We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Tower Hotel to your Saves list
The Tower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38 Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3BD , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigan, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here this weekend in a family room on the 2nd floor with our dog. Very clean & comfortable, staff very helpful. Only 2 minutes walk to the cathedral and castle. Bar fairly lively downstairs but we didn't hear any noise. Good choice of pubs and restaurants in the area. English breakfast very good, sausages delicious. Even got 50% refund for car parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    68
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
75
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Brilliant stay here on Oct 12/13th with a party of 9 couples.
Staff very friendly and accomodating. Lovely rooms and comfortable beds.
Excellent breakfast.
Fantastic, lively, well stocked bar.
Thank you all, cant wait to come back !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed Sept 27/28th for a family wedding at The White Hart Hotel and although we booked quite some time ago, the room allocated to us was a single. This didn't seem to be a problem as we were changed to a double. We were given room 2, which was above the bar. I was disappointed with the quality of furnishings, including an old carpet, light fittings and curtains. 3 mirrors but no other wall decorations or pictures. The furniture was poor quality and although the bed was fine, a standard double, sleep quality wasn't good. It was a hot room, but having the window opened only increased the noise from the bar and outdoor seating area. It was very noisy Friday evening, due to a wedding party, but it had quietened down by just after midnight. Cleanliness was fine, with nice toiletries in the good sized bathroom. Shower wasn't brilliant and kept running hot and cold. Only one single towel, two bath towels, no wash-cloths; didn't like the plastic beakers. Tea and coffee making facilities available, but no complimentary biscuits.
Dining room and bar had obviously been tastefully updated in contempory style; the reception area was small and a little congested as this was the main thoroughfare, even the staff seemed cramped. Staff were friendly but not always availble to answer questions or serve in the bar area.
Only had breakfast there, but it was very good, cooked to order and we didn't have to wait long. Some pastries or croissant and plain yogurts would have been a nice alternative and different types of tea available on offer. Didn't have a choice of where to sit as tables had been allocated, havn't come across that before!
Parking was convienient across the road in the NCP carpark, where we parked for the 2 days we stayed; 50% refund on the ticket cost was fine.
Great location to see the castle, cathederal and upper town, but an obvious long walk down to the main shopping area and a very steep, slow walk back!
I don't think it was value for money, especially when I saw the quality of other family members' rooms in other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter after the bar has closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here on a Friday night in August 2012. We had no problem parking in the NCP opposite the hotel when we arrived mid afternoon. The room was clean and well appointed. The furniture and furnishings were old, but this wasn't a problem. The area around reception could get a bit congested but that wasn't a problem. The hotel is obviously a popular drinking spot, but we didn't have a problem sleeping, The hotel assured us that everyone would have gone by midnight1 We had an excellent meal in the restaurant that evening - the food was also good at breakfast. A good choice if wanting to see the castle and cathedral. I ventured down Steep Hill for a wander round town - be warned it is steep walking back up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed on the weekend of 15-16th September - a busy time in Lincoln.with the university students returning. Unfortunately when we booked a room the restaurant was fully booked, so i can't comment on that except to say it was very popular that night!

The bar and terrace were lively without being too noisy. The service, despite the numbers of patrons was friendly and quick. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast the next day of a good standard.

The hotel is opposite the castle, just around the corner from the Cathedral, an excellent location if you are a tourist.

This was only a flying visit, but it is definitely on my list of places to try properly next time I'm in Lincoln

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I sampled both the hotel, restaurant and bar during my stay - while the bar and restaurant are excellent (the food especially so), this review is purely for the hotel.

The hotel is excellently placed for the 'uphill' part of Lincoln - right next door to Lincoln Castle, and the Bailgate area. While on-road parking is extremely limited, they do refund 50% of parking costs at the NCP directly opposite which has plenty of space, at £6 a day, thus you get£3 back.

Reception is in the hallway of the building, meaning it's a little cramped trying to check in and carry suitcases, especially when staff and other guests are trying to get past. I experienced a friendly welcome and generally the reception staff were very pleasant, if at times not present when I tried to call at reception on a couple of occasions.

The carpets and communal areas leading upstairs into the hotel area of the building are dated and worn. The carpets were noticeably stained, and the fire doors and room doors were very old indeed, with similar locks, and generally the communal areas looked a tired. Due to a lack of ventilation or air conditioning, the upstairs area was very warm indeed, despite the outside temperature only being in the low 20s.

The room I stopped in was very well presented, with tasteful decoration and well-placed older (yet good quality) furniture. The only criticism is again, that the carpets were stained, especially around the table reserved for tea and coffee making, and that the mattress was extremely hard (which I see has been mentioned in other reviews). Again, the room was stifling hot, despite leaving the windows open all day and using the tower fan provided.

There is noise that comes from the hotel's front and back drinking areas - this needs to be factored in if you're a light sleeper. Personally, I found the noise during the nights I stopped to be more animated talking rather than drunken shouting or fights.

The breakfast provided was absolutely fine - with the usual hot and cold options provided, which were of very good quality. I would have liked to have chosen my table rather than being told where to sit via a reservation card, and perhaps some pastries and fruit available on the buffet table in addition to cereal, yogurt and juice.

Overall, a good stay, but it would not be my first choice if I returned to Lincoln unless the issues raised were corrected, especially considering the high quality of hotel competition in the area.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the front of the hotel to avoid the back-terrace bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night, ate in the restaurant in the hotel and also had lunch.
Everything was wonderful, the staff were very friendly, the room was very clean
and comfortable and would stay here again. Also location is very good for the
Cathedral, Castle and Steep Hill and lovely shops.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Address: 38 Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3BD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Lincoln’s Cathedral Quarter, The Tower Hotel is a 3 AA star Hotel and is ideally located for exploring the historical city; either on foot or as a base for visiting the surrounding villages, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.