We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star price for 2 star accomadition” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bail House & Mews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bail House & Mews to your Saves list
Bail House & Mews
34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star price for 2 star accomadition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in the Bail house mews apartments 5th Sept 2011.The accommodation was very basic although advertised as eclectic character properties, this means very steep stairs sharing a bathrooms which you are asked to clean yourself, above the kitchen & at the front of the building which means, you can hear all the comings and going of people going to & coming back from nights out, the last group of revels going by at about 3.30 in the morning, then the hotel staff start arriving about 5.30.So don't expect to have a good nights sleep. The breakfast which is not included in the price is ok service was poor although the were short staffed so perhaps a little unfair.
The rooms were not well decorated very dated, no bed side lamps, very old TV which will be of no use from mid September, as the region will be all digital TV old analogue not very good reception either, the other room which again up a very steep stair case only had 2 of the 6 ceiling lights working but did have bedside lamp.No TV in the second room.need to be very aware of the steep stais & low door way when leaving the room the stair light must be left on at night for your own safety with those steep stairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    69
    40
    24
    18
See reviews for
41
111
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

we stayed 1 night,and for me that was too much,the room was en-suite twin,it was dusty,my partner had to unblock the shower plug hole as it almost flooded,it was blocked up with hair,this it self put me off,we didnt get a key to the front door but a code which we had to press in,the code was typed on a piece of paper as big as a postage stamp,and we wasnt impressed that guests had to pay an extra £5.00 per night for secure parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you're thinking about the Bail House based on previous reviews then I suggest you ignore anything pre-2011. We were so pleased with finding this hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff were outstanding with excellent attention to detail. We had a four-poster bed in the room which was cosy but not small and very clean and comfortable. Room and breakfast was £119 for two (£109 room only - £5 for personal breakfast!) and the food was great (service was a bit Fawlty Towers - but fun too) - served in the bistro attached to the hotel (with a very high standard of cuisine). Situated within a short walk of the city, but beware - it's at the TOP of the hill - so a pleasant stroll to the town means a steep walk back. If your Sat-Nav tells you to drive through the city then find another route as driving through Lincoln is no fun - especially if a train comes in and they shut the city access with the level crossing. Oh, and the pool is a tub in the car park. You can't have it all I suppose.

Room Tip: Book over the phone and ask the staff for their recommendations. Try the castle - it looks great - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

Booked for 1 night, double room at the Bail House. We were checked into the lovely room 6, which was well spaced and had all amenities that we required.

The decor was rustic (with a lovely 4 poster bed) and yet modern enough to meet all our expectations and more! Comfortable, clean and cosy would be the best description... :)

The lounge was well stocked with a coffee machine, comfy couches and a very well stocked self-service bar. Internet access via the hotel desktop was free as well.

The gardens were very pretty and well maintained, with a small swimming pool for those keen for a dip! A great place to enjoy the bar supplies in the summer sunshine! (the gardens that is. Definitely not the pool!)

Location-wise, it's 5 mins walk from the cathedral and castle. There's a small mini-mart next door and numerous quaint restaurants and pubs all round.

For drivers, friendly staff directed us to the hotel parking for £5 per day. Cheaper than roadside parking and money well spent for the security in my opinion.

A little on the pricey side but this is britain in the summertime i suppose. Definitely would stay again if and when we're back in Lincoln city!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed as a family (me, my brother and sister-in-law and my parents) on a Saturday night. We had one of the apartments which was clean, well equipped and fairly spacious with a great view of a Roman wall and the cathedral.
We really liked the resident's lounge with tea and coffee and an honesty bar. The location was great for seeing the sights of Lincoln.
I has made the booking and everyone congratulated me when we arrived on an excellent choice. But unfortunately there was a loud party with a DJ which was right outside the bedroom windows and which went on until after midnight. We moved our mattresses into the living room and slept there and then put them back on the beds in the morning, but it rather took the shine off our stay. I would possibly stay there again, but would check about noise/parties when I was booking. We couldn't work out if the party was actually in the hotel or whether it was a neighbouring building with open windows (it was a hot night).

So I would cautiously recommend the apartments here, and if you were planning on staying out late anyway then would recommend them without that caution!

Incidentally, there is a car park very near the hotel which costs £6 for 24 hours and has a pay by phone facility which means that you don't have to return to the car to "feed the meter". The hotel's car park is pretty small and they do that thing of allowing parking that blocks people in but then leaving the keys at reception, which I am always a bit uncomfortable with, so I would suggest using the nearby car park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

we o ften look for quirky or interesting places to stay, however in the "family room" £150 for one night the twin bedded room (therefore suitable for children) had more space, decent tv,m whilst the double room had no working TV, no bedside tables or lights, no space (small double) so really not at all well thought out. I am fussy on decor, this was out dated, with too much cheap furniture not needed and what was needed non existant. Really poor cheap bed/mattress in double room.
staff were not well trained, some eager to please but in experienced and in the morning verging on morose,. Breakfast was great,
look at your budget and expectations, the web site over sells this place, so do not expect too much. the location cannot be faulted, and lincoln is still a great place to stay.

Room Tip: not great value for money, if cheaper we would have forgiven more
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is a delightful, small hotel close to the cathedral with dozens of restaurants within a short walking distance. We used it for an overnight stop between North Yorkshire and Norfolk and were very pleasantly surprised by the city of Lincoln itself. The walk down to the town is quite steep but sharpened our appetites for dinner.
The hotel is quite old and creaks a bit but the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is no restaurant but breakfast is taken in the cafe next door which is under the same ownership (we assumed). The road outside was very quiet until after 7:00am

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House And Mews
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bail House & Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.