We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Indigo

Indigo
432 Melton Road, Leicester LE4 7SN, England
0116 2611000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #310 of 844 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family and I were once regular Indigo customers and loved their food, service and the atmosphere. Recently however, we have been put off on several occasions by poor service (front desk and waiting staff) and below standard food.

Having read some of the other reviews on here I absolutely sympathise with the experience of others. The seems to be a general arrogance as though they can get away with far smaller portions, higher prices, poor customer service and still keep their customer base - this simply isn't true, we haven't visited Indigo's for a couple of months and don't intend to do so in future unless things really improve. Most importantly, the quality of food served has also gone down in recent months - I'm guessing there has been a change of chef, hopefully this will improve over time.

I'm not a restaurant owner but my simple advice to Indigo would be: improve basic customer service (a smile, a thank you, not a grumpy face behind the cash desk), if something tastes off - do something about it, faster service (don't take on more tables than you can handle), decent sized portions (take a look at your rivals close by), and appreciate your customers - or they won't want to come back. And please improve on the slow tedious take away process you have, double checking the food, etc - it's slow, annoying and shows a complete lack of trust in your paying customers and yourselves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    24
    13
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Gone down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place is a vegetarian restaurant and hence only visit here when going out with other family members who are vegetarian and it serves a different kind of cuisine like indo Chinese,Italian,south Indian etc.
It lacks trained staff and service and hence it has gown down inthe past couple of years we have been visiting this restaurant.
It needs a refurb plus the staff need training in serving the customers plus food and hygiene as seen a coupe of times not washing their hands especially when dealing with food and drinks.
Orders are taken wrong and you can't argue or sort matters out with the staff as you can't win and will be a waste of time so save that energy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food is ok but service is awful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We purchase take aways from indigoes maybe once every month, they take your call and then you get get transferred to someone else or the phone goes dead for a while, then eventually someone will come back on the phone and take your order, it happens every time we phone for a take away.

They decided to have this ticket system where you pay for your food then wait to be called along with your ticket, then you go to another counter and the staff then open every packet in front of you to check with you again to make sure the food is correct (this shows lack of confidence on their part) finally you get past this stage and can go home and have your food, in fact i have found passing immigration a lot more comfortable then collecting take away from indigoes.

One good thing i feel keeps this restaurant going is its food, if you are going to also get good service you might as well look somewhere else for a better complete package, in other words just come here for the food and ignore everything else and you'll be fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Being a vegetarian and visiting Leicester this Monday had to try this restaurant on Melton Road. It is about 2 miles from the City centre. Has it's own car park. The Indian vegetarian is limited to mainly South Indian. Don't expect any North Indian food ie curries or breads. Had the Indigo Paneer Shaslik ordered large portion as a starter. Very generous portion enough as a snack starter for 3-4 persons.The vegetable biryani was really nicely scented and flavoured.Chinese vegetables in black bean sauce was okay. Ras Malai did not disappoint. All in all real good value.Do not order extra portions are extremely generous.M

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan Ga
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“great veggi choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Veggi Food choices were great - indian, Chinese, Italian etc.
Good portions and good prices.
Drinks, starters and main course worked out at around $20 each.
Service was a little slow but the resteraunt was full.
IT is an old English pub with plenty of character.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.