We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner, Bed and Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Leicester City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dinner, Bed and Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The room and the breakfast was as you would expect from HI Express. The meal however in the Restaurant next door was very poor. Burnt offerings and microwaved curry. Will look at other alternatives next time I am in Leicester.

Room Tip: Go for the disabled rooms as they are nearer the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for your custom and I would like to sincerely aplogise for the inconvenince you experienced during your stay with regards to your dinner.
We have passed on your comments to the restaurant and I am sure they will use this feedback to improve their offering.
We appreciate your custom and support and would like to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    110
    76
    30
    18
See reviews for
56
55
25
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We payed £59 for B&B including parking a night, very good price for a city hotel, very pleasantly surprised with everything about the hotel, will be back for next season too. We were in Leicester to watch rugby and the position was ideal.
The room was well equipped, all we needed for a couple for nights stay, tea and coffee, hair dryer and a very powerful shower. Our room overlooked the next door football stadium and was very quiet, a good nights sleep was had on both nights. The breakfast was self service and had juices, cereals, pasties, yoghurt and 3 hot dishes, can get very busy though at peak times and there are not many tables.
The walk to the ground took about 10 mins and then it is only another 10 into the heart of town, there are plenty of bars and places to eat and all sorts of cuisine catered for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear you had a good stay and that you will be back next season.

Thank you for your custom and support and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladybank
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

At just £59 for bed and breakfast this is really a pretty decent hotel. It's well located next to the football stadium and a short walk from the centre of Leicester, so perfect for the business trip I was on. Not sure I would fancy staying during a matchday, but on the night I stayed it was very quiet. The room was clean and had the decent bathroom you expect from the large hotel chains. The breakfast was predictably pretty disappointing, but I managed some cereal, toast and an acceptable coffee from the machine. No fruit juice though which was disappointing. I'd looked at the reviews beforehand and was ready to be disappointed but the £59 enticed me and I have to confess I was pleasantly surprised. This isn't a bad hotel...certainly worth the £59 I paid for my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your custom and for the review of your stay.
Your comments have been noted and as a brand IHG will continue to review the breakfast on offer.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities and that the hotel served your purpose on this stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed last night. Room was ok. clean and in good condition. Learnt from previous experience and took my own hairdryer. Wish the plug and mirror were together. Ate in the restaurant KazKazini.... very bad meal. Cheap meals but not edible! Would be better walking to pub. Staff noticed that none of us ate our meal but still charged us. We didnt make a fuss just felt hugely dissappointed. Toast and tea for breakfast. Clean and stocked up. The bedroom wall creaked..that was weird and I kept getting wafts of Cigarette smoke. It was an alright stay. Quiet, no sound from other guests except when they turned their shower on. Room air con efficient. Bed too soft for my liking but its passable. My second HIE stay in as many weeks. This hotel better than Nottingham City HIE. Keep remembering its a budget hotel it then feels like good value.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your stay with us and for your support and custom.
Your comments regarding the restaurant have been noted, if you could bring it to the staff's attention right away it will enable us to serve you better.
The noises in the room that you experienced do not sound right and we will investigate this further as with the smell of cigarette smoke.

Thank you again for your custom and please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience during your stay.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

was a comfortable stay. breakfast wasnt as good as the other holiday express hotels that i have visited so could do with bit more variety. we was on the third floor and our room was nice and clean but a very bad smell of smoke. we didnt ask for a smoking room so it was very unpleasant as i am a non smoker.

Room Tip: dont stay on the third floor - too much smoke odour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Parveen2012,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay with us. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the unusual smell encountered and sincerely regret our breakfast choices fell below your expectations. Our efforts to improve the hotel are ongoing and we appreciate your honest feedback. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here, on business, the night of 16 Apr this year as I was attending a function at Leicester Tigers in the evening. .
The room was comfortable, double bed in my room, but the room I had booked for my MD, was two single beds !!
Wi-Fi is only available in the Lobby (and you have to pay a surcharge) and as these hotels are primarily used for business users, that should be addressed.
Facilities are basic, coffee machine in the lobby is extortionate, though the bar was open when I checked in, prices are fair.
Sort the Wi-Fi out and it'll be a good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and your comments on your stay here with us in Leicester.
I would like to apologise for any inconveneince to your MD and please relay our sincere apologies.
Your comments regarding the Wi-Fi has been well received and to make you aware Wi-Fi is free for our priority Club members that stay with us, another good reason to join the programme.
With regards to the charge on hot drinks, we feel that £2.00 for a mug of freshly ground coffee is fair and is well within the market range, as you experienced with the bar prices we have set our prices in a range that is fair and reflects good value.

We thank you for your support and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express, Leicester.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This has been my first time in a Holiday Inn Express and without a doubt the last. The room was OK, with all the extras you would expect, clean and tidy. But breakfast or lack of, was the biggest disappointment, no bacon, sausages made from just bread with herbs, luke warm beans and cold powered egg, I really would like to know why no bacon was available, I was always told breakfast was the best meal of the day, so how Holiday Inn can advertise bed and breakfast is beyond me, it should just give up and charge for just the room. The Great British Breakfast in this hotel is extinct.

Room Tip: A tip, do not choose any room, unless your on a diet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding the stay here with us.
I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
I would also like to clear up any confusion between the Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express brands with regards to the breakfast offering only.
The Holiday Inn Express as a brand offers a continental buffet style breakfast with three hot items namely, sausages, beans and scrambled egg. There is a wide selection of cereals on offer together with pastries, yoghurts, fresh fruit, brown and white toast, jam and spreads, cheese portions all complimented by fresh ground coffee and a selection of tea.
I trust the above clears up the differences between the two brands with regards to the breakfast offering.
Again accept my apologies for any inconvenience during your stay.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Leicester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Address: Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Leicester City 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City is ideally located, adjacent to the Leicester City Football Club, King Power Stadium and Conference Centre. At the hotel, we offer 110 well appointed en-suite rooms with shower, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, hair dryer and comfort cooling, the hotel also has a bar area, lounge and dining area.The hotel has easy access to the A5460, M1, M69, and M6 motorways and is within driving distance of East Midlands Airport, Birmingham International Airport, Nottingham, Birmingham , Derby, Silverstone and Northampton, The National Space Centre, Donnington Park Race Way, Malory Race Way, Leicester Cricket Ground and Leicester Horse Racing to name but a few. Within minutes you can be surrounded by the beautiful countryside of Leicestershire and surrounding counties, with places of interest such as, Rockingham Castle, Belvoir Castle, Oakham Castle, Burghley House and Warwick Castle. For the more adventurous there is Rutland Water with it's wildlife, cycling tracks, Water Sports and purpose made paths for walking.The Express by Holiday Inn Leicester Walker Stadium also makes an ideal base if you are visiting the historic city cathedral, with a host of traditional shops to choose from. Also boasting the Shires Shopping Centre and Fosse Retail Park within 3m. The nightlife of Leicester City Centre is within minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Leicester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Leicester Walkers Stadium Hotel Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
Leicester Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.