We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the upmarket restaurants of Leicester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Carlo - Leicester

San Carlo - Leicester
38-40 Granby Street, Leicester LE1 1DE, England
+44 (0)116 2519332
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
San Carlo - Leicester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #272 of 840 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $51 - $51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Part of the award winning San Carlo restaurant group; San Carlo Leicester is a thriving hub of authentic Italian cuisine. Run by Italian directors and staff, like all San Carlo restaurants, Leicester has a fine extensive menu produced with the freshest Italian ingredients to suit all tastes. It also boasts Leicester’s only wood burning oven to make the freshest pizzas for miles.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“One of the upmarket restaurants of Leicester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is upmarket, glamorous and glitsy.
I would normally take clients there as it is warrants an experience impress.
Food sometimes is excellent, sometimes is good and sometimes I get food poisoning. So stopped the oysters after 2 attempts of being poisoned.
The lobster is good.
Menu is interesting and varied.
Specials are good.
Wines are good too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    86
    67
    59
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Went here early on a Monday evening with my grown up daughter. The restaurant is attractively set out with classy table settings and lots of well presented Italian speaking waiters. The staff were very attentive and showed us to a window table which was ideal. The Pizza Italia was to die for - the best I've had outside Italy. Very generous amounts of prosciutto and a good size. I was full by the time i'd finished but couldn't resist the Creme Brulee for dessert. This was also of a very high standard. My daughter had a trio of sorbets which she really enjoyed. Although some reviews comment that this restaurant is not cheap, I think it is good value for money and our two course meals with drinks came to about £35. Not bad and well worth it for the lovely surroundings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food amazing, service lets it down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is 1 of my favourite restaurant, food is always amazing what ever you have, just a shame customer service here is not too good, staff not too friendly, food makes up for it suppose!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Thanks Fabio and all the team at San Carlo for another great evening. Food was great as always, service fantastic and although very busy everyone was smiling. See you all again soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretentious with extremely rude staff...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Took my wife and daughter on a pre-Xmas shopping trip to Leicester and dropped-into San Carlo's for a light lunch. Restaurant is immaculately clean and very well presented but staff are abrupt and surly and the head waiter or faux 'maitre de' was outright rude. Maybe it's a family thing as judging by the photo's on the wall they seem to to be aiming for footballers and 'c' list celebraties. There's stiil loads of choice in Leicester and you can easily find somewhere more welcoming and less pretentious. Awful. As a footnote, the food was perfectly adequate.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Carlo - Leicester also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to San Carlo - Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Carlo - Leicester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.