We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maiyango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Maiyango to your Saves list
Hotel Maiyango
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 - 21 Saint Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I organised a party at hotel maiyango in their gallery for our end of year course ball. i could not have got better service anywhere. the events co-ordinators Sarah and Beth were wonderful and they didnt baulk at my incessant questions about how to organise the event. they were helpful every step of the way! they were very amenable with regards to changing the menu around to suit the dietary needs of the guests and i could have asked for more.

on the night, the food was amazing and everyone was left with a satisfied tummy! the party afterwards also went down very well with beth running around to make sure we were all taken care of. i am very pleased at how the event turned and will not hesitate to organise one there again in the future!!! maybe my fortieth!!

Thank you very much for everything. the night went exceptionally well thanks to you all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    47
    17
    13
    12
See reviews for
11
97
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I worked in a boutique hotel in a former life so I am rather fussy about hotels, but we decided to give Maiyango a try after finding a deal online for room, dinner and breakfast for £155 (which I thought was exceptionally good value for what we got). Our room was a generous size and beautifully decorated, there was a wide selection of snacks and mini-bar drinks, and the bathroom had lovely touches like nice soft slippers and the Cow Shed toiletries smelled amazing. The guest directory was really comprehensive, literally everything you could care to know and more, and explained that most of the food used in the hotel and restaurant is sourced locally which I thought was a nice touch. Heavy curtains that actually blocked the light, a pillow menu, a range of magazines in the room, rainwater shower heads, a massive TV, free wifi... I was really impressed with the attention to detail which seems to have gone into setting up the room. My only small complaint was that the room seemed to smell faintly of paint... newly re-decorated maybe? Also the music from the function upstairs could be heard two floors down where our room was, but we were out for most of the evening and it stopped promptly at midnight, so it didn't really bother us in the end. If I'm honest I would have liked to have been told about the function at check-in, as it did leave us wondering whether we could go to the bar or not (turns out we could have) but not a big issue really.

The best part of the stay was undoubtedly the food. The restaurant is incredible. Great atmosphere, great service and again the attention to detail was impressive - bread and a wee soup before the starter, and sorbet between courses, and we never seemed to be waiting too long for anything to happen even though it was a busy Saturday night. The waitstaff were attentive and knowledgeable, the cocktails were so tasty (my Turkish Delight cocktail was yummy!) and the chefs clearly just love what they do as the food was so creative, beautifully presented and really delicious. Our breakfast the next morning was fairly standard if I'm honest but I think we were still full from the night before...

The location is really quite central in Leicester so is handy for shopping, food etc. The hotel reception is slightly weird in that it's on the third floor and when you enter it's basically a bare foyer with a lift, probably could have done with some signage to at least direct you to take the lift to the third floor (this is inside the lift). The lift also broke down twice during our stay... it must happen fairly often as the staff knew exactly what to do fixed it within five minutes - so it didn't turn out to be a great inconvenience, just glad I wasn't inside!

Overall, we were really impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will be coming back when we next decide to treat ourselves. Would definitely recommend for a nice romantic weekend away, and be sure to book the restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We've just held our wedding reception/afternoon tea at Maiyango, followed by an overnight stay. After a slow start with the booking, the event was a blast. The food offered for the day was first class, even with a last minute addition to the menu, the kitchen were still able to put something together for a specific dietary need. The staff were all very friendly and approachable and willing to meet any of our needs.

The hotel room itself was first class, we've travelled a lot around the world, or like to think we have, having visited all but one of the main continents and this room ranked right up there with the best of them without a doubt. The bed was huge and super comfy, the temperature (controlled) and air conditioning was amazing, for the first time in a long time, I didn't wake up with a stiff back, which never happens, with no annoying background hum. Very cosy and atmospheric.

It really made the night feel special as well as the day and was a lovely to end the weekend in, the late checkout was also much appreciated.

Very well done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in April. The rooms are nice , clean and modern. The entrance to the hotel a bit unusual with the lobby on the top floor. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.overall thumbs up!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We held a birthday party at Hotel Maiyango on 2nd June. There were approx 50-60 people in our group and everyone complimented the venue. Food was outstanding, staff were brilliant, they were polite and attentive, the whole evening went incredibly well. We had arranged for balloons and decorations to be delivered and the staff kept us informed. All went very smoothly and we would recommend this venue. Would certainly hold any future parties here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Extremely upset and dissatisfied with what we had planned and paid for !We had Arranged a wedding party many months in advance and everything had seemed to go well up until the evening of the event! There seemed to be a lack of staff , insufficient handover with who we originally booked the party with and the person who was there as 10 minutes before our Private party was to start our room was full of random people we didn't know!! Why charge us room hire if it wasn't a private party!!! We were advised that guests from the hotel would be told this and wouldn't use the bar, also throughout the night people were coming in from the street which again was totally embarrassing!!Having other people that we didn't know at our party when my guests arrived was Totally awful, embarrassing and not what we had been led to believe and expect!! For both myself and husband this ruined everything as you don't expect to be having a confrontation with a member of staff 5 minutes before the event and even in front of our guests!! On the plus side the food was excellent and the bar staff couldn't have done enought for us, although there was a persistent eggy smell around the bar area all night which alot of my guests commented on and was rather unpleasant for all!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

A great experience - large, well furnished rooms, excellent restaurant, friendly staff. Very hard to fault.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maiyango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maiyango

Address: 13 - 21 Saint Nicholas Place, Leicester LE1 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leicester
#8 Business Hotel in Leicester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maiyango 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Maiyango is the stunning 14 bedroom boutique hotel located in the heart of Leicester, one of England’s oldest cities. The highly acclaimed atmospheric restaurant and cocktail lounge is widely regarded as one of the finest dining experiences outside of London. The entire hotel is thoughtfully designed with bespoke handmade furniture, beautiful commissioned artwork and intimate lighting throughout and all the little touches that are sure to make your stay memorable. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure we are sure that you will have a fantastic experience at Hotel Maiyango that will surpass your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Maiyango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maiyango Hotel Leicester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maiyango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.