially for my mother, but I have stayed in much better accomodation for the same money. The rooms were not warm enough even though the radiators were working well, and this may be due to the large spaces they needed to heat. We didn't expect May to be so cold!
Breakfast was average and nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower if like me you need to wash your hair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at the Old Rectory for the weekend . The room was clean and tidy with everything you need.
The locotation is fantastic just a couple of mins walk to Lincoln old quarter and all its charm.
Plenty of free parking at the hotel. The owner and his wife are charming always ready with advice during our stay. Breakfast was great (real sausages) not cardboard tasting as in some B&Bs that we have tried.

Steve & Helen

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

You won't get a better B&B than this for the money. Superbly placed for the historic town with plenty of its own off road parking and free to come and go as you please.
The comfortable rooms retain the character of the Victorian Rectory from which it was converted and the owner is happy to help you with local information about what's going on in the town - and also on the river/canal!
A great breakfast, prepared by friendly staff, will set you up for your days of activity in this bustling county town with its exciting mix of ancient and modern buildings. Shopping ranges from individual craft shops stylish boutiques, jewellers and other independent traders to the ubiquitous High Street names you can find anywhere else.
Lots of enticing eateries - too many to try them all, so there are still plenty to entice me back for my next stay!
The pictures were taken during my first visit in 2002.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory

Address: 19 Newport, Lincoln LN1 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory Hotel Lincoln

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.