We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six Hills Cafe'

Six Hills Cafe'
669 Fosse Way | A46, Leicester LE7 4TF, England
+44 7810 254466
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 844 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Family run transport cafe'
billingborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I ordered the homemade burger, chips and onion rings. I had to wait a little while for my meal but it was well worth the wait. And as a Chef I think it is fantastic to find some where that cooks homemade chips as well. I will definitely be going again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixHillsCafe1, Owner at Six Hills Cafe', responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Karen B,

Thank you so much for your review.
We really look forward to see you soon here at Six Hills Cafe.

Regards
Carmelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billingborough, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Called in this morninig...nice English breakfast for me and my partner had a homemade burger whichh looked fantasic,she said it tasted great. Nice to see a traditional style cafe still going and serving a good range of well cooked & presented meals.
Will be calling again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixHillsCafe1, Owner at Six Hills Cafe', responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Mick M,

Thank you so much for your kind words.
We really look forward to see you soon here at Six Hills Cafe.

Regards
Carmelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Above average A46 pit-stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The sort of place you stumble across by accident and we’re glad we did. Run by Italians (to judge from the flag behind the counter) and offering four “levels” of all-day breakfast, from the simply sufficient to the simply enormous! Hardly worth making a 30-mile detour for but well worth trying out if you’re travelling North along the Fosse Way.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixHillsCafe1, Owner at Six Hills Cafe', responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear TallTraveller274,

Thank you very much for your time on this review.
We look forward to see you soon here at Six Hills Cafe.

Regards
Carmelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Visited after reading reviews and glad we did. Immaculately clean roadside cafe with all the classic menu items plus an Italian fkabour thanks to the Sicilian background if the owners. We had excellent ham egg and chips, with proper homemade chips, excellent ham and a perfectly fried pair of eggs. So good we decided to share a vanilla custard tart for oudding with a scoop of homemade gelato. I doubt there's another roadside caff on the A46 selling homemade ice cream! Delicious! We'll be returning to try the brekkie and lasagne, plus the highly recommended Italian rice pudding. Molto bene!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixHillsCafe1, Owner at Six Hills Cafe', responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear RalphLub,

We were delighted to read your review, thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave this.
We do hope to be able to welcome you back should you ever be passing through again in the future. Warmest wishes, Carmelo the sicilian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Having "stumbled" across Six Hills Cafe last year enroute to York whilst attempting to avoid chaos on the M1 by cutting across on the A46 to the A1, this is now our preferred route, quite simply because we so enjoy our "breakfast" stop there. Food cooked to order - fresh and hot, friendly service and brilliant value for money! Only wish we had the opportunity to visit more frequently. Oh, as an added bonus, they do a fantastic Vegetarian Breakfast!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SixHillsCafe1, Owner at Six Hills Cafe', responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Bridget S,

How kind of you to leave such lovely feedback. Your kind comments are very much appreciated and will be shared with the team here. We do hope to welcome you back soon in a not too far future.

Warm regards
Carmelo at Six Hills Cafe'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Six Hills Cafe' also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Six Hills Cafe'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six Hills Cafe', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.