We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was as expected!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill on the Soar

Mill on the Soar
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mill on the Soar to your Saves list
Mill on the Soar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was as expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

What you pay for, it was you get!

Mill on the Soar is in an accessible location, with good local amenities and miles and miles of rolling countryside hills.

The room was fine, everything you need from a Bed and Breakfast, only criticism being the TV was miles from bed, so perhaps provide some sort of telescope for viewing!

The meals were lovely, just what you would anticipate from a Hungry Horse. Breakfast was great, unfortunately finishes particularly early on a Sunday, so not great for those wanting a lazy weekend!

The staff were friendly, but were lacking on some local knowledge! When asked what attractions were in the area, I wasn't quite expecting Next and Primark to be top of the list! Perhaps a little more in the way of tourist information wouldn't go a miss.

The venue is regularly used for functions, so you may want to check this out before your visit, as it can be a little noisy of an evening!

Regardless of these minor criticisms a weekend break is only as good as what you make it, and therefore I had a fabulous time and would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room attached to the pub, rather than accross the car park, the walk can be a little c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    12
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
30
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The rooms are okay, clean etc. They are off-set from the main building so for security reasons do keep your door locked at all times. The bedroom is good but the bathroom really does need an upgrade. I guess the fittings were painted at one time and now they have chipped etc and look as it they are dirty.

Parking is excellent.

The staff are really great and an asset to the pub/hotel.

I have eaten a few times and is nothing more than quick ar food, which can be good but generally not. A few good things but you cant eat those on every visit. However, a typical average meal for two.

It's a fast food pub and that is about it.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here last weekend with my daughter and two grandchildren (2 year old twins) A lodge type room with its own door and car parking just outside. Basic but very clean . Reasonable size ,1 double and 1 single bed with extra cot, good size bathroom , The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We had a meal in the very busy restaurant, which was well cooked and reasonable value for money, crayons and drawing paper for the kids and a balloon each when we finished eating. I would recommend The Mil and will certainly stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: rooms two and three have adjoining door so good for a family if you need extra rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

When I booked here the staff were very helpful as I was not sure who was coming with me up to the last minute, the guy gave his name as a point of reference. Got a room in an outside building for me and two of my kids, this was a very very fair £50. Staff were welcoming on my arrival, this despite the place being rammed with Christmas parties, must say something about the evening meals !
Room was warm, well equipped, basic but clean and stylish enough, nice comfy bed. Clean but basic bathroom. Did what I needed well.
My biggest complaint - Breakfast, well below par, ok it was thrown in for the room rate but still....
Adequate cereal, toast and soft drink stuff. Cooked breakfast not great, rock hard sausage, not sure what the bacon was all about. Don't let this put you off, nice very friendly staff, good room, good value. Would come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After spending a week travelling around Leicester this was the best hotel by far. A very warm welcome at reception with everything explained about the room, emergency contact numbers and breakfast etc. The room (22) was just perfect, large, clean and most inviting. It was home from home with your own front door, two sofa's to sit and rest with a glass of wine while watching TV. Full range of freeview channels available.

The restuarant/pub was very good and the STAFF WERE BRILLIANT as they were very attentive, responsive and very nice warm people. Dinner was well cooked and the large steak was cooked exactly how I like it. A great meal and more than enough to eat. The desserts in the glass cabinet are well worth the money as the Lemon Meringue Pie was delightful (old favourite of mine).

Had a great nights sleep and then breakfast. It was an informal breakfast with a good range of products available. The breakfast could not be faulted and certainly had plenty to eat setting me up for the day.

Overall an excellent stay and I am happy to recommend this Hotel to anyone. I, for certain, will stay here again knowing I have great place to stay for the night(s).

Thank you Kevin and staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Not at all what we expected from the small picture they show in the on line ad. This accomodation was of an excellent standard our room 22 was huge. We would stay here again and recommend to anyone. We found this place on line because it was close to Cosby and th Victory Show.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't eat chips many places but they're pretty good here - Their chips & curry sauce is a great lunchtime snack.
Drinks prices are reasonable including the wine list.
Curries are just OK and there are much better places to go for a steak but the rest of the menu is good value and tasty with most dishes also available on the Big Plate menu, where portions are very generous.
Some healthier options and nutritional information (like Harvesters) would be nice though.
Been perhaps 20 times in last couple of years and service was fine apart from the odd peak time visit when there is quite a queue to order food and waiting times for food to arrive seem to stretch from around 15-20 mins normally to more like 40mins.
Outdoor seating is great in the Summer. If you have little ones the can go off and enjoy themselves on the playground and still be in view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mill on the Soar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill on the Soar

Address: Coventry Road | Broughton Astley, Leicester LE9 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill on the Soar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mill on the Soar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill On The Soar Hotel Leicester
Mill On The Soar Leicester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill on the Soar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.